16 Reviews

Even though I halved this recipe, I used only 3 tomatoes (1 per person), but kept the amounts of green pepper, onion and cucumber the same - so basically, I just reduced the tomato.LOL (maybe we have way larger tomatoes?) Used both mint and parsley and kalamatas and feta. We can live on this salad and its variations, all year long.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens July 20, 2013

We loved this fresh, summery salad. I halved the recipe, but made the full amount of dressing. I used tomatoes, red onion, bell pepper and cucumber from my garden. For the dressing, I used fresh basil (from my garden), basil infused olive oil, and strawberry infused balsamic vinegar. I garnished it with crumbled feta cheese...delicious! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. Made for ZWT 9 - Greece for The Apron String Travelers

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill July 27, 2013

Refreshing salad! I included the optional cucumber and green pepper, and used white wine vinegar, feta cheese, and kalamata olives. We enjoyed this. Thanks for sharing! ZWT9

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews July 27, 2013

Reviewed for ZWT9 - Loved this Greek salad. From the optional ingredients, I added green pepper/capsicum, chopped cucumber, wine vinegar, garlic, cubed feta cheese, kalamata olives and fresh parsley from my garden. Photo also to be posted

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** July 17, 2013

So apparently, I can't read directions. Doesn't really matter much, this salad was fantastic, anyway! When making the dressing, I added the fresh herbs (fresh oregano, as I'd already added the basil earlier, into the salad), and I muddled it a bit in the dressing to let out some of the yummyness. I was lucky to have deliciously ripe and juicy tomatoes; a necessity for a good greek salad! I built the salad in a bowl, ending with the feta and olives (shhh... they were pitted nicoise, not kalmatta, unfortunately, which I'm sure will send me to culinary hell, but gosh, they were good - and on hand!) I then drizzled the dressing on top of the salad, took the picture, and mixed it up. ;) Simple, delicious, flavours. This reminded me of Greece, when Mom took me for a Mother-daughter trip to Santorini. Dreamer, thank you so much for a delicious salad, and for taking me back to that gorgeous island. Made for our VIP (Dreamer), for Veggie Swap 28, September.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen October 22, 2011

Just perfect! Didn't use peppers or cukes - maybe next time! I used mix of red and yellow tomatoes and fresh mozzarella. Made for ZWT9 Soup-a-Stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky August 29, 2013

A sleeper of a recipe that is easy, tasty and healthy! I used 3 tomatoes, a zucchini, a green pepper, 1/2 red onion, and feta cheese. I would have added black olives but they got lost in the fridge. Mixed everything together and let sit for about an hour before eating.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen July 22, 2013

I have a lot of fresh garden tomatoes and this was perfect. I used red onion and fresh basil from my herb garden. Both feta cheese and kalamata olives were used in the salad. Lemon juice was used instead of the vinegar. Very nice and refreshing. Made for ZWT9.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG July 17, 2013

Summer on a plate! This is so colorful and loaded with fresh flavor. I made this just as written, including all of the optional ingredients. For the cheese, I chose goat's milk feta. The fresh herbs are critical in making this salad as great as it can be. Thanx for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* June 23, 2013

Great little salad, easy to make and so fresh tasting. I had to omit the cuke because mine had turned, and don't use feta - so it's a really forgiving recipe to be able to sub or omit what you need to.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner September 05, 2011
Greek Tomato Salad