33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is an excellent recipe...the spices were perfect for us. I did look for lamb and could not find any so I just used the beef but they were still great!!! Also, as I wanted a quick meal, I just rolled the beef into balls and flattened them, then pan fried them. One other thing I would like to mention is that while I am no gyro expert, I do love them and have ordered them all around the country. Most times I can taste the cinnamon and allspice and to me, that is what makes them authentic. This is the only recipe that I could find that included these two spices and it was truly great!! Thanks Mercy for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef JenR December 14, 2009

This was really good. They didn't have ground lamb, so I used only ground beef. Next time I will heat up the meat strips like other reviewers stated instead of having them room temp. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherN June 18, 2009

Yummmo! Thanks for posting ....was a perfect and less expensive fix than going out! My husband is thrilled!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FromKatesKitchen January 29, 2009

Loved it! I was amazed by how well it held together without "binders". The only changes I made was using beef and pork instead of beef and lamb, and added a little splenda to the tsatziki sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princesslisa of a galaxy far far away January 23, 2009

This turned out really well. Just to let you know it works with ground turkey as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tunamanphd December 23, 2008

This is the best recipe I have found for these!! Great job! I get many wonderful comments on the sauce. I also brought these once for camping, in our trailer. Let me tell you how fantastic they were in the out doors!! Plus i made all fellow campers hungry =) thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommy lyon October 20, 2008

Living rural has drawbacks sometimes--no gyros is one of them. This recipe fills that void, and who knew it's SO easy to prepare? Slices up nicely and tastes great. Thank you, Mercy, for creating this great recipe and sharing it with us gyro junkies too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers August 17, 2008

YUMMY as can be! DEFINATELY keeper this is for me! Like last reviewer, reduced baking time I did do, So thank you from me to you! In one hour's time, was more than ready, TRUE! Used own tsatziki sauce, VERY economical dish too! THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder August 09, 2008

This was very good. I only used the loaf recipe. Next time I will reduce the baking time. It was a little well done (my fault).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skiingpeaches July 28, 2008

NOTE: THIS REVIEW IS ONLY FOR THE TSATZIKI and it was delicious! I'm a vegetarian but I needed a tsatziki recipe and found this one, it was easy and awsome! I used it as a dressing for tendollarwine's recipe for vegan falafel salad, which I recommend to anyone who enjoys falafel. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Cook Therefore I Am July 12, 2008
Gyro Loaf With Tsatziki Sauce