Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Gyro Burgers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gyro Burgers

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on February 22, 2003

      this is delicious and a welcome change from plain old burgers. i used 2 1/2 lbs of beef, and added extra spices. i made the salad dressing but served the salad with the burgers, without the 2 hour marinating time. i also served lettuce, sliced red onion, and tzaziki sauce on the side along with baked potato fries. delicious and a kid pleaser too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2003

      I made these last night for dinner and they were fabulous! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2003

      These are SO good. I made them for guests last night and EVERYONE raved had to give the recipe out!!! My DH gives it a 6M rating "MMMMMM"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2013

      My family loved these! I served them on whole meal burger buns and they were enourmous to say the least. I only marinated mine for 40 minutes (I forgot to do it earlier in the day). Next time I will marinate for much longer as I think the flavours would be even more wonderful. thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      Yum! We really liked these burgers for a change from regular ol ones. I served them in pitas with all the fixings. Thank you for sharing this idea with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      The Best. I used a combination of 1 lb Ground Beef and 1 lb. Ground Lamb. And I doubled the spices, added in 1 tsp of cumin (my fav spice) , let marrinate 3 hours and it made 12 patties which i cut each pattie in to slices before adding to the flat bread... perfect for lunch and dinner for the day. It was an amazing combination and made the best Gyros. Topped off with fresh tomatos, romaine lettuce, onions, Kalmata olives and feta cheese for a perfect tasting homemade gyro, even better than the Medditeranean restaurant we have locally. And I made my own tzatziki sauce using sour cream, garlic, olive oil, S & P to taste, cucumber seeded then shredded. Thanks for the recipe. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      It was pretty good. My husband is middle eastern so we eat heavily spiced food all the time, so this i would at least double the seasoning. We don't like a lot of salt in things, but this we added a little extra. We ate them elongated(cooked all the way through) with lamb and sirloin beef. They turned out great and we ate them oh whole wheat naan with home-made tzatziki sauce(non fat yogurt, cucumber, salt, pepper, dill, garlic, onion powder) The burgers came out Very juicy. we will be making them again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      LEft out the allspice on this one, and we still enjoyed them! Would make again when we have a crowd for something different!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      WOW! These were marvelous! I made them on the grill, per directions. Only thing I did was increase the recipe to feed my son's group of teenage boys. Perfect combination of spice and the texture of the meat was just like that of a Gyro! Very nice, and easy. Thanks so much Heather !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      Excellent burger recipe! I shaped into oblong patties and put in hot dog rolls. Made just like the instructions say and wow, they were good! Thanks Heather for another great burger recipe that we really enjoyed! Mike

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      Phenomenal! I just made the meat part and served it up on fluffy flat bread, romaine, onions, tomatoes and improvised tzaztiki sauce and it was awesome! I made the patties square then sliced them into 4 strips so it was really gyro-like. I'm making this again and again. Thanks for this incredible recipe !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      These were great! They grilled up nicely and I enjoyed the tomato/cuke topping. Served with homemade pitas (Pita on call,,,, half recipe) - a very nice meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      these were really good! i usually use 90% lean beef, but for these/next time i'll go a little crazy/maybe use 80% lean b/c i did't do the ground lamb. all lean beef is a little dry/but that was my fault. great flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      YUMBERINI these were to me! Nothing but empty plates did we see! LOVE combination, healthy too! DEFINATELY a keeper! Thanks for sharing, true!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      Delicious! This recipe makes wonderful gyro burgers; however, I first tried this recipe a day after I tried the Spicy Summer Sausage recipe (#19453), and decided to combine the ideas to make my own gyro meat. I make sausages as indicated in the summer sausage recipe (which is also extremely easy and very good, by the way), but instead of using the summer sausage seasonings, I use the seasonings called for in the Gyro Burger recipe. After cooking the sausages, the "gyro meat" can be sliced thinly and browned in a skillet, then stuffed into pitas. It is also easy to freeze any extra sausages. I do use all beef, because lamb is almost impossible to find where I live, but I would use the lamb, too, if it were available. I also leave out the bread crumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      These were delicious! I substituted beef for the lamb as well, but they tasted the same!! I also made homemade pitas and tzatziki sauce. They were a hit. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      Loved these burgers, HeatherFeather. Perfect on fresh pita with that tomato topping and tzatziki. I added some fresh oregano and doubled the spices, used part ground turkey, and omitted the bread crumbs. Thanks very much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2006

      These were fabulous! We love gyros & this is a true, homemade rendition. I tripled the recipe & followed it exactly. It was easy & fairly quick. We grilled the burgers until they were cooked all the way through. I also made pita bread (#10901) and tzatziki (#59336), along with a yummy greek salad. All 6 of us really enjoyed it (hubby & 4 children) and we are looking forward to the leftovers... Thanks for posting this great recipe. It will go into our favorites folder!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2005

      These really taste like delicious gyros!! Great recipe. I would recommend grilling these well-done even if you usually like a rarer burger. Easy and fun to serve - quick clean-up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2005

      This is all "make ahead". I made the meat mixture and the tomato mixture the day before along with I made Pita Bread "Pita Bread" the day before and also Gyro Sauce Gyro Sauce. For the meal I cooked my burgers on the grill and the rest was easy to assemble. Very Yummy! and WOW dont you just love this web site too.Got all the recipes I need to make it all "homemade".Excellant recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gyro Burgers

    Serving Size: 1 (340 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 827.6
     
    Calories from Fat 417
    50%
    Total Fat 46.4 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 14.0 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 99.2 mg
    33%
    Sodium 1348.0 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.9 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    24%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 37.1 g
    74%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tzatziki

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites