82 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this with chicken breasts and roasted them with the potatoes for about an hour and a quarter. I also used less salt and oil. Love the lemon flavor of the potatoes!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito November 18, 2010

Excellent!The best roast chicken we have ever eaten. I was a little worried about the cooking method since I had splurged on a 4.8 pound organic roaster from Whole (paycheck) Foods - but it was perfectly done. My timing was 20 minutes for the potatoes, 20 each side for the chicken and 30 with the oven off. My potatoes burned a bit so next time I will move the oven rack up a notch. I served it with Lemon Dill Carrots #16961 and Asparagus with Fresh Tomato Yogurt Sauce #19396. Thanks Ev, goes into my book of "Special Tricks".

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac March 19, 2004

The first time that I made this recipe I thought that the baking time for the potatoes was wrong so I did not follow the recipe - the instructions ARE correct and the potatoes are fantastic Crisp on the outside and very soft inside. As suggested I added some rosemary, The aroma from the chicken and the flavor is wonderful - Everyone loved the meal. I served it with new garden fresh carrots (steamed with parsley) & broccoli. Thanks Evelyn for a winner

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy August 20, 2003

My search is over! For years I've looked for a recipe for Greek chicken the way the little Greek family restaurant down the street makes it and now I have it! I made this exactly per your directions Ev and it turned out perfect. I set my oven at 450°F and it worked out fine. I really like the 'turn off the oven for a 1/2 hour' part....gave me time to sit down and have a cocktail while the kids set the table! Not a scrap left (2 adults, 3 young adults). I'm definately making this again, we loved it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude January 25, 2004

My fiancee got me to make this for him one day because we wanted to try something new. I'm so glad we tried this one. I used dark meat chicken quarters, very juicy and tender. The flavor was so good, but i went overboard on the potatoes. Delicious! I could eat the potatoes all by themselves with the lemon sauce at the bottom of the pan. To get more juice out of my lemons, i popped them in the microwave for 45 seconds. I also am a garlic lover, so i added more than called for and i loved it. Thanks, for posting, we make this often now.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doreen_2 September 30, 2011

Absolutely AMAZING! The whole family gave it 5 stars, as did our 10 year old dinner guest! I made it as written, and the results were total perfection! Thankyou again for another great recipe, Evelyn!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sara 76 August 07, 2011

i make this everytime we have guests..... i love Greek food, have been to Greece, and can verify this is a keeper. I add extra lemon juice as well as seasoning (Cavender's Greek Seasoning - the best i have come across).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellysul September 05, 2009

A real show stopper. Super easy, scrumptious meal. Knocked my family's socks off on Easter. We had a Greek feast! Will definitely make it again. I followed the recipe exactly, except at the last minute, threw in some carrots and onions, because I was feeling lazy, and didn't want to make a separate side item. The best roasted carrots ever! LOVE the lemon! Thanks for a great recipe. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharsuz March 26, 2008

This was excellent, a hit with the family. I added fresh rosemary and fresh oregano as well as a little dried oregano along with 1/4 cup olive oil. Extra lemon b/c we all enjoy lemony chicken a lot! Used cut up chicken pieces and marinated it for four hours. Thanks for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luvfood April 01, 2006

This is funny. I'm a good cook and make great meals all the time. The family sort of takes it for granted. Nobody usually comments on meals. THIS dinner got comments! My picky son asked why the chicken was so moist, my daughter commented that it was juicy and my husband said "this is a keeper". I used boneless chicken breasts and I think next time I'll use the whole chicken and marinate overnight. This recipe is outstanding.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Momma November 05, 2005
Greek Lemon Chicken With Potatoes