11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good and different salad but I thought that there was a bit too much dressing. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ August 31, 2003

Exactly what I was looking for. Be sure to use highest-quality balsamic and olive oil. I didn't bother emulsifying. Just crushed the garlic and stirred the dressing together. (Note: green beans will steam in 3 - 5 minutes; walnuts will toast in a pan in about the same amount of time stovetop). ETA: This is an exquisite bean salad after it marinades for 48 hrs. Much better than the original 6 hrs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie R. September 17, 2013

This was excellent. We followed the directions, leaving out the anchovies and the walnuts. It was 12-13 minutes in our steamer and due to time we served right after mixing with the vinaigrette. It was still excellent, and we will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kohtzy May 19, 2010

Just what I needed! It gave my ambelofasoula a great taste! DH loved them! Efharisto...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef_in_love August 11, 2008

Oh my heavens...this is delicious! I love the tangy dressing, and the balsamic vinegar goes so well with crisp green beans. I blanched the beans for about 6 minutes, then rinsed them with cold water. We don't care for anchovies too much, so I left them out, and it was great. Also, I used coarsely chopped almonds rather than walnuts. Just a personal preference. Thanks so very much for this recipe, which I will certainly make again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Messy Cook June 22, 2007

I halved this exactly and had no problem with there being too much dressing, I think because I really, really emulsified it! The dressing came out really thick and even 2 hours later was still thick. We will make this again, it was wonderful. Can't wait for our first harvest of beans from our garden! Thanks for posting this, evelyn!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PotPie July 14, 2006

Really enjoyed this as an accompaniment to Island Mango Tilapia (Island Mango Tilapia). I made the salad in the morning and allowed the beans to soak in the dressing for several hours and drained it just before serving. Since I did not include the anchovy, I added a bit of salt to the dressing which helped balance out the garlic and sugar. Yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni July 10, 2006

Nice salad. We are not huge nut fans so I cut back on those and will prob leave them out next time. Loved the flavors in here! Fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) July 08, 2006

Very good. I took the other reviewers' advice and cut back on the vinaigrette. Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 July 05, 2006

We too had too much dressing.. so much so that it seemed to completely overpower the beans. It wasn't a recipe that suited our tastes, suprisingly, because we like most of the seperate ingredients very much. I did leave out the walnuts as DH doesn't like them but for the rest followed the recipe to the letter. Please see my rating system: 3 stars DOESN'T mean this is a bad recipe at all, but just that it suits us personally less... and after all, if you don't try it, you won't know :) Thanks !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 16, 2006
Green Bean Salad in Tangy Vinaigrette