Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Gyro Loaf With Tsatziki Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gyro Loaf With Tsatziki Sauce

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on August 16, 2010

      Outstanding! The meat had a perfect gyro flavor. I followed the ingredient list from this recipe but used Alton Brown's methods which included throwing everything into the food processor and grinding until the meat formed a fine paste. Then I pressed the meat into a loaf pan and baked in a water bath at 325F until the meat reached an internal temp of 165F (about 90 minutes). I believe this method was why the meat was easy to slice thinly. I didn't try your tzatsiki so I can't comment on that. I'll use this recipe again though! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      I made this today with all angus beef-1/2 chuck and 1/2 sirloin. I think the flavor was really good but to get it closer I will use the lamb next time. I don't think of myself as a "lamb eater" since gyro's are the only time I will knowingly eat it:lol: I doubled up the oregano since I used fresh and subbed fresh ground nutmeg for the allspice. I did buy a 7 oz container of Greek yogurt for the sauce which flavorwise is almost 1/2way there before you even add the other ingredients! Found it with the regular yogurt in the Harris Teeter chain in NC. I used 1/2 of a large English cuke (the ones wrapped in plastic) both skin and the few seeds included grated on a medium side of my grater. Used cheesecloth to squeeze out the water. Used double the amount of fresh parsley and fresh dill. Squeeze of lemon juice, pinch of dried crumbled mint and a pinch of sugar. Letting it sit covered in the fridge for a few hours is super important so everything blends together flavorwise. Will keep making this one--I'll even buy lamb for this one only:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2006

      Our favorite gyro place just closed too and I all but begged for the recipe and got nothing. So, I vowed to search out a recipe to make on our own. Well this was my first attempt and it was a good one. This recipe is very different than what we are used to, but still really wonderful! I did use 1/2 beef and 1/2 buffalo because I couldn't find ground lamb. Next time I will search out the lamb. I love this recipe because it is simple (others I saw were a bit more detailed). I also think that the spices could be adjusted to your liking and other spices could be added. In another recipe I saw that they put 2 lbs. of weight on the meat after it was out of the oven to further compact the meat. I did do that, but am not convinced that it did much. Anyway, it still cut up pretty easily and thin. I sauted onions and green peppers and once they were soft I added some of the meat and fried it up too. The meat looked so good and crispy- yum! We served it on toasted pita bread with the your sauce of top, which by the way was fabulous, I wouldn't change it a bit! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2014

      Tastes great. No problem slicing, but then I allowed it to cool to about lukewarm first. Even better prepared the day before and then chilled. Made excellent gyros and sandwiches!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      I made this with all lean ground beef. I used the tips found in the following website & processed the meat while cold in the food processo & baked in a water bath with excellent results. The tzatziki sauce was excellent (even without the cucumber, which I can't wait to make with the cucumber, just didn't have it).<br/>Served with lettuce, onions, feta cheese & pita bread.<br/>It's really worth checking out the website I mentioned (especially the broiling of the meat) to get that authentic gyro! http://www.seriouseats.com/2010/06/greek-american-lamb-gyros-homemade-from-scratch-the-food-lab.html

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2012

      I don't care for lamb, so rating this on my husband's review. I used half ground lamb, half ground beef, and followed the Alton Brown method, as did some other reviewers, of grinding the meats in the food processor, baking in a water bath, and pressing after cooking. Still had some trouble slicing this thin, but maybe needed more time in the food processor before cooking. Served this in pitas with store bought tsatziki and crumbled goat cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      The flavors in this were spot on. But we weren't happy with the texture. I used ground turkey since we never really eat ground beef and maybe there just wasn't enough fat. Also it was hard to slice without it crumbling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      I made the tzatsiki sauce and I'm in love. I doubled the amount of dill because I couldn't get fresh, but the parsley gave it that fresh taste. Also I used greek yogurt, AMAZING. I don't have to go to my favorite greek place anymore. I can make it myself and its better!! =D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      Really good & so easy to make. My only thing is that it's denser than the restaurant gyro and so it's pretty hard to cut thin. Don't get me wrong, it has a pretty authentic taste but you need very little in your gyro since it's so thick. I didn't try making the Tsatziki sauce since Costco sells an authentic one for a great price.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Great recipe. Really rich so slice thin :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      This is an excellent recipe...the spices were perfect for us. I did look for lamb and could not find any so I just used the beef but they were still great!!! Also, as I wanted a quick meal, I just rolled the beef into balls and flattened them, then pan fried them. One other thing I would like to mention is that while I am no gyro expert, I do love them and have ordered them all around the country. Most times I can taste the cinnamon and allspice and to me, that is what makes them authentic. This is the only recipe that I could find that included these two spices and it was truly great!! Thanks Mercy for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      This was really good. They didn't have ground lamb, so I used only ground beef. Next time I will heat up the meat strips like other reviewers stated instead of having them room temp. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Yummmo! Thanks for posting ....was a perfect and less expensive fix than going out! My husband is thrilled!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      Loved it! I was amazed by how well it held together without "binders". The only changes I made was using beef and pork instead of beef and lamb, and added a little splenda to the tsatziki sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      This turned out really well. Just to let you know it works with ground turkey as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      This is the best recipe I have found for these!! Great job! I get many wonderful comments on the sauce. I also brought these once for camping, in our trailer. Let me tell you how fantastic they were in the out doors!! Plus i made all fellow campers hungry =) thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      Living rural has drawbacks sometimes--no gyros is one of them. This recipe fills that void, and who knew it's SO easy to prepare? Slices up nicely and tastes great. Thank you, Mercy, for creating this great recipe and sharing it with us gyro junkies too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      YUMMY as can be! DEFINATELY keeper this is for me! Like last reviewer, reduced baking time I did do, So thank you from me to you! In one hour's time, was more than ready, TRUE! Used own tsatziki sauce, VERY economical dish too! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      This was very good. I only used the loaf recipe. Next time I will reduce the baking time. It was a little well done (my fault).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      NOTE: THIS REVIEW IS ONLY FOR THE TSATZIKI and it was delicious! I'm a vegetarian but I needed a tsatziki recipe and found this one, it was easy and awsome! I used it as a dressing for tendollarwine's recipe for vegan falafel salad, which I recommend to anyone who enjoys falafel. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gyro Loaf With Tsatziki Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 354.4
     
    Calories from Fat 248
    70%
    Total Fat 27.5 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 94.9 mg
    31%
    Sodium 460.2 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 21.2 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes