12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great pie recipe. Very rich and I even left off the topping!! I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1/8 tsp ground cloves for a more traditional baklava flavor, but this recipe is wonderful as written. You will be amazed at how much it tastes like baklava---but so much easier.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BtNugget March 02, 2010

Oh, yeah baby! I'll never make baklava again, because this was SOOOOO much easier. Next time, though, I might use the baklava spices instead of just cinnamon, and try orange juice instead of lemon with the honey. I might also try some fig in with the walnuts, just to give a two-toned texture to the pie filling. But this recipe does stand on it's own, I can't wait to take it to church on Sunday and feed it to my friends that enjoy for the yearly Greek Festival as much as my hubby and me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tornado Ali September 23, 2005

Very yummy recipe! I took the advice of another reviewer and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg & 1/8 tsp ground cloves. Also, because I am not overly fond of citrus, I cut the lemon to 1 tsp and added 1 tsp vanilla to the honey sauce. I found a name brand that packages "Finely Diced Walnuts" in a bag yielding exactly 2-1/2 cups that seemed to be the perfect chopped size. My family liked it and said I could make it again anytime. I served it with vanilla ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AbsinthePlease April 04, 2013

This was the happy ending to my Greek themed dinner!!! We all loved it! This is the ultimate in a dessert as far as I am concerned. You had me sold on the first bite! I served with a scoop or two of French Vanilla ice cream and it was divine! I can't wait to share this with family and friends.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodieFanatic February 13, 2009

I've made this twice now. It is delicious, and easy! I doubled the recipe, using four pie crusts, and prepared it in a casserole dish to serve as dessert bars for a larger group. Turned out great - a crowd pleaser.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daniel'sWife June 17, 2008

Cheryl another winner! You just can't get any better than this, I mixed walnuts with pecans and increased the cinnamon slightly, you won't be able to stop at just one piece when you try this, absolutely delicious! thanks Hon!....Kitten

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen December 12, 2006

Awesome! Very good and easy to make! I needed a pie for a pie contest at my local fair. I picked this one and won with first prize! :) Super easy to make and everyone loved it and are still talking about it. Thanks so much! I made my own crust and had to leave the topping off due to the contest being held outside in the heat but can't wait to try it again and with the topping! A must try! 5 Stars!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrazyCyndi September 08, 2006

Delicious...I think I made the mistake of not chopping my walnuts fine enuff, so the filling didn't quite stick together. But we didn't care!!! Was delicious and rich! Like Baklava....great recipe NCMS!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 June 11, 2006

This was really easy to make, and tasted great. I don't use the ready-make pie crusts, so I made mine from scratch. And I purchased my walnuts already finely chopped, which was a real time saver.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms*Bindy June 05, 2006

I made this for Christmas Eve. It is very Rich and very good. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alice Robertson Clark December 24, 2005
Greek Walnut Pie