93 Reviews

My DH loves gyros and there aren't any good places around here. We decided to make these together. they were perfect and very easy! We also made your cucumber sauce. We did make a few small changes (of course) Doubled the recipe, but used half pork that we ground and half ground turkey. Loved the texture. We also rolled the meat flat, between layers of wax paper, cut into strips and broiled. Thanks for a great recipe!! We'll be doing this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
me & alex January 04, 2008

Simple, excellent recipe for those of us who love gyros. I used 80/20 ground beef and (as suggested by the recipe) reduced the pepper. The results were great - the only problem now is portion control! I'll definitely be making this again, but in much larger batches. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stingo November 08, 2007

I'd like to give this recipe 100 stars. I love gyros sandwiches from little Greek shops and this gyros meat tastes just like what I'm used to getting. The recipe is so easy that I didn't think it was true, but it is. I followed the directions exactly (all lamb) and it was wonderful. Served in warm pitas with red onion, tomato and yogurt sauce. SOOO GOOD.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BabyKEsq October 06, 2007

I used 1 pound ground turkey and 1 pound of ground buffalo cause that is all I had, doubled the seasoning. I have to say this will be a regular in my house, it was FANTASTIC!! I served the burgers on toasted sourdough with provolone, raw baby spinach leaves and tomatoes. One of the best burgers we've had and soooo easy, THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaec October 03, 2007

I was told that I should open a Greek restaurant after trying this recipe. Really is outstanding. I used half ground beef and half ground pork, and really...great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakerJC September 30, 2007

It is hard to find lamb where I live, so I went with all ground beef that other reviewers said worked. I was excited to try this recipe, but also hesistant because I couldn't see how this would not taste like flavored cooked hamburger. I also wondered how one thinly slices cooked hamburger meat without it crumbling. Well after reading everyones rave reviews using ground beef, I still had my doubts but I gave it a try. Well it turned out just like I thought, flavored hamburger meat, that crumbled mostly when sliced. So I guess I will try all lamb next time so I can give it a fair review, all ground beef just does not do it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ridgely August 14, 2007

smelled just like gyros. i had never cooked with lamb before so I was hesitant. I used 1/2 ground lamb and 1/2 ground beef. I cooked the meat like I was making tacos instead of making it into a loaf. Next time I will try the loaf. The pita bread split almost immediately, so we ended up adding lettuce, banana peppers and feta and having a gyro salad instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suzmollman June 08, 2007

We loved, loved, loved this!! Yummy gyros from my own broiler and low fat! Life is good! I used all sirloin beef because lamb is hard to find in my little village. I made 3 patties, broiled them 6 minutes, flipped them and broiled them another 10 minutes until they were good and crusty brown. After I sliced them (I too, was amazed that they didn't crumble), I spread out the slices and popped them back under the broiler for another minute or so. We love the crusty part ;-). I served it with Tzatziki Tzatziki. Umm-umm! So close to the real thing, and so much better then the "kits" at the market.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb Wolf May 17, 2007

WOW! I used this with ground beef and Thai garlic! What a wonderful substitute for the real thing! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doxie lover in the Rock 2 May 07, 2007

Wow! I had half of a leg of lamb left after making Indian Lamb Wraps so I ran it through my Kitchenaid meat grinder attachment. This was awesome! I took the leftover meat along camping and made simple sandwiches with ranch dressing and Tabboule. The others are right ... this didn't crumble as I expected and was a treat for the palate! Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvinlif2k May 01, 2007
Gyro Meat