Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Greek Rice Pilaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Rice Pilaf

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2008

      I added Kalamata olives and chopped fresh tomatoes and left out the peas in mine, but otherwise made per the directions. The taste was delicious and this is one pilaf I plan to make often, as we really enjoyed it with our baked lamb chops seasoned with greek seasoning. Thanks MsBindy! Ann

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      Lovely with the salty flavour of feta. I used baby spinach, white Basmati rice cooked with butter, frozen baby peas, and no dill. We had this with Mum's Yemista (Greek Stuffed Vegetables With Rice) for a good meal. I would make this again without dill per preference here.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      Good stuff! I left out the peas and feta (since I didn't have any), added chicken and pine nuts and extra lemon. It tastes like the filling of a spinich pie, and is great topped with plain yogurt. It's easy and versatile which is right up my alley!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      This is one of the best rice dishes I've had in a very long time. I didn't have peas or dill, so I added extra spinach and used fresh mint. It was delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      Very good. The feta really makes it "pop" and is a must! Thanks for a new recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      I made this for our "Kab-arbecue" (Kabob+BBQ) yesterday, and people loved it. I doubled the recipe and added an extra 1/2 cup of feta. Got rave reviews, and several requests for a copy of the recipe. Thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      This was good. I didn't have any feta, so I substituted parmesan and I think that the feta would have added just the extra creamy-salty yumminess that I was looking forward to. Having said all that, it was certainly good enough to make again, and I will I'm sure! Served it with Greek meatballs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      Delicious! I didn't use a cup of feta but it was just enough to get the creamy salty taste. I made this to go with green bean and cherry tomato salad and the pork gyros with yogurt tomato sauce both Epicurious recipes. Outstanding meal. Will make again. Very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      This dish is delicious! I didn't/wouldn't change a thing! Thanks Ms*Bindy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2006

      This was a terrific side dish. I served with Greek Ground Beef Roll" Greek Ground Beef Roll and your marinated Greek salad. Thank you for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      A delicious side dish, which helped me use up some leftovers (I really love versatile recipes!) I used Fresh Orange Rice and 2 c. cooked spinach, so omitted the peas. I also used 1 tsp dried dill which I added with the other seasonings. I like this a lot, it's full of delicious flavors, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      This is incredibly quick and easy, especially if you cook the rice the night before or use leftovers! I used fresh mint and found I needed more lemon juice and a lot more garlic to get the flavour we like. Lovely with the feta tossed through when serving; thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      Halved the recipe with 2 garlic cloves. Really liked the mint and fresh dill. Simple but delicious, my BF rated this as 'excellent.' Used less oil and low-fat feta. Cooked rice in broth, which added salt to recipe which I think it needed. Also, cooked a little more than 3-4 minutes at the end to ensure spinach was wilted and rice warm. Thanks, Bunny Mom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      This recipe has all those yummy Greek ingredient combinations I just love: spinach, feta, mint, dill, lemon juice, so as I made this I was dying to taste it. I added 4 cloves of garlic and must confess to cheating with the spinach, and increasing the quantity. I used 2 packets of frozen spinach, thawed and thoroughly squeeze-dried and about 3 cups of baby spinach leaves (I buy baby spinach each week, for sandwiches and salads, and by the end of the week when it has lost its initial freshness, I am always looking for a dish to throw it into). Apart from that I followed the recipe exactly. Just fantastic! This is a rice dish I’ll be making regularly in future. It would be great as a simple stand alone vegetarian meal (and it’s versatile enough that you could throw in other ingredients) or as a fabulously flavoursome side dish, which would complement any grilled or BBQd meats, Greek or not! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, Bunny Mom. Whenever I eat this I’ll think of you in that photograph you posted outside the Moosewood restaurant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Rice Pilaf

    Serving Size: 1 (346 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 456.7
     
    Calories from Fat 139
    30%
    Total Fat 15.4 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 33.3 mg
    11%
    Sodium 447.4 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.8 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 13.1 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites