Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Greek Walnut Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Walnut Pie

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2010

      Great pie recipe. Very rich and I even left off the topping!! I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1/8 tsp ground cloves for a more traditional baklava flavor, but this recipe is wonderful as written. You will be amazed at how much it tastes like baklava---but so much easier.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2005

      Oh, yeah baby! I'll never make baklava again, because this was SOOOOO much easier. Next time, though, I might use the baklava spices instead of just cinnamon, and try orange juice instead of lemon with the honey. I might also try some fig in with the walnuts, just to give a two-toned texture to the pie filling. But this recipe does stand on it's own, I can't wait to take it to church on Sunday and feed it to my friends that enjoy for the yearly Greek Festival as much as my hubby and me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2013

      Very yummy recipe! I took the advice of another reviewer and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg & 1/8 tsp ground cloves. Also, because I am not overly fond of citrus, I cut the lemon to 1 tsp and added 1 tsp vanilla to the honey sauce. I found a name brand that packages "Finely Diced Walnuts" in a bag yielding exactly 2-1/2 cups that seemed to be the perfect chopped size. My family liked it and said I could make it again anytime. I served it with vanilla ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      This was the happy ending to my Greek themed dinner!!! We all loved it! This is the ultimate in a dessert as far as I am concerned. You had me sold on the first bite! I served with a scoop or two of French Vanilla ice cream and it was divine! I can't wait to share this with family and friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      I've made this twice now. It is delicious, and easy! I doubled the recipe, using four pie crusts, and prepared it in a casserole dish to serve as dessert bars for a larger group. Turned out great - a crowd pleaser.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      Cheryl another winner! You just can't get any better than this, I mixed walnuts with pecans and increased the cinnamon slightly, you won't be able to stop at just one piece when you try this, absolutely delicious! thanks Hon!....Kitten

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2006

      Awesome! Very good and easy to make! I needed a pie for a pie contest at my local fair. I picked this one and won with first prize! :) Super easy to make and everyone loved it and are still talking about it. Thanks so much! I made my own crust and had to leave the topping off due to the contest being held outside in the heat but can't wait to try it again and with the topping! A must try! 5 Stars!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      Delicious...I think I made the mistake of not chopping my walnuts fine enuff, so the filling didn't quite stick together. But we didn't care!!! Was delicious and rich! Like Baklava....great recipe NCMS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      This was really easy to make, and tasted great. I don't use the ready-make pie crusts, so I made mine from scratch. And I purchased my walnuts already finely chopped, which was a real time saver.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2005

      I made this for Christmas Eve. It is very Rich and very good. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      What a wonderful pie, so easy to make too! I had big problems in that we do not seem to have these pre-made pie things that the recipe asks for - you can get pre-made short crust flan but that's all. So I had a horrible time trying to get the flan out of the foil and into a dish and then try to get a top on it, but it was worth it! Beautiful taste and texture - next time I'm making my own pastry though!! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2005

      My daughter made this last year for a nut recipe contest. It is so good. I grew up on baklava at every holiday. This is so much easier and resembles the original close enough to satisfy the craving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Walnut Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (123 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 603.0
     
    Calories from Fat 403
    66%
    Total Fat 44.8 g
    69%
    Saturated Fat 16.6 g
    83%
    Cholesterol 57.6 mg
    19%
    Sodium 277.0 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.6 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 26.5 g
    106%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites