11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is very good. I tried it when I saw it posted on Epicurious, and used fresh mint in the marinade instead of dried. My husband and I had it for dinner with a delicious Greek salad, Trader Joe's Meditteranean hummus and whole wheat pitas and it was amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Corrie in AZ June 08, 2012

This is really good. I used all fresh mint and white sweet onions as they were what I had on hand. I would make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat September 01, 2010

So good! I also did a stove-top version, and just sauteed the onions and stir-fried the marinated chicken pieces. I thought I wanted it more lemon-y so substituted a tbsp. lemon juice for one of the 1st 2 tbsps olive oil, but the lemon flavor was just a bit much so I think I won't do that next time. The mint is the star of the show here; just the right amount. This was wonderful with tabouli salad!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smcsf11 February 02, 2010

Wow! A friend had given me TONS of mint and I wasn't sure what to do with all of it. I thought it would be way to powerful to use in this way but was suprised how mild and pleasant it got when I grilled it. I was concerned about the mint catching fire because another reviewer said they had a probelem with that so I sprayed on a little olive oil before ever placing the kebabs on the grill. Then I basted them with the lemon olive oil mixture. Amazing! so easy and so delicious. I served mine over jasmine rice with a little plain yogurt on the side for dipping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teddy's Mommy September 04, 2008

this was AWESOME! I used fresh mint instead of dried and opted for chicken breasts instead of kebabs and i sauteed the onion with the lemon oil mixture. GREAT recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StrokedOrchid December 01, 2007

Hey...I've made this many times before! Yay, thanks for posting Cheryl! It is awesome and a nice change from your typical bell peppers btwn each chunk of meat kebabs. The chicken is super succulent after little marinade time and these are always a hit with our guests. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liza at Food.com May 07, 2007

Easy and quick to make, and delicious! I used about .75 lb of chicken and baked it in a pan since I don't have a BBQ or grill. Still delicious! Thank you! I tried to give 5 stars but somehow I can't...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atinevenita October 30, 2006

This chicken had a great flavor. I was a little hesitant about the mint at first, but it didn't overpower the dish at all. I didn't have any fresh mint, but even without it the kebabs made a great presentation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPharo July 14, 2006

i was a little nervous about the mint as it is not one of my favorite herbs. in this dish it was so nicely balanced with the other seasonings, garlic and onions. just delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni May 31, 2006

These were so good!!! I loved the flavor of the chicken! So did the rest of my family. Also learned mint is highly flammable(!), so I may cook them on medium low next time. This recipe looks and smells so elegant, and is fun to eat...thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaarin November 05, 2005
Grilled Chicken, Red Onion, and Mint Kebabs