18 Reviews

I tried this recipe on the recommendation from Midwestguy, and all I can say is that it's absolutely wonderful. I followed the suggestion of marinating the chicken in the olive oil, lemon juice, 1/2 cup white wine, oregano, rosemary and salt and pepper. I just used the marinade over the chicken when it was time to put it in the oven. Fantastic! After I took it out of the oven I put a generous handful of feta cheese over it. YUM! Thank you for such a great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chargord March 30, 2011

This was really good! I do wish the lemon flavor had been a little stronger but other than that it was great. Next time I may try marinating the chicken ahead of time as another reviewer suggested.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle December 21, 2011

Opa !!!! Opa !!! This is great!!! I love this savory dish and it's easy to make!!! The chicken was a perfect 180 degrees F in this cooking time and the potatoes were soft and cooked through. The dressing and flavors were wonderful, I love the oregano and capers, and I put just a bit of dried rosemary sprigs for the rosemary to be subtle in flavor and it was perfect!! Love the lemony juices that cook down into a wonderful flavoring for the potatoes. Will definitely make this one again and again, thanks so much!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef*Lee June 20, 2009

I tried this and it is not for me. No one in my family would try it and I ended up ordering pizza for dinner. My husband hates pizza but choose to eat it over this dish. I ended up pulling the chicken off the bones the next day and reusing it in a chicken marsala dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smboule October 07, 2013

This was just OK for me. I think the potatoes were just too lemony for me. My Dad makes a similar dish (without the lemon), but I can't seem to duplicate the wonderful taste of his chix and potatoes. But, what I may do, and what might help is to take some from this recipe and combine with my Dads.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pccreative October 27, 2011

YUMMY!!! This was delcious and easy to make... it had a wonderful greek flair and the addition of the capers (don't leave em out!!).. excellent. Like another reviewer.. i also marinated my chicken legs in olive oil, herbs, lemon juice and white wine for about 5 hours.. I paired this dish with balsamic oven roasted asparagus.. Thank you so much Kittencal.. yet another winner!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MIDWESTGUY March 21, 2011

Delicious! I followed another reviewer's suggestion and marinated the chicken with the oil and herbs and 1/2C of white wine for several hours first. I also browned the chicken before putting in the over.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tymelessnote February 26, 2011

The only prep that was even approaching difficult was cutting up the potatoes. Very fast to get together and slide into the oven. I liked it quite a lot, but it did not appeal to my sons (both over 18, so it's not a "kid" thing). I would not hesitate to serve this to company - the boys will just have to eat elsewhere when I do :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinay0618 August 26, 2010

Outstanding!!The only thing is I wish is I had french bread or buns to sop up that wonderful juice,next time,thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lin1 May 27, 2009
Greek-Style Roasted Chicken Legs, Potatoes and Capers