Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Greek Lemon Chicken With Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Lemon Chicken With Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    82 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 82

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2010

      I made this with chicken breasts and roasted them with the potatoes for about an hour and a quarter. I also used less salt and oil. Love the lemon flavor of the potatoes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2003

      The first time that I made this recipe I thought that the baking time for the potatoes was wrong so I did not follow the recipe - the instructions ARE correct and the potatoes are fantastic Crisp on the outside and very soft inside. As suggested I added some rosemary, The aroma from the chicken and the flavor is wonderful - Everyone loved the meal. I served it with new garden fresh carrots (steamed with parsley) & broccoli. Thanks Evelyn for a winner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2004

      Excellent!The best roast chicken we have ever eaten. I was a little worried about the cooking method since I had splurged on a 4.8 pound organic roaster from Whole (paycheck) Foods - but it was perfectly done. My timing was 20 minutes for the potatoes, 20 each side for the chicken and 30 with the oven off. My potatoes burned a bit so next time I will move the oven rack up a notch. I served it with Lemon Dill Carrots #16961 and Asparagus with Fresh Tomato Yogurt Sauce #19396. Thanks Ev, goes into my book of "Special Tricks".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2004

      My search is over! For years I've looked for a recipe for Greek chicken the way the little Greek family restaurant down the street makes it and now I have it! I made this exactly per your directions Ev and it turned out perfect. I set my oven at 450°F and it worked out fine. I really like the 'turn off the oven for a 1/2 hour' part....gave me time to sit down and have a cocktail while the kids set the table! Not a scrap left (2 adults, 3 young adults). I'm definately making this again, we loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      My fiancee got me to make this for him one day because we wanted to try something new. I'm so glad we tried this one. I used dark meat chicken quarters, very juicy and tender. The flavor was so good, but i went overboard on the potatoes. Delicious! I could eat the potatoes all by themselves with the lemon sauce at the bottom of the pan. To get more juice out of my lemons, i popped them in the microwave for 45 seconds. I also am a garlic lover, so i added more than called for and i loved it. Thanks, for posting, we make this often now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      Absolutely AMAZING! The whole family gave it 5 stars, as did our 10 year old dinner guest! I made it as written, and the results were total perfection! Thankyou again for another great recipe, Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      i make this everytime we have guests..... i love Greek food, have been to Greece, and can verify this is a keeper. I add extra lemon juice as well as seasoning (Cavender's Greek Seasoning - the best i have come across).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      A real show stopper. Super easy, scrumptious meal. Knocked my family's socks off on Easter. We had a Greek feast! Will definitely make it again. I followed the recipe exactly, except at the last minute, threw in some carrots and onions, because I was feeling lazy, and didn't want to make a separate side item. The best roasted carrots ever! LOVE the lemon! Thanks for a great recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      This was excellent, a hit with the family. I added fresh rosemary and fresh oregano as well as a little dried oregano along with 1/4 cup olive oil. Extra lemon b/c we all enjoy lemony chicken a lot! Used cut up chicken pieces and marinated it for four hours. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      This is funny. I'm a good cook and make great meals all the time. The family sort of takes it for granted. Nobody usually comments on meals. THIS dinner got comments! My picky son asked why the chicken was so moist, my daughter commented that it was juicy and my husband said "this is a keeper". I used boneless chicken breasts and I think next time I'll use the whole chicken and marinate overnight. This recipe is outstanding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      Fantastic! This is one of those recipes that you want to kick yourself for not making sooner. This was a part of my weekend cooking session for the week ahead. I was intimidated by the 18 steps, but they went very easily and before I knew it, I had a fabulous chicken. The flavors are very complimentary and really make the potatoes taste good. The chicken even gets a crispy skin like the rotisserie chickens that grocery stores sell here in the states. Thank you Evelyn for a gourmet recipe that is budget friendly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      This recipe was incredible. My fiance normally does not like chicken because it is too dry. This came out moist and tender. Even the leftovers were great. And, the potatoes are so flavorful and crunchy from roasting with the chicken. We've made this twice now-- both times a hit. This recipe is a keeper. Also, after we made it once, the prep. was very easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      Great reciepe! Thanks a bunch. I used seasoned salt, added the rosemary and pricked a whole lemon and inserted it into the cavity for a bit more lemon flavor. It was a huge hit. We have four children, so I think we'll have to make two next time! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      I was so scared that this wasn't going to turn out. I might never use my rostisserie again! YUM! I cooked about 30 min a side at 475* will try the 20min a side next time. Oh used less than 1/4 c of olive oil. Everyone loved it (amazing)nothing was left! Thank you for posting this for us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      Simply delicious! The potatoes were excellent and the chicken was moist. I also added fresh rosemary, zested the lemon before juicing and added that to the potatoes. I used the juiced lemon peel to stuff into the chicken along with more fresh rosemary.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      Wow. Excellent. Loved the lemony flavor of the chicken and potatoes. I set my oven at 500ºF and it took about 25 minutes for the potatoes and each side of the chicken, for about 1 hour and 15 minutes, and then another 25 minutes rest time. It was perfectly done. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2005

      I forgot the star rating during my review!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2005

      Well, I just roasted my first chicken and it was a success - very moist and tender. The flavor of the chicken was very nice, although not special enough to set it apart from another roasted chicken recipe. The potatoes, however, were outstanding! I just couldn't stop eating them! Oh - after I was done squeezing the lemon juice, I placed the lemon wedges into the cavity of the chicken for extra flavor and moisture. Will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2004

      This recipe is wonderful, I used a mix of chicken pieces (thigh cutlets and drumsticks) and also added rosemary. The potatoes are out of this world, we all loved the lemon and herb flavours. Timing from start to finish in the oven was about 1 hour 40 minutes. Adding this to my favourites, thanks Ev.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2004

      This is one of the best recipes for chicken that we have ever tried! Everyone loved it and commented that it tasted just like the greek restuarant that we all love. I'd give it 10 stars if I could! I had all the ingredients on hand and it was a breeze to make. Thanks a lot!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Lemon Chicken With Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (518 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1101.8
     
    Calories from Fat 559
    50%
    Total Fat 62.1 g
    95%
    Saturated Fat 13.7 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 172.5 mg
    57%
    Sodium 917.9 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 84.1 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 10.8 g
    43%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 52.5 g
    105%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes