Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Greek Village Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Village Salad

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on July 05, 2011

      This salad hit the spot on a hot summer day. I improvised a bit--cut up enough salad ingredients to serve just one and halved the dressing amounts. That worked great, and it took minutes to prepare. I'm so tired of eating traditional "lettuce" type salads--this was refreshingly different and so attractive. Whether serving one or six, this recipe is sure to please.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      Oh yes, this reminded us of Greece too. Lovely blend of flavors, lots of crunch and texture. thanks for sharing! ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      One of my favorite Peterborough, NH restaurants, Twelve Pine, makes this salad in the summer. It's perfect for the season; very light, cool, and crunchy, with large chunks of vegetables, olives, and cheese. Tip: you don't have to use the herbs suggested; I prefer dill weed in this personally, and I also add lemon juice to my dressing - gives the salad a nice spike. I know it's summer when I start yearning for this salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      This is a great salad and using fresh veggies for our Farmer's Market was a plus! I did add some capers and that was the only change I made to the recipe. We loved the dressing too! Served with Artisan bread. Thanks for sharing. We'll make again. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      A terrific salad using all the wonderful treats from the garden. Really like the use of red and green peppers here, as well as the sliced feta. The dressing was wonderful, I cut down the oil a bit (used 3 tablespoons oil to 2 tablespoons of red wine vinegar) fresh parsley, fresh oregano and 2 garlic cloves. Oh yumm-0 goodness. Thanks so much Rita! Made for *ZWT4* June 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      I made this for my DH's lunch today. Best salad dressing of all the Greek salads I have made on ZWT4! (still added just a little lemon...hubby likes it tangy) Kept the ingredients the same except I used cherry tomatoes and I did stuff this into pitas with some chicken (a man needs his protein) Very healthful...hubby loved it. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      Fabulous salad, and very easy to put together. I used grape tomatoes and added a bit of mint and dill to the dressing. A visiting vegetarian was also thrilled with this dish. Yummo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      Exactly what I was hoping it would be. I used English cucumbers as I wasn't sure what was meant by a slender, long cucumber. It was the exact replica of a Greek salad an old Greek priest used to make for every feast at church! I just LOVED it! ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      This is a really lovely salad. I made it as a bit of a layered salad, just to make it look fancy and pretty, and thought just to bulk it up I would add a layer of romaine lettuce to the bottom. It didn't need it. It turns out to be quite a lot, even if the ingredients don't sound like a big salad. The colors are beautiful, and it's full of all my favorites. I love the garlic in the dressing. Perfection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      Yum! Quick salad to put together and very yummy. Kept to the recipe didn't change a thing and had wonderful results. I served it as a side dish with Grilled Greek Chicken Breasts, crusty bread & Tzatziki. Thank you Sage/Rita - *Made for Zaar World Tour 4*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      Rita my darling - this is IT! I owned and ran a restaurant in Cyrpus for many years, and this is a VERY authentic recipe for a delicious Greek style salad! I make my own version, but I have saved this in my 10 star cookbook for the future, as your directions and ingredients were absolutely SPOT ON! Made for ZWT4 - and I can assure you that this will made many times again - LOVED it! Thanks! FT :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      *Reviewed during ZWT4* Fantastic salad- we loved it. I wouldn't change a thing. Great mix of ingredients. Love the fetta and olives. We can purchase Greek Fetta here in Australia and this was a wonderful salad. Thanks for sharing this recipe - it'll be one we will make again. Photo also being posted

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      It was good, although the dressing was a bit vinegary. thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Thank you for posting this! I love Greek salads and this one is very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Wonderful salad that I really enjoyed for lunch! My DH and DS had the rest along with their baked chicken. We all thought it was great and it will be made again! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      Superb!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      This was a very easy and tasty recipe. The dressing was great. I did not pour the dressing over just before serving, I put it on when I made the salad and let it sit in the fridge for the day and it turned out great. I served this with chicken souvlaki, greek potatos , tzatziki and pita bread

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      I really liked the dressing for this salad. I Changed up a few of the salad ingredients to reflect what I had on hand. No tomatoes but added some lettuce and a few banana peppers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      I love the combination of flavors. I didn't have kalamata so I used black olives instead and I minced fresh oregano from my garden to sprinkle over the salad. I was sure that there wasn't going to be enough dressing but it was perfect. Thanks again! Made for ZWT 4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2013

      I have been making this for years now and it's a favourite of my daughter's. I add mint to the dressing and the salad which adds a nice edge to the taste. (I learned that from the person who introduced me to the salad years ago). I also use a lemon flavoured olive oil which I get from a company who sells at craft shows and gourmet shops. I also let the salad marinate for at least an hour before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Village Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (277 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 228.4
     
    Calories from Fat 152
    66%
    Total Fat 16.9 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 35.7 mg
    11%
    Sodium 732.8 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    30%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites