Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Greek Lemon Chicken With Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Lemon Chicken With Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    82 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 82

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2005

      Potaotes were great, if your a white meat eater, theres not a lot to pass around. Wonder how this would work with boneless skinless! Love the flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2005

      Evelyn, I'm so sorry but I didn't like this recipe. I made it exactly as stated but for some reason the chicken just wouldn't cook. It was thawed completely when it started roasting and the outside was beautiful but the inside was raw. I had to bake it an extra hour and a half at 350° for the inside to cook completely. I thought about taking the potatoes out but didn't want to risk them having raw chicken juice on them. By the time the chicken was done cooking the potatoes were mummified-looking and too lemony to eat. I really loved the taste of the chicken skin and will certainly try the herbs and lemon juice on pieces some time but this roasting technique didn't work for me. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2005

      Delicious and easy recipe. I must admit that the potatoes were the best part of the dish and I will certainly be preparing my potatoes this way again. Thanks again, Evelyn, for a very flavorful and simple chicken dish to add to my repertoire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2005

      Oh yeah! This is one great recipe. Even the breast came out moist & juicy. Another keeper from the wonderful cooks at recipezaar. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, Evelyn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2004

      This really is the best chicken recipe ever. My family doesn’t care for Chicken but they loved this. I did lose one metal roasting pan. It couldn’t take the heat; you get what you pay for. I am investing in an expensive pan for this recipe, it’s worth the money.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2004

      My family went over the moon for this recipe. I've already made it 3 times in two months. Definitely a keeper. I have used both fresh lemons and Real Lemon in a bottle. Actually found I preferred the Real Lemon because the pulp from fresh lemons at times can burn and make the dish more bitter. My 3 year old ate 3 helpings. High praise for this one. Thanks Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2004

      This was wonderful. Chicken was moist on the inside and crispy brown on the outside! The potatoes might have been just a little oily, so I think I'll cut down on the olive oil next time as previously suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2004

      This was fantastic. I was a bit worried about all the garlic, but needn't have been. It was perfect! I did everything exactly as stated in the recipe and we were rewarded with a moist deliciously roasted chicken and gorgeous, brown potatoes that melted in our mouths. I did not use any rosemary this time but will next time, and there WILL be a next time! Thanks for a real winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2004

      Evelyn, this recipe blew us away. Your method was novel and yet produced a delightfully moist and tender flesh, crispy skin, and flavourful meal. The seasoning was perfect, although I did reduce the olive oil slightly. Thoroughly divine! Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2004

      Oh, Evelyn.... I know you've had quite a few reviews of this recipe already, but I had to add my kudos. When I was a child my best friend was Greek and so I was introduced to Greek food at an early age. Being a picky kid I disliked almost everything (thank goodness that's changed LOL), except for her Mother's Greek Chicken & Potatoes which I adored. I've attempted to make it in the past, but either the potatoes didn't crisp properly, or the lemon taste ended up being too harsh. Your recipe takes me right back to my friend's Mother's kitchen - it is absolutely perfect just the way it is. The smell as this cooked had my mouth watering, the potatoes were pefectly crisp and butter soft inside. Poor DH is running late tonight and I'm forcing myself to save him some of the potatoes! Thank you so much for posting your version of this recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2004

      I made this for dinner a few days ago. I am sorry to say I was a bit disappointed because I was expecting the chicken to have a much stronger flavour. It was cooked beautifully though and the potatoes were fantastic - the recipe still deserves four stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2004

      The chicken was great. Didn't change a thing but next time I think I'll cut back a bit on the potato cooking time and put the chicken in earlier. Great dinner though, thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2004

      Truly superb! I have made this for the third time now and my family loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2004

      There isn't enough stars to say how good this was. I am Greek and this was the most awesome recipe I have ever made from Zaar....definitely a keeper...made it for my family and my mom and sister begged for this recipe...even my 8 month old baby girl loved the potatoes...thank you Evelyn...excellent...excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2004

      Lady you've got a winning recipe! I registered on this site just to rate this first recipe I've attempted (absolutely fantastic!), and now I can't wait to try some more. BTW, made this for 5 buds from work with 2 chickens thinking I'd have leftovers. Not a chance! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2004

      We just had this for Friday night dinner, and at the end of the meal there was just a carcass left, nothing leftover for the poor dog! I have some Greek oregano that Evelyn sent me, really made this chicken cluck! I also zested the lemons first and added the zest to the oregano mix. As for the potatoes, I kept them zest-free, but they were smothered in oregano and garlic. Multiple thumbs up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2004

      I have to call this recipe "different" and "quirky" and absolutely DELICIOUS! Both the ingredients and the method of roasting were new to me; it was a real cooking adventure. I had read about cooking a chicken or turkey breast side down, but never got the courage to try it before now. The "higest setting" for my oven kind of scared me because I had never cooked at 500 degrees before, so I did get cold feet and only turned the temperature to 450 degrees F. I made sure I had some large potato wedges and put them in the oven with all that delicious lemony stuff, adding water only once. I followed Ev's timing and got a juicy, tender bird after two hours, as well as truly yummy potatoes. I'm very happy I moved out of my cooking comfort zone and tried this awsome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2004

      Absolutely THE BEST chicken I've ever made! Bright, lemony flavour, just the right amount of garlic, and who would have thought that oregano could make anything this good? Oh, and the potatoes were outstanding. Buttery-soft inside, crispy outside. Why limit this to 5 stars?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2004

      If I could rate this 20, I would. The only different thing I did was to take out the back bone of the chicken. I still can't get over the taste. It was wonderful!! My family loved it, want me to make it again, right away. Thank you evelyn/athena. We never enjoyed a chicken more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2004

      Evelyn what a wonderful way to cook chicken. The flavours are amazing and what a wonderful smell while cooking. The potatoes turn out so crunchy, just how we like them and chicken so tasty. Thanks for another keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Lemon Chicken With Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (518 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1101.8
     
    Calories from Fat 559
    50%
    Total Fat 62.1 g
    95%
    Saturated Fat 13.7 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 172.5 mg
    57%
    Sodium 917.9 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 84.1 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 10.8 g
    43%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 52.5 g
    105%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites