Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Greek Rice Pudding (Rizogalo) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Rice Pudding (Rizogalo)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2003

      Well, I made this twice! First time I made it exactly as stated and it was good. However, I felt like something (FOR MY TASTES :-) ) was missing. So the next day I made it again using a bit of vanilla and a tad bit more sugar. HEAVEN! This is a marvelous recipe evelyn...I am very thankful that I found it. The lemon peel really adds such a marvelous flavor to the pudding, and I love the cinnamon sprinkled on top :-) thanks for this recipe!!!!! it'sa keepa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2004

      Thanks for posting, Evelyn; this is an awesome rice pudding! Hands-on time is minimal and it comes out with a great texture and flavor. I loved the subtle lemon flavor from the zest and it was sweet without being overpoweringly so. I made it as written with the exception of using cornstarch instead of cornflour (not sure if they're the same thing or not...I'm in the States and have never come across cornflour). It took mine closer to 50 minutes for the milk to be absorbed by the rice. I'm looking forward to making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      My lemon didn't look very good so used lemon extract, made as written otherwise. Loved the slight lemon flavor. Had to cook the rice an extra 10 min. to become thicker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      Well, what can I say about this recipe? I made it on a cold January day in Wisconsin, and then hide it in the back of the fridge and ate it all myself. For me it's a six star recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      I have been searching for a good greek rice pudding forever, This recipe was amazing! I thought it was a bit too sweet but I think Its because i ate it hot. will get better when i chill it. i used 1% milk and it was perfect. Also i used 1/3 of a vanilla bean and 1/2 a cinn stick while it was cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      Wicked good and easy to make. I love it with the lemon peel and vanilla. If yours comes out too "soupy" it is probably because you are not using the right kind of rice: make sure to use arborio or at the very least a short-grained rice. Thanks again, Evelyn!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      I believe there is an error with this recipe. It is normal procedure to use 2x the water as rice anytime making rice. However, this recipe calls foe 1/6 rice to milk (liquid). I think the recipe should call for 1 1/2 cups of rice to 3 cups of milk. I think then the recipe would not turn out "watery", or "tasting like lemon".
      It is also important to note that the lemon peel that is cooked with the mixture needs to be removed when cooking is complete. The lemon peel should be as long a peel as possible, so it is easier to locate and remove. The lemon peel only helps to limit some of the "greasiness" from the milk fat. It should not add a lemon flavor to the pudding. If the end result has a lemon flavor then either too much peel was added, or not removed, or something else was not properly done.
      I'll be trying this recipe with soy milk and will report my success, or not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I didn't care for them lemon flavor.I think if I were to make it next time I would leave it out.I was also not pleased with the texture.I was looking for a kozy shack style rice pudding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      I'm sorry but this did not come right for me.I have no problem following a recipe but this ended up to be a liquidy not like a pudding.I questioned the only half cup of rice but assumed it was correct.It ended up to be a lemon flavored milky/watery mixture with little rice.I liked the lemon peel cooked w/milk idea but later found the flavor needed something else despite the liquid result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      Not too sweet just the way I like it. The lemon and vanilla complimented each other wonderfully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2006

      A wonderful authentic near-eastern recipe which was so creamy. For even higher calorific value I suggest that the sugar be increased by a dessertspoon, and to add one teaspoon of butter to the milk before boiling. Alternatively, i tried substituting a half cup of double cream for a half cup of the milk. It's the vanilla and the lemon that make this one so special. It's a winner Evelyn!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      EXCELLENT Rizogalo EV!!! The combo of vanilla extract and lemon zest adds a nice touch! BEST Rizogalo HANDS DOWN! Thanks for sharing another winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      Lovely rice pudding.Hubbies favorite.Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      I didn't add any additional sugar or vanilla; however, I did cook it with short grain rice and vanilla soy milk. While it was cooking my thoughts were way to liquid. This set very nicely and I served it lightly chilled, sprinkled with cinnamon. It was not overly sweet and the subtle lemon flavor really adds to the dish. Evelyn, another winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      Evelyn: This is a wonderful dessert! So easy to make and not a long list of ingredients. I too add a little extra sugar and vanilla, and it was absolutely perfect! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2004

      I altered this slightly in the fact that I added 1/2 tsp of almond extract. My family loved it. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Rice Pudding (Rizogalo)

    Serving Size: 1 (238 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 313.9
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    23%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 101.3 mg
    33%
    Sodium 84.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.6 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 32.1 g
    128%
    Protein 8.6 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites