Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Greek Tomato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Tomato Salad

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2010

      Great flavor! Had some Greek Dressing so used 3 tbsp of that instead of the vinegars and oil! Will try to thinly slice since the diced size is hard to eat with a fork!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2003

      Great salad - I made it up in the late morning popped it in the fridge. I made the dressing at the same time but kept it separate as one person does not like dressing (imagine!) and served it on the side I used fresh Greek oregano in the dressing and it does have a wonderful flavor. The only thing I added were chopped radishes, perhaps not Greek but the garden is overflowing, great added crunch. Thanks Sue for an easy tasty recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2013

      I am Greek and I must say that we do not eat such a salad in Greece, neither is served in restaurants, which serve traditional Greek food. I have the following remarks:<br/><br/>1) If you preserve tomatoes in the fridge after cutting them they will lose their scent. Tomato should be served fresh.<br/>2) The same happens with oregano, which should be poured on top of the salad fresh.<br/>3) Balsamic vinegar has nothing to do with Greeks and greek tomato salad.<br/><br/>The only Greek Salad I know that is marinated and preserved in the fridge, is the "Politiki Salata", Salad from Constantinopolis, widely served in north Greece and Thessaloniki. You can find this recipe in this link: http://www.greek-recipe.com/salad-from-constantinopolis/<br/><br/>I do not doubt that this could be a nice salad, although I expressed my concerns especially about preserving cut tomatoes in the fridge but definitely is not a Greek Salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2013

      Delicious! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      Wonderful wonderful wonderful! I made this as written only using fresh Greek oregano. Definately going into my Favorites of 2012. Thank you for submitting. Made for Summer on the Porch Diabetic Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2012

      Very good! I used just half of the vinegar amounts, due to hubby's preference. Otherwise, made as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2012

      Made this as a summer side dish, great flavor and color. I used a red pepper as I prefer them to green, otherwise followed recipe exactly. YUM! I was able to marinade about 2 hours in the fridge before dinner, everyone thought it tasted great.
      UPDATE: Since last year this has become my go-to salad that is requested. I frequently add a half a box of farfalle mini bow tie pasta and double the sauce and feta - I get compliments all the time on this fresh summery pasta salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      Delightful! Used orange instead of green bell peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      Outrageous salad! I made this exactly as posted, except I used some grape tomatoes. Really flavorful. I could eat the whole thing by myself! Will make often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2011

      I have made this recipe several times. Everyone loves it. Before I serve it I usually add more of the dressing which I think is a delicious combination of flavors. For something different sometimes I use this for the base of a pasta salad by just adding pasta to it and additional dressing. It is really delicious this way as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

    • on September 24, 2009

      This is a very good salad recipe. I had some small cherry tomatoes I was wanted to use up and this is the recipe I chose. We really liked it. I added a few more olives then called for but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      One thing that attracted me to this recipe was that is was low in the oil and that it had so many positive hits...but, I wish I had read the comments first before I made this up! I left out the green bell pepper as I can't eat them and added more tomatoes. I felt that, as it was, this salad was lacking in something. I added 1 large garlic, chopped and some salt and freshly ground pepper. I don't think I cared for the red wine vinegar...I would have used all balsamic vinegar. After going back and reading the comments, most people did doctor the salad with garlic and pepper. IF I was to make this one again, I would have cut down on the tomatoes and added a can of black beans and maybe more garlic. This is a good basic recipe, but it does need to be played around with!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Amazing! The marinating gives this such a depth of flavour. Thank you for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      Great salad! Very light and refreshing. It's also easy on the diet. I am going to serve it on a bed of salad greens to fill me up more! This is only 6 points on Weight Watchers and just a little different. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

    • on July 19, 2009

      I just love this salad. I could eat it every single day. Thank you for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      I didn't have any red wine vinegar, but I had everything else. It still turned out great. It's even better the next day. Thanks so much for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      This was fabulous. I used organic produce and Cuban oregano. It was a hit at our office potluck. I also found whole feta that I cubed rather than the crumbles. People were really receptive to the chunks of cheese. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Although this is very similar to the Greek salad I have been making, this will be the one I make from now on. For our tastes, it has the perfect balance of ingredients and dressing (which is delicious, and couldn't be easier to make).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Tomato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 92.2
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    56%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 11.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 574.6 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites