93 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My husband loved this recipe. It's perfect with the cucumber yogurt sauce. We'll definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megan.k.chaney April 28, 2009

So easy to make and quick when everyone is starving and you don't have a clue what to have! DH and I enjoyed them so much in some rolls for lunch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ImACookingDiva March 13, 2009

Delicious and easy--my kind of recipe! Done in 5 minutes per patty on my George Foreman Grill.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlaskaStephanie February 22, 2009

This was very good, it tasted just like the kind my favorite street vendor sells. It did make my house smell funny for a few days, though! It was very easy to make, thank goodness, because my fiance asks for it all the time! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
minnie chef February 22, 2009

Wow - this was great! I was kind of skeptical, but it really tasted like the real thing - only less greasy. I didn't think the texture would be right, but it was. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferK2 February 12, 2009

I made the gyro meat as iinstructed, but made smaller finger-shaped patties (think kafta). I broiled them a little longer because I had the broiler set at a lower temperature. I served the meat on Arabic Pita bread and made Shaye's yogurt recipe with some small changes. I used low fat sour cream instead of yogurt and added a tablespoon of Tahina. DH LOVED this recipe and had seconds, and I loved it as well. Thanks Shaye!!! Update 1-25-09 "OMG I don't know how I forgot about this recipe, but I made it again today and my husband polished off nearly all the meat himself. This time I made it as instructed, I think. I formed the meat into 4 hamburger-like patties, then flipped them over half-way through broiling. When both sides looked beautiful and a little crispy, I allowed them to cool while I sliced up my tomatoes, then sliced up the meat into long thin strips. DH went crazy for this meal. *I never broil food, so is it normal for thick smoke to fill the house or did I do something wrong?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camel_Cracker January 25, 2009

These are pretty good with beef, I'm sure they're even better with lamb. You can't beat the ease or time of this recipe. I put these in wheat pitas and used Gyro Sauce recipe 57747 (with yogurt).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renegade Chef January 05, 2009

I did it with ground turkey, tasted great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wetazn4u6669 January 02, 2009

This was very good for something a little different. My only complaint (and this is probably my fault) is that the meat was a little dry. Next time I'll try not to cook it as long!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tim964 November 05, 2008
Gyro Meat