Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Greek Souvlaki Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Souvlaki

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2010

      Was looking for recipes that used mint. Even though it's just April our mint is wild right now. Coincidentally we also had a pork loin ready to be cut up. So delicious and kept the pork moist. Served over rice with grilled peppers and onions. Will keep and use again. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      I doubled the recipe, and put the coated meat in freezer bags, then threw them in the freezer. Next time I want souvlaki, I will just take the bags out. It will marinade as it thaws.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      Excellent flavor ~ made the best gyros we've ever had. I was a little concerned about the mint as I've never used it before in a marinade, but it didn't over power at all. Served with pita pockets, feta and tzatziki!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Delicious and easy. Have used this recipe with pork or lamb for parties and family dinners. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      these are fantastic souvlaki! I made a bunch of them, marinated and then froze them in portions (not on skewers of course lol) all ready for when needed

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      Amazingly delicious and easy dish. I used boneless pork country ribs, simply because I was feeding a lot and the other cuts were way too expensive. When making for four, I will definitely try the lamb. Perfect blend of herbs, garlic, onion and the vinegar really helped create extra tenderness. I will use this recipe a lot. Thanks, CountryLady!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      Wonderful!! I used pork tenderloin, fresh oregano and more garlic and marinated it for two hours before cooking. Also I skewered chunks of onion with the pork instead of putting it in the marinade. Very simple to put together! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

    • on October 16, 2006

    • on July 31, 2006

      I marinated this for 4 days, using fresh herbs, but this recipe did not turn out the way I was expecting. I would play around with this one befoe I would come back to it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      I found this recipe very tasty and easy to make. I used pork fillet. The red wine vinegar gave it a very zesty taste. I served it with mediterranean salads, tzatziki, pita bread and chicken flavoured pilaf. I can't wait to try it on lamb, my favourite meat. A great hit here, even with the teens!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      Wonderful flavours!! Did these for a luncheon and they were a big hit. I used precut lamb sold at our local meat shop. Marinated overnight it turned out lovely and tender. I cooked them in the oven this time and will look forward to summer to use the BBQ. Thanks for sharing a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2005

      This was a very enjoyable and easy recipe. I thought it had a bit to much vinegar in it but my husband and eldest daughter thought it was perfect. I will definitley make this again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      Another winner Marg! I made this tonight using chicken breast in place of the lamb. this souvalaki is absolutely wonderful, next time I will make it with lamb on my outdoor grill. I served it with my Greek Couscous Kittencal's Greek Couscous, and a side salad, what an amazingly delicious dinner! This will go into my favorites book, I can't wait to make it again. Thanks for another winner...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2005

      Used the boneless leg of lamb and marinated overnight as had been suggested. Served this with the tzatziki (definately a must), rice, grilled pita bread and Greek Salad the Best! Kittencal's Famous Greek Salad by KITTENCAL. I had planned to prepare this outside on the grill; however, the wind had other ideas and kept blowing out the flame. As a result these were cooked on the countertop grill and were enjoyed by all. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2005

      We enjoyed this Nick Makis recipe as much as we do the meals at Nicky's when we are in city. Marinating overnight worked well for me. I grilled indoors and cannot wait to be making this for our summer cook outs. Thank you Country Lady for posting this absolutely delicious recipe for Greek Souvalaki.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Souvlaki

    Serving Size: 1 (241 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 526.7
     
    Calories from Fat 383
    72%
    Total Fat 42.6 g
    65%
    Saturated Fat 14.5 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 117.3 mg
    39%
    Sodium 98.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 30.9 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes