Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Greek Orzo Salad With Chickpeas & Artichoke Hearts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Orzo Salad With Chickpeas & Artichoke Hearts

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2014

      I almost did not change a single thing in this salad. I did use fresh dill and mint since I had some leftover from another recipe, as well as a teaspoon of seasoning (not Greek though). I also used a 15 ounce can of chick peas. Very healthful and super tasty. Going into my quick and tasty cookbook. BF and I ate 1/3 each as a side (with a chick'n patty since we're vegetarians). I'll finish up the other 1/3 for lunch. Great for vegetarians, and easy to make vegan. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      Very nice and tasty! I used a gluten-free orzo and grape tomatoes. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      Made as written but only 1 t. dill and left out the garbonzo beans as DH doesn't care for them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      This was very good and a hit at the potluck for which I prepared it. The only change I made to the ingredients was to use basil instead of dill because I have so much in my garden and my local grocery store didn't have dill. I also increased the number of servings to 8 which made WAY more than enough for a large crowd, with leftovers! Also, because it was for a group I tore the spinach up a little and just mixed it in with the salad. Great summer cold salad that is different from pasta and potato salads most people bring. Make sure to use fresh delicious tomatoes, the taste brings a lot to the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      Found the recipe on cooking.com (with same reference to eating well mag) and I was going to come to the zaar and add it so I wouldnt lose it. So glad I found you had posted it! I really enjoyed this, it was light, refreshing, flavorful and a perfect summer time meal. As an afterthought, I mixed the spinach right into the orzo salad instead of topping the spinach with the salad.

      Only reason I am giving it 4 stars is I think it needs just a little "something" but can't quite put my finger on it. I am also wondering if using fresh lemon juice might have made a difference, as well as doubling the amount of herbs. but it is a healthy recipe, and as such is not laden with the heavy fats and salts we are so used to having in our foods. I will be making it again and give the increased herbs a try.

      It made enough for 4 meals

      Thanks for posting this so I don't lose it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Really tasty - and easy too! I made this exactly as posted, but did not serve this on the spinach leaves. Instead, I packed it in a container for a take-along lunch. Just perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      Wish I had made more based on how quickly this was eaten up. I should of doubled it from the start :) Followed this exactly, except used a jar of 3 oz. of marinated artichokes. I wouldn't change one thing, this is so perfect the way it is!! Made for ZWT6 Zee Zesties!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      Very enjoyable salad - I'd say it serves more than 2, especially if it's a side dish, we have enough left over for lunch tomorrow. I only used a small (3 oz?) jar of artichoke hearts, think that was just right. I also served the feta on the side since not all of us eat cheese. So it can easily be vegan if that's what you need. I ended up chopping the spinach and folding it into the salad, (little diners...works better), I'm sure it would have been a prettier presentation on the plate the way the recipe directs you to do it. Very delicious flavours, perfect with orzo - thanks for posting!! ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      This dish incorporates everything I love -- it was perfect. It could actually be served as a meal all by itself; however, I served it alongside roasted chicken. I will definitely be serving this dish again and again and again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Orzo Salad With Chickpeas & Artichoke Hearts

    Serving Size: 1 (507 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 506.6
     
    Calories from Fat 103
    20%
    Total Fat 11.5 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 22.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 872.8 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.2 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 25.1 g
    100%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 21.6 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites