Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Gyro Loaf With Tsatziki Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gyro Loaf With Tsatziki Sauce

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-33 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on June 19, 2008

      Texture was perfect; flavor was close, but not quite gyro... I used lamb breast cuts and 'ground' them in the food processor. The flavor improved by aging in the fridge for a few days, and by grilling the slices. Ground beef gave it a distinct meatloaf flavor. A bit of MSG added to the sauce gave the meat the right savory flavor -- you know it's in the restaurant version... NEXT TIME: I'll use 100% lamb; double the amount of spice; substitute clove or nutmeg for the allspice; and add 1-2 tsp MSG (ve-tsin).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      I have made this recipe several times. My family really enjoys it. I make exactly as stated except sometimes I substitute yogurt for the sour cream. The only change I've had to make is the baking time. Its too dry for me and cut it down 20 minutes. The flavor is great and the best recipe I've found.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      very good recipe its taste is like a gyro shop. had to use veal could not find ground lamb in fact the bucther laught at me when i asked for gound lamb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      We like lamb, but cannot commit to a leg roast. This really solves the problem. I have made these with all lamb, all beef, and a combo. I make these as burgers and grill or pan fry them. Sometimes I add egg and oats to lighten the texture and extend the volume. The flavor of these is great and the tsatziki makes a great topping and is verstile as a dip. Thanks for a great recipe and an easy way to put another protein in our diet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      Review is for tsatziki sauce only. This sauce was very good, but will use fresh garlic next time and will also try subbing yogurt for the sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      This is the absolute BEST gyro meat and tsatziki sauce we've tried, bar none! The cinnamon and allspice add a distinct flavor that's really addicting, and the sauce is thick and creamy. DH has made this recipe several times already. This is definitely in our permanent recipe box!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      We have been on a gyro kick ever since a new Mediterranean restaurant opened up near our house. I have always loved gyros, but DH had never tried them before - now he's hooked too! I finally found some ground lamb to be able to make this recipe, and were we ever pleased! I sliced the loaf very very thin & warmed/browned it in a frying pan, served it with the sauce (which I made with plain yogurt instead of sour cream), as well as sliced onions & chopped black olives on flatbread. Excellent!! Thanks so much for posting -M =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      For the meat part, I used all beef but kept the seasonings the same. I made it into hamburgers which I pan broiled, and served them with the tsatziki on the side. I made only minor adjustments in the tsatziki based on what ingredients I had. It was superb! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      Mmmmm! The only changes I made were to use 3/4 lb or ground lamb and 1.25 of extra lean ground beef, plus I made the sauce with light sour cream. Ground lamb was indeed hard to find and expensive. Anyway, this was surprisingly easy to make, smelled wonderful while it was cooking and really filled tasted like a gyro. This one is a keeper. Thanks, Mercy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2006

      This was great. Both my boys loved it. We served it on tortilla because we did not have pita bread. The sauce really makes it. Thanks for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      Amazing flavor! I made the meat mixture and formed littles balls to use as an appetizer. Roasted them at 375F for 15 minutes. Served them with the sauce. They were delicious and very popular as an appetizer at a party we attended. My husband wants me to make this recipe again soon. I might put LARavenscroft's freezer idea to work because ground lamb is hard to find and we really did love this recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2005

      We used the recipes just for the sauce, bought the gyro meat at the deli, and had a terrific meal right at home. The only gyro places around here are in the mall- talk about ambiance (lol), but we are crazy about gyros.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2005

      This is wonderful!!! When our favorite Gyro place closed, we just had to find a substitute and this recipe fits the bill. I can't always find ground lamb so when I do find it, I buy it and make patties for the grill and put them in the freezer instead of making a loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gyro Loaf With Tsatziki Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 354.4
     
    Calories from Fat 248
    70%
    Total Fat 27.5 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 94.9 mg
    31%
    Sodium 460.2 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 21.2 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes