Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Gyros Spice Mix with a kick Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gyros Spice Mix with a kick

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2003

      TO DIE FOR!!! I used 1 T. chili powder being that this was the first time I made this. I also halved the cinnamon as I was a little nervous to use so much! I mixed 3 teaspoons with 3/4 lb ground lamb and 1 1/2 lb ground chuck with a generous squirt of fresh lemon juice, a crushed clove of garlic, and a chopped onion. I let the mixture sit all morning and made up patties in the evening. We grilled them and made them into Gyros burgers as Dh forgot to pick up pitas! Even the kids ate every last drop and as picky as they are that's a miracle! This mix will become a staple in our house, I can't wait to try it with other meats! Thanks Annelies!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2012

      Not right, not good. This spice mix is like no gyro I've ever had. It's not horrible and won't make you sick, but it's also not authentic or right-tasting at all. I tried it based on the reviews, but the resulting taste is not right at all. I recognize that it includes much cumin and coriander, not enough garlic. Otherwise, I don't know what is missing or excessive--which is why I looked for a recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      Fantastic!!! I Love, Love, LOVE this seasoning! I put it on top sirloin and slice thin. I also put the seasoning on oven fries to serve with the gyros. I dip the fries in the cucumber sauce and it is wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      Excellent flavor combination! Made just as posted and it was delicious! I rubbed chicken tenders with the spice mix, placed them into a greased baking dish & poured in a little white wine. Baked until they were done (about 15 minutes). I was eating alone tonight so I can't wait til the whole family is home & we can actually make gyros with it! Thanks so much for posting, Pets! :) Made & enjoyed for the May 2010 LiveSTRONG cookathon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      Wonderful spice mix! I used this to make my first gyros. I know lamb is authentic, but we used hamburger and it was wonderful. I am going to mix up some more of this to keep on hand. I used Tzatziki "Mean Chef's Tzatziki". Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      Most Gyros I've made are bland. Finally, something that has some flavor! We LOVED these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2006

      Excellent mix of spices! Not being scared of a 'kick' however I did take on board Derf's comments and added two teaspoons of cayenne pepper, and used a hot variety of chili powder and paprika.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2004

      Thank you for this recipe. I had 3 last minute small christmas gifts to get, so I trotted off to my local bulk binn store and for under $2 each was able to make up 3 jars of this mix. I included a copy of the recipe and popped them into gift bags.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2003

      We had a bbq the other night & I had to try this rub. Which is exactly what we used it as, just as is on a few pieces of scotch fillet.... to die for, flavour was fabulous.. Definitely a keeper, shall cartainly be trying this spice mix in other things in ther future. Thanks... Spinner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2003

      This spice mix is very tastey, but did I miss something? Couldn't find the kick. I used it as a rub and before I rubbed, as suggested I added a bit of olive oil,Lemon zest and some juice, also added salt. It was a very good taste but I guess we expected some heat. I followed the recipe exactly and used about half of it, stored the rest for later. We really did enjoy it, it just wasn't what we expected. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gyros Spice Mix with a kick

    Serving Size: 1 (45 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 133.4
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    36%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 289.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 13.7 g
    55%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites