10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

TO DIE FOR!!! I used 1 T. chili powder being that this was the first time I made this. I also halved the cinnamon as I was a little nervous to use so much! I mixed 3 teaspoons with 3/4 lb ground lamb and 1 1/2 lb ground chuck with a generous squirt of fresh lemon juice, a crushed clove of garlic, and a chopped onion. I let the mixture sit all morning and made up patties in the evening. We grilled them and made them into Gyros burgers as Dh forgot to pick up pitas! Even the kids ate every last drop and as picky as they are that's a miracle! This mix will become a staple in our house, I can't wait to try it with other meats! Thanks Annelies!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. April 21, 2003

Not right, not good. This spice mix is like no gyro I've ever had. It's not horrible and won't make you sick, but it's also not authentic or right-tasting at all. I tried it based on the reviews, but the resulting taste is not right at all. I recognize that it includes much cumin and coriander, not enough garlic. Otherwise, I don't know what is missing or excessive--which is why I looked for a recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elsieoh August 21, 2012

Fantastic!!! I Love, Love, LOVE this seasoning! I put it on top sirloin and slice thin. I also put the seasoning on oven fries to serve with the gyros. I dip the fries in the cucumber sauce and it is wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendylynn50 February 14, 2011

Excellent flavor combination! Made just as posted and it was delicious! I rubbed chicken tenders with the spice mix, placed them into a greased baking dish & poured in a little white wine. Baked until they were done (about 15 minutes). I was eating alone tonight so I can't wait til the whole family is home & we can actually make gyros with it! Thanks so much for posting, Pets! :) Made & enjoyed for the May 2010 LiveSTRONG cookathon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** May 07, 2010

Wonderful spice mix! I used this to make my first gyros. I know lamb is authentic, but we used hamburger and it was wonderful. I am going to mix up some more of this to keep on hand. I used Tzatziki "Mean Chef's Tzatziki". Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feej August 02, 2007

Most Gyros I've made are bland. Finally, something that has some flavor! We LOVED these!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scratchcook July 21, 2007

Excellent mix of spices! Not being scared of a 'kick' however I did take on board Derf's comments and added two teaspoons of cayenne pepper, and used a hot variety of chili powder and paprika.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J September 18, 2006

Thank you for this recipe. I had 3 last minute small christmas gifts to get, so I trotted off to my local bulk binn store and for under $2 each was able to make up 3 jars of this mix. I included a copy of the recipe and popped them into gift bags.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackandfiona December 17, 2004

We had a bbq the other night & I had to try this rub. Which is exactly what we used it as, just as is on a few pieces of scotch fillet.... to die for, flavour was fabulous.. Definitely a keeper, shall cartainly be trying this spice mix in other things in ther future. Thanks... Spinner

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah! October 01, 2003

This spice mix is very tastey, but did I miss something? Couldn't find the kick. I used it as a rub and before I rubbed, as suggested I added a bit of olive oil,Lemon zest and some juice, also added salt. It was a very good taste but I guess we expected some heat. I followed the recipe exactly and used about half of it, stored the rest for later. We really did enjoy it, it just wasn't what we expected. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf July 27, 2003
Gyros Spice Mix with a kick