Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Greek Pork Loin Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Pork Loin

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2003

      I turned this into an experiment. I followed the recipe but had two 1 1/2 lb. pork tenderloins. I cooked one in a crock pot and the other in the oven. My dinner guests were the judges. The oven tenderloin won for looks and being able to identify the ingredients. The crockpot version won for tenderness and overall taste. The final vote was in favor of the crock pot. When I ran into my guests two nights later at a restaurant that served pork tenderloin, they were discussing whether or not my pork was better than the restaurant's. The restaurant's chef is excellent. That makes it a repeater.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2004

      Easy to prepare, I followed recipe exactly. I cooked in the crockpot all day while I worked. The house smelled wonderful, the roast was extremely tender and moist. My family loved it, and they hardly like anything! I will definetly make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2002

      I think that this could also be called Pork Afalia but pieces of pork are used instead of a joint

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

    • on February 12, 2009

      This is a good recipe. I used the ingredients listed but in amounts to suit my taste. The whole family enjoyed it. I baked it in the oven at 400 degrees for about 2 hours. To make sure it didn't dry out I covered it with aluminum foil as it cooked with the fatty side up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I made this for my family; we liked it ok, nothing special but again it was not bad. We liked the lemon juice but there was not much other flavor there, it needs something. I cooked this in the crock pot for 7 hours and it was a bit dry so I would cut the cook time or add more chardonnay and water. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      Very good recipe! Easy to make and we really liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      Loved this roast! The flavors were great, and not overpowering. I added some dried onion flakes in the marinade for added flavor. As I grilled, I kept basting with the marinade, and then thew out what was left. The key to a tender roast is not to turn it often, and to let the meat sit for 10-15 minutes before cutting it, so the juices stay in the roast and not in the dish. Will make again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      I really enjoyed this. DH thought it was a bit salty, but I thought it was great as is. I cooked it in the crockpot, and it was very tender and very good. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      This is really good!!! I did mine in the oven and cooked until internal temperature was 160 then let it rest. I roasted my potatoes with roast in the marinade. Yum-Mo. Fabulous recipe Deborah!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      My husband grew up in Athens Greece and I have visited Greece. We were both thrilled by the authentic results of this recipe! Note that we do not recommend serving the spicy yogurt sauce with the roast because both the roast and the sauce are very distinctive on their own and overwhelm the overall taste of each other. The sauce recipe is excellent and we would serve it as an appetizer or separate course for dinner. Also, we added parboiled Yukon Gold potato chunks to the roasting pan at about 30 minutes into the roasting period, then brushed both the roast and potato chunks with olive oil and then added salt and pepper to the potatos. Potatos roasted along with the meat is a very common accompaniment in Greek cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      This is a recipe that deserves to be tried. I used a loin portion, perhaps 1/4 of loin, butterflied it, marinated and cooked it on the grill. Cooked for an hour, which was a little too long, next time will try 45 min or less. We really enjoyed the flavor. Thanks for posting. Colorado Lauralee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      great taste, i cooked it in the crock pot on low for 7 hours, it turned out a little over cooked. Next time i will try 5 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      This was very flavorful & easy to make. I cooked it in the crock-pot for 8 hours and I think that may have been a little too long because the meat was pretty dry. But, that is my only complaint and I will make this again. I served this with some brown gravy to help with the dryness. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      This was good cooked in the crock-pot, but I do think it would have been better grilled, as I had originally planned to do. After checking the weather forecast for that evening, though, I opted to go ahead and put it in the crock-pot early in the day--I'm just not that fond of grilling in the midst of severe thunderstorms and tornado watches. :) I increased the oregano in the marinade to 2 teaspoons and marinated overnight as directed. Rather than discarding the marinade, I added it to the crock-pot with the roast to add more flavor, along with some vermouth and a little chicken broth (in lieu of chardonnay and water). I also cut some Yukon Gold potatoes into large chunks and added them to the crock-pot, then just served the meat and potatoes with a big Greek-style salad and homemade sourdough--made a wonderful, simple meal. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2007

      I followed the recipe exactly, till i realized that i was low on gas for the grill. Instead of risking running out of gas i threw it in the crockpot and got a really tasty yummy loin of pork! Yum! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      My husband and I love this as a marinade! I didn't cook it quite as listed (followed "Perfect Pork Tenderloin" #63828 directions), but it tasted fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      Good crock pot recipe. I loved being able to make a pork roast without heating up the house with the oven on a summer day! Very tender and very flavorful...Mine didn't get dry at all in the crock pot, and the flavors permeated well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      I agree with several other reviewers that the flavors were very subtle in the marinade. I cooked mine in the oven so perhaps this made some difference in the results?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      I gave a 4 for flavor, but my roast dried out in the crockpot. My husband was looking for gravy to save it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Pork Loin

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 348.1
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    54%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 108.8 mg
    36%
    Sodium 225.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 36.5 g
    73%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes