34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent Greek Salad. I agree I like it without the letttuce. I found your instructions a bit vague I had no problem following them but I have made many Greek salads but for some one new to cooking I think they would be difficult to follow. I believe your intent is to allow each of us to match the recipe to suit our taste buds, right? I found that vinegar & lemon would be too strong so I used only lemon juice. Next time I will add 2 anchovie fillets. Thanks, Friedel, the salad was enjoyed by all

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy July 07, 2002

This was absolutely delicious. I was looking for something to use feta cheese in (a new cheese for me) and this recipe sounded really good. I watched with trepidation as my husband dished some up, then with relief when he continued eating after the first bite. This was so awesome; he went back for seconds and wanted more, but realized if he didn't stop there wouldn't be any for me to pack in his lunch tomorrow. I had to leave the cucumber out because I went out to the garden only to find the chickens had wiped out my cucumbers, plants and all. This will definitely be served in our house in the future. Thanks for posting this recipe Friedel!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy Lynn September 05, 2002

Excellent! I made this as part of our dinner last night. I had to used black pitted olives out of the can due to have younger kids in the house - but we all enjoyed it very much! I served it with pita, hummus and the recently posted Greek Souvlaki recipe. A great meal!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ridgely September 02, 2002

Tooo good that I came to read this thread and whatta preparation I discovered. I tried Greek Salad and it was just the way one gets in Lebanese restaurants here in Dubai. Thank you very much. See the twinkling five stars posted underneath and smile.......! I think we should keep this suggestion game on and on and onnnnnn. Smiles Mini

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mini Ravindran June 17, 2002

Delicious and healthy! I added freshly ground black pepper, but next time might add some oregano also.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimar October 29, 2002

We thought this was very good. I did kind of adjust the amounts of the vegetables to our tastes. I used about 3 large tomatoes, 1/2 a red onion, 2 celery stalks, and pretty much the same as the recipe for everything else. For the dressing, I am not very good at making stuff without measurements, so I had my husband help me. I used a 1/2 cup olive oil, 1/4 c plus 2 tbsp of the vinegar, and 2 whole lemons. I used all the dressing, and let the salad sit for probably 4 or 5 hours so all the flavors would meld together, and I think the salad will probably taste even better today. We salted it quite a bit as well. Thanks for posting the recipe, I am sure we will enjoy it many more times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasKelly January 02, 2012

We all loved it! The only thing I added was some Greek Seasoning, which only added more flavor to the salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuJuBeJen March 26, 2011

Fabulous! My fiancee and I loved it. I used slightly less vinegar than the recipe suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bauline Baker September 26, 2010

Nice tangy salad, but we felt it would have benefited from some fresh herbs, maybe oregano or parsley. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaInOz September 01, 2010

Very good!! I used 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 organic apple cider vinegar. We thought it was fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherN April 09, 2010
Greek Salad