82 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful flavors! This would have received 5 stars, except I think the cooking instructions are off. For the chicken, the directions are perfect. But for the potatoes, the cooking time is way too long. I followed the recipe as directed, but about 2/3 of my potatoes turned out completely black, burnt, and inedible. The potatoes that were not completely black had wonderful flavor. The next time I make this, I will start cooking the chicken first and add the potatoes later, I think the potatoes only need to cook for about 20 minutes or so. Made for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Berteig June 14, 2010

This recipe is to die for! Its classic flavors, ease of preparation and beautiful presentation make this a wonderful recipe for family and company alike. I prepared as directed but found that the amount of olive oil was excessive. Next time I'll reduce the oil by half. The chicken renders a good amount of fat as well. The high heat nicely browned the bird and made the potatoes crispy. This recipe is so easy and far superior than grocery store roasted chicken! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cucina Casalingo May 19, 2010

Yummy!! DH and I reminisced about our days in Greece while we enjoyed the flavours of this dish. Minimal effort with amazing results. This will definitely be a common dish in our house. Thanks for a great meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WinnipegWoman January 24, 2010

I have been trying for years to even come close to my full blooded Greek mothers roasted chicken! I think this was better! Only because of the high temp that sears the chicken and keeps it SOOOOO juicy! The potatoes are perfect!!!!! YUMMMMMM!!! Thank you for this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrshanes January 07, 2010

I have made this many many times, to the delight of my husband and any lucky guests who happen to be around each time. Tossed in a pot with some veg, the bones from this chicken make a lovely stock.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
es alpukat December 02, 2009

Yummy! This cooked very nicely, the meat was nice and moist. The potatoes were so good! I cooked my chicken at 550 degrees. Everything turned out great. I will be making this again! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheryl's Home Cookin' October 20, 2008

Flavored just right, spiced up just right, everything is just right about this one! We have to agree with some others, this is the best chicken we have had in a long time! We had with corn on the cob and homemade dinner rolls, and it was fabulous! Thanks for sharing Evelyn! Becky

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckyjacobs54 September 24, 2008

Excellent recipe for those loving chicken. I wanted something different and this pleased the palate for sure! Will make again and again. The chicken was so juicy and tender and had so much flavor we were eating like little piggies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OutOfThyme August 21, 2008

This is on my top-3 list of all-time favorite flavor-sensational recipes --- THANK-YOU!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steve in FL May 08, 2008

Great recipe! The potatoes were the best!!! I used an upright roaster rack for the chicken and it was fully cooked to perfection after an hour....(although I did have to take the batteries out of my smoke alarm about 3/4 in...lol) I tweeked the recipe a bit and added lemon zest to the mixture. A keeper recipe for sure! Thanks for posting...=)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aroostook March 08, 2008
Greek Lemon Chicken With Potatoes