Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Greek Roasted Chicken and Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Roasted Chicken and Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on October 28, 2002

      This is such an easy and tasty dinner. The lemon and oregano go great with the chicken and potatoes. A simple dish that is full of flavor. Thank you, Mary Ellen for sharing this recipe. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2003

      This was absolutely delicous. We loved the comfort-ey taste of the chicken, potatoes and lemon. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      This was truly a great roast chicken recipe. I basted it every 30 minutes and cooked it for the full 2 1/2 hours. It looked gorgeous when it came out of the oven and was absolutely delicious. Thank you so much. I will make this many times.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      This was great! I'm always leary of using too much oregano, so I only used about 1 1/2 tsps, but this recipe was excellent! I loved the lemon flavor. I used an already cut up chicken (pick of the chix) and it still came out super. I also sprinkled some plain breadcrumbs on top of the chicken, not even enough to cover it, to give it a little added texture. I roasted for an hour covered, and then an hour uncovered, while basting it occasionally. Great and perfectly crispy skin. Even my picky 3 and 5 year olds liked it. Will definitely make again. Thanks Mary Ellen!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      THIS WAS DELICIOUS! Instead of baking potatoes, I used fingerling potatoes. Aside from that I followed this to a tee. What a delicious flavor and the chicken was SO moist!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      Very good basic roast chicken recipe. The chicken is moist and tender with a nice flavor. The potatoes soak up some of the chicken juices and are wonderful! I had a 5 lb. chicken and it took a little under 2 hours. I also used red potatoes instead of russets. Very good! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2013

      This is a great and easy recipe. I used olive oil instead of butter, vermouth (for white wine) instead of chix broth and added fresh garlic into a marinade that I poured over the roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

    • on October 20, 2009

      This dish is amazing! My family can't get enough of it, and now my friends are addicted too. So fast, so yum! Just add a little salad and some tzaziki and you're off! Thanx for this one!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      Made for The Northern Mediterranean Photo challenge. Lemon and Oregano are a marriage made in heaven!Our Bird was 8 lbs and so very delicious.I added some onions with the potatoes and also added 1/2 a head of garlic to the cavity of the chicken.The pan juices were so tasty...I just reduced them somewhat and spooned the sauce over the chicken and vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      This is a delicious recipe and have made it many times. I put the discarded lemon shell in the chicken cavity along with a clove of garlic and add carrots, onions and red peppers to the potatoes. The chicken comes out so moist and there is lots of flavour in the vegetables. I guess with all my changes it really isn't "Greek Chicken" any more, but it is very tasty. Thank you so much for the recipe Mary Ellen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2006

      I too didn't follow the recipe exactly. As directed I used russet potatoes, peeled and quartered (though I think baby reds would have a better texture and great color in this dish). I used 5 chicken thighs and arranged them on top of the potatoes. To add an extra zing of flavor, I sprinkled the zest of one lemon over the entire dish. I ended up roasting this for about and hour to an hour and a half at 375 degrees. I didn't have to bother with basting since I used thighs (stay moist), and all the juices and the starch from the potatoes created a thick kind of glaze or sauce for the potatoes that was delicious. A very easy and tasty dish- will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      This is so delicious. I desperately needed a recipe for a 4lb chicken in less than 2 hrs. I modified this by cutting up 1 big onion and stuffing it inside and around the potatoes and I didn't use any chicken broth and I cooked it at 400 degrees. I served this with steamed basmati rice and stir fried broccoli. My guest were sucking the bones! I will most definitely be making this again. Thanks Mary Ellen B

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2005

      I thought i had reviewed this already... Oh well, this is the 2nd time I have made this. Very easy to make and it comes out looking so nice that I feel bad just cutting into it.. until I taste it that is =) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2005

      It was wonderful! I took the hints from east coast Nellie and added garlic and I put the lemons (after I juiced them) into the cavity. Everyone loved the chicken and especially the potatoes! Thank you from all of us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2004

      Thanks so much for this recipe. The prep couldn't have been easier and the chicken turned out nicely browned outside and juicy inside. I did add some garlic to the inside of the bird and sprinkled some around the potatoes (couldn't resist!) I squeezed the juice of one small lemon over chicken and potatoes, and then stuffed the squeezed lemon halves inside the bird along with some additional oregano. I then sprayed the bird with some butter spray and poured the broth over the spuds before spraying them too. (if you do this, wait until after you pour broth over to add oregano) I roasted 5 lb bird for 1 hour covered, then uncovered for 45 minutes, basting about every 15 of last half. I let it sit in oven turned off for 20 minutes, and ended up needing to roast potatoes about 10 more minutes until nice and crisp. SO good that two of us ate it all in two days!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2003

      Simple, Quick to assemble and Tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Roasted Chicken and Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (431 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1180.4
     
    Calories from Fat 734
    62%
    Total Fat 81.6 g
    125%
    Saturated Fat 27.3 g
    136%
    Cholesterol 351.3 mg
    117%
    Sodium 545.8 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 79.0 g
    158%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites