15 Reviews

Wonderful! and it makes life so much easier! Reminds me of the kitchen smells in Athens. Thank you!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoQu Russell April 08, 2002

Great recipe. Exactly what I was looking for for my pork tenderloin. Omitted the salt, beef bullion, and the cornstarch. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IAteMyGluestick March 04, 2010

Kat- this seasoning mix reminds me of Thessoloniki with YiaYia and my mother when we cook. The smells of it in the jar are soothing and refreshing at the same time. When I cook with it I am reminded of cooking when I was a little girl just starting out cooking Greek. I also have to say I save tons of money with your recipe as opposed to buying it at the market and it tastes so much better. I am sorry this review was long in the making, but I am glad I remembered to post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie November 29, 2007

This is another recipe I reviewed in October and it disappeared from here ....so am going to re review it and submit pics once again...... I made this spice to go with some Greek Pastitsio I was making. It is a great tasting spice and adds a nice flavor to dishes. Used all the ingredients and just used my mortar to mix them up. I have also used them in some salads mixed with a bit of oil and vinegar. It is delicious and so very quick to make and so much cheaper than buying a ready made store one. Thanks for sharing your recipe Kat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny January 16, 2011

I made this to use in Lick the Pan Green Beans!. I never would have thought that there was even ever a Greek Seasonin Mix but so very glad I found this one. It is easy to make with ingredients already in my cupboard and ohhh the flavor! Thank You for sharing this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chabear01 February 12, 2010

Nice combination of spices. I did reduce the salt to 1 tsp and think that I will reduce the nutmeg next time as it is not one of my favourite flavours. This is great sprinkled on chicken, peppers, onions and potatoes that have been drizzled with olive oil and then baked in the oven. Thx Kat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word January 25, 2010

This seasoning is fantastic. I always wanted to make a Greek spaghetti, so I added this seasoning to my regular recipe along with a few red pepper flakes, and Wow! Tonight I liberally sprinkled pork chops with this seasoning and braised them and served with cooked cabbage and apples, and what a fantastic meal. Thanks for this seasoning, it is a real winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DJBiker November 13, 2008

We love your Greek seasoning on our grilled corn. It is a new taste for my family, and we love it. Thanks Kat for sharing :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daydasa July 18, 2007

This is an excellent Greek seasoning blend. After reading the helpful reviews, I reduced the salt too. I make up batches of this yummy mix and place some in a pretty glass jar from the dollar store, tie a ribbon around the neck of the jar, and add a computer generated or handwritten recipe card for a great gift, along with ideas for using the mix. I had some canned whole potatoes to use up so I drained them well, placed them in a plastic bag with some olive oil and a couple teaspoons of this super mix and roasted them in a glass baking dish at 350 degrees Fahrenheit until they were crispy. The mix makes a wonderful seasoned breadcrumb or cracker crumb coating for breading pork chops or chicken. Thanks for posting such a terrific recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodtvfan March 06, 2006

This definitely had a great mix of ingredients - sweet, spicy and herbed. However, we found it was far too salty using the full quantities of both salt and bouillon. I'd recommend cutting down on the salt, and possibly even omitting or cutting down on the bouillon powder, so that the taste of the other herbs and spices could lend fuller flavour to the mix (without being overpowered).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggiequeen January 20, 2006
Greek Seasoning (Spice)