Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Greek Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Salad

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2002

      Excellent Greek Salad. I agree I like it without the letttuce. I found your instructions a bit vague I had no problem following them but I have made many Greek salads but for some one new to cooking I think they would be difficult to follow. I believe your intent is to allow each of us to match the recipe to suit our taste buds, right? I found that vinegar & lemon would be too strong so I used only lemon juice. Next time I will add 2 anchovie fillets. Thanks, Friedel, the salad was enjoyed by all

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2002

      This was absolutely delicious. I was looking for something to use feta cheese in (a new cheese for me) and this recipe sounded really good. I watched with trepidation as my husband dished some up, then with relief when he continued eating after the first bite. This was so awesome; he went back for seconds and wanted more, but realized if he didn't stop there wouldn't be any for me to pack in his lunch tomorrow. I had to leave the cucumber out because I went out to the garden only to find the chickens had wiped out my cucumbers, plants and all. This will definitely be served in our house in the future. Thanks for posting this recipe Friedel!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      Excellent! I made this as part of our dinner last night. I had to used black pitted olives out of the can due to have younger kids in the house - but we all enjoyed it very much! I served it with pita, hummus and the recently posted Greek Souvlaki recipe. A great meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2002

      Tooo good that I came to read this thread and whatta preparation I discovered. I tried Greek Salad and it was just the way one gets in Lebanese restaurants here in Dubai. Thank you very much. See the twinkling five stars posted underneath and smile.......! I think we should keep this suggestion game on and on and onnnnnn. Smiles Mini

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2002

      Delicious and healthy! I added freshly ground black pepper, but next time might add some oregano also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      We thought this was very good. I did kind of adjust the amounts of the vegetables to our tastes. I used about 3 large tomatoes, 1/2 a red onion, 2 celery stalks, and pretty much the same as the recipe for everything else. For the dressing, I am not very good at making stuff without measurements, so I had my husband help me. I used a 1/2 cup olive oil, 1/4 c plus 2 tbsp of the vinegar, and 2 whole lemons. I used all the dressing, and let the salad sit for probably 4 or 5 hours so all the flavors would meld together, and I think the salad will probably taste even better today. We salted it quite a bit as well. Thanks for posting the recipe, I am sure we will enjoy it many more times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2011

      We all loved it! The only thing I added was some Greek Seasoning, which only added more flavor to the salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      Fabulous! My fiancee and I loved it. I used slightly less vinegar than the recipe suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      Nice tangy salad, but we felt it would have benefited from some fresh herbs, maybe oregano or parsley. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      Very good!! I used 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 organic apple cider vinegar. We thought it was fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      I made this salad for dinner tonight. It was great! I made a few changes though.. I used pitted black olives, more celery, just half the onion and only 4 roma tomatoes. Also, I added some green bell pepper just because it sounded good. I love that this salad allows this kind of versatility where you can add or subtract a little and it's still yummy. Good recipe regardless!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      This salad was wonderful. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars as I felt it needed the addition of salt, pepper, and garlic to really bring out the flavors. I kept the pieces in a large dice size which made it easier to eat. Served it with "Easy Pita Bread" which was perfect to tone down the acidity of the salad. All the bowls were empty at my dinner party!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      We have never had a Greek Salad without lettuce, so we found this different and so good! We will have time and again we liked it so well! We used a touch of white vinegar along with the lemon and olive oil in the dressing and found it perfect for our tastes! Mike

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      A very refreshing salad, and the dressing is simple so as not to overpower the great flavors of the veggies. A great summer salad to use your garden produce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

    • on November 06, 2007

      We went to Greece on our honeymoon and I fell in love with the salad. This was close but, I swiched out the celery for english cucumber and use imported pitted calamata olives. They can be found in the salad/olive bar at the grocery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      This is a great salad. We made this without the celery but used 8 baby cucumbers instead. Baby tomatoes sliced in half for the six tomatoes, and no black olives. I think DD ate at least half by herself! We love the feta cheese on this and I know that we'll be making this again soon! Thanks Sackville!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      I LOVE this type of salad! I am growing to like this type over the typical lettuce type! I always throw a split garlic clove in with my olive oil, so I thought this had plenty flavor. I also liked adding celery, some of the ones I've tried don't have celery in them. Great variation! Thank you for sharing! LA :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      I love Greek Salad, so this really appealled to me. But I really thought the dressing did not add much flavor. Next time I will try another variation. Thanx for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      I make this salad all the time, but mine is a little different...same concept though. I recently learned that this recipe is used in Greece when lettuce is not in season. Makes sense. Every time I make this for guests they want the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (403 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 404.2
     
    Calories from Fat 202
    50%
    Total Fat 22.4 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 15.1 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 89.0 mg
    29%
    Sodium 1205.1 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 8.5 g
    34%
    Sugars 21.6 g
    86%
    Protein 20.1 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites