Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Greek Yoghurt Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Yoghurt Cake

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on August 25, 2003

      I had people coming over so I made this the night before, left it in the refrigerator and served it the next day, Oh my god Evelyn!!! it was so goood:) I made no changes except for the vanilla extract ( I cant find it anywhere) but I used vanilla powder. Your recipe was given out to 3 ladies, and I'm sure they will also pass it on!!! Thanks for a great recipe Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2004

      Made this recipe for a Mediterranean night we were having for friends. (Started to make tiramisu, but the marscapone cheese was moldy) At any rate - delicious, super moist. Can't help thinking it would be nice with that Italian lemon liqueur drizzled over a tiny dot of ice cream on the side. Guests were delighted and isn't that what it's all about. (I used Balkan style yoghurt - which, I was assured by a dairy company rep, was the same as Greek style. It's a keeper. Te kanis! (sp?)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2003

      Thanks for a great dare Evelyn! I made this using light sour cream since I couldn't find Greek yogurt and I substituted apple juice for the brandy. Thanks for these suggestions! It was so good, my DH ate three huge pieces within the first hour!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      Normally if I change a recipe pretty radically, I wouldn't put a star rating, but since I didn't change the formula of the cake, just the flavor, I feel safe putting in the stars. I didn't have any fresh lemons (and it's pretty clear that is what is required), but I did have some greek yogurt to use up, so I made this as a coconut flavored cake instead of lemon. I used sweetened shredded coconut in the syrup (as well as coconut extract) and just ran the syrup through a strainer and discarded the coconut shreds before I poured over the cake. In the cake itself, I just subbed in the coconut extract instead of lemon. This cake is fantastic! I like the little crunchy bits from the almonds and the syrup makes this cake so moist. Delicious. Evelyn, I know this is not exactly what you had in mind with this cake, but it is a very tasty cake, whatever flavor you decide to use! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      I wasn't overly impressed with this one, and no one else seemed to be either. It wasn't awful... just nothing special. I've gotten rave reviews when I've made Greek Lemon Cake (#170361) and I think I'll be sticking with that one as a great end to my Greek dinners!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      This was unbelievably good! I was afraid that I would mess it up, as I've never made a cake from scratch, but the directions were simple to follow and it turned out wonderfully. A big hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      I tweaked the recipe a little. I reduced the vanilla extract to 1.5 teaspoons, and used Grand Marnier rather than the brandy. I used the grated zest of two lemons in the cake, and no lemon extract because to me that tastes artificial. I skipped the nuts because I don't prefer them, and I changed the syrup recipe to 1 cup sugar, 2 cups water, 1 cup honey, plus the whole zest. I didn't quite use all the syrup. The cake was outstandingly flavorful and moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      I made this for a Mediterranean potluck and, no surprise, it was a hit. I was well into preparation before I realized that I had only white whole wheat flour; there wasn't much I could do at that point so I pressed on. I made sure to beat everything well and the result was tasty and light, a refreshing end to the meal. I softened the butter in the microwave and used the wrappers to butter the cake pan. It took me the better part of an hour getting the cake ready to go into the oven, so prep for a first-timer can be quite a bit longer than the recipe says. My first foray into Greek cuisine was a success! Thanks, Evelyn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      What a beautiful cake, couldn't stop tasting the batter before cooking it even! Made no changes, I will be passing this recipe around everywhere! By the way, this is a great cake even without the syrup, I split the batter into two 9" tins and poured syrup over only 1 to try - it's lovely either way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      Thank you so much for this receipe Evelyn!! It is outstanding. I made this for my family for Easter lunch and they raved and raved about it! I would give this 10 stars if I could. My Greek husband thinks it is exceptional! Will definately make this one again and again. Keeps brilliantly covered in the fridge and stays moist right to the last crumb! Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      Oh my... calories and fat grams are lovely things! Evelyn, this IS good right outta the fridge but it is also great warm... heck I imagine it would be good so hot it burned your taste buds off or so cold it had icicles on it. Hmmm *sheepish grin* get the feeling I liked this?? It was very very good. The only thing I did differently was I used about 2 tbsps. lemon juice in the syrup. It added a very subtle tang along with the milder lemon peel flavor. Not a quick dessert but soooo worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      Fell asleep last nite b4 I got to this review, so I understand now why you're partial to this cake "cold, straight out of the fridge, w/a glass of ice-cold milk." BUT we were also partial to it b4 it made it to the fridge. I halved the recipe & even the half size cake was lrg, but I had a lot of syrup left & will halve that again next time. This moist & lovely, rich cake got my DH's words of ultimate praise when he said "This cake is worth giving up my last ounce of cognac!" This is truly a special recipe. Thx for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Yoghurt Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (330 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 923.0
     
    Calories from Fat 319
    34%
    Total Fat 35.4 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 16.4 g
    82%
    Cholesterol 185.5 mg
    61%
    Sodium 437.8 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 139.6 g
    46%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 106.2 g
    425%
    Protein 12.5 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Greek yogurt

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites