Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Greek Roast Leg of Lamb with Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Roast Leg of Lamb with Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2010

      Evelyn, I wanted to thank you for posting all your recipes (especially the ones I'm about to rate.) You have become a staple in my kitchen!! I made this lamb for the Friday after Thanksgiving. I have a friend who raises grass-fed, non-GMO, no hormone, etc etc lamb. So I bought 1/2 a lamb. I knew for any lamb recipe, Evelyn is my go-to lady!! This was fantastic. I followed the recipe exactly, my leg roast may not have been quite 6 lbs. I used fresh herbs. I let it marinate longer than overnight. I served it with Cherry Tomato and Zucchini Sauté and Broccoli with Lemon-Garlic Crumbs I also used tiny potatoes. It was so lovely!! My Father-in-law RAVED about how fantastic the dinner was. Thank you so much, Evelyn!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      Fantastic! Really enjoyed this. Trying it again tonight, with only 1/2 cup of lemon juice and a little more wine to compensate. This actually worked out better, since I zested and juiced two lemons, which was 1/2 a cup of juice, so I only needed two lemons...last time I needed 3 to get enough juice. The lemon flavour is great, but I think it will be a better balanced taste with less juice and more wine. In any case, I highly recommend trying this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      I had used a whole boneless leg of lamb with fresh herbs. Marinated it for 3 days, because plans got changed at the last minute. We cooked the lamb and potatoes for 1 hour before I had to take the lamb out. If we left it in any longer, it would have been overcooked. Meanwhile the potatoes were not quite cooked and I had to zap them in the microwave to finish them off. Next time, I will put the lamb on the barbecue and roast baby potatoes in the oven (3-4 per person - we had way to much leftovers) Loved the seasonings on the roast, especially using fresh herbs....that was top drawer!!! I would definately do this roast again, just change the method of cooking! Kudos, Evelyn on a wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2003

      This was a very good recipe for a special occasion; Christmas Day for me. Being single, I decided to get three slices of Leg of Lamb (2lbs) instead of a whole leg. I had to reduce the amount of ingredients, cooking time and turned & based half way through. I also made a side dish of Feta Cheese with olive oil & spices... and a Lemon, dry mint and butter sauce as well. Thanks Evelyn for taking me back to Greece for a day! Pass the wine please...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2014

      This was excellent. My first time making lamb and it was our own home raised lamb. I had a boneless roast although don't know the weight. Based on some other recipes, I started the potatoes (Reds, unpeeled, cut in half) 30 min before I put the roast in, with the marinade, covered in foil. The other recipe I had said 35 minutes at 400 degrees for a boneless roast, but make sure to use a meat thermometer. It was a lot longer than 35 minutes - more like an hour to an hour and a half, but I cooked it to 135 degrees and then let it sit covered with foil for about 20 minutes and it was perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      I made this roast for Easter and it was fantastic! I published the first picture here. I roasted vegetables under the roast with the marinade. I forgot to coat them with oil first and that is why they are black with carmelization (piled at top of photo), but they were yummy! This recipe is a keeper. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2005

      This was great! What a flavourful marindade and herb rub, we loved this! I served with a nice Greek salad too and an even nicer bottle of cab sav. I had a 1.5kg lamb (half the recipe) but still required the full cooking time to get it done properly. Thanks for a wonderful recipe Evelyn!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      My lamb roast came out delicious except for one issue in your recipe. It states to place the potatoes at the bottom of your roasting pan to cook while the roast is. Well those potatoes burned to a crisp since the time to cook the roast was way more than a potato alone. Besides that I served my dinner with Saganaki, Greek Salad, and Spanekopeta

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      Thanks for your recipes. However I question your generalisation that Greeks only eat lamb well cooked. My experiences after seven years of living in a Greek village in Crete is that this is too general a statement. It is very common for lamb to be cooked on large open fires, especially at Easter and other festivals and celebrations. The very nature of open fire cooking is that, despite several hours cooking the meat is usually well done on the outside and still very pink on the inside. It all gets eaten with great enthusiasm, usually using bare hands! The statement is akin to saying that all English people like soggy fish and chips covered in mushy peas, some do and some do not.<br/><br/>As I read this my fire is burning in the bread oven and I am about to try your recipe. Thanks for publishing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2012

      Thank you for the tip about Greeks not eating lamb any other way but well done; these kind of details are important in preserving the original tradition. This recipe is GREAT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2012

      At least 10 stars! This recipe is phantastic and the lamb came out more than only delicious!
      I had only a small roast, less than 3 pounds, so I placed a bowl of hot water to prevent drying out the meat.
      I followed the recipe as described and this was really easy and it tasted really Greek!
      Oh Evelyn your recipes are really perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2012

      This roast is awesome! The herb rub and other seasonings added great flavor to both the lamb and potatoes...this s definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

    • on January 09, 2010

      This recipe tasted awesome!! However, I am only rating this 4 stars as I found it difficult to follow the recipe. For example, I didn't see where I was supposed to use the mustard - figured that it went with the spices and oil to make the rub. I will make this again with the ingredients as printed - I will just rewrite the instructions to make it easier to me to read. Thank-you for a incredibly tasty dish that was loved by our guests!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      I substituted my traditional Christmas turkey for this Greek lamb roast and boy, am I glad I did! My husband raved and I have recorded this recipe in my "Recipe Keeper" file. I plan on making this leg of lamb at least once a month. A superb Sunday dinner or for a special occassion. I can't wait to surprise my friends with this delicious meal. I am so pleased that I found this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      WONDERFUL!! Cooked this beautiful roast as part of our Christmas Eve feast - and it was delicious. I marinaded it for 2 days, turning and basting regularly. Before cooking, and squeezed the juice of half a lemon over the meat, and covered it with small wedges of lemon, and a couple of fresh rosemary sprigs. I also used fresh rosemary and oregano - love fresh herbs. Will use this recipe again, definitely!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      This was just fabulous with fresh herbs. Loaded with flavor and really tender!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      Absolutely wonderful! The only change I made was I didn't add the potatoes to the pan and did them separately. We love our roast meat well done and this turned out great, succulent and juicy. Very impressed and will definately do again, to quote my 4 yr old "This is beautiful"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      Perfetto!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      wow!!!! evelyn, yet again another fantastic recipe . very yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Roast Leg of Lamb with Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (782 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1118.9
     
    Calories from Fat 529
    47%
    Total Fat 58.8 g
    90%
    Saturated Fat 21.5 g
    107%
    Cholesterol 227.9 mg
    75%
    Sodium 530.8 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.2 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    34%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 71.2 g
    142%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites