12 Reviews

Tasty, colorful and so fresh-tasting! I made no changes to the recipe other than layering the ingredients for presentation. This is a great way to use the fresh summer produce with a greek flair. Thanx for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* May 26, 2012

This was a really yummy salad! The only change I made was not to add the green bell peppers (just because I don't like raw peppers) and it still turned out great! I didn't even tell my husband that the recipe called for green bell peppers and he still gave it rave reviews!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Polar Bear February 13, 2006

This is a wonderful salad. I used 1 green pepper and 1 red pepper. I increased the olive oil and olives and added lemon juice and black pepper. I had a small amount leftover so ate it the next day. It's even better the second day. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea in NH November 29, 2005

Being Greek-born I appreciate recipes with tons of flavor, especially recipes with feta cheese, and this happens to be one of them. I had cucumbers from my garden still in the fridge wrapped tightly with plastic wrap to preserve them, and I wanted to use some up. I was impressed with this salad. I increased the olive oil and kalamata olives and added black pepper, lots of black pepper! We enjoyed this salad tonight and will make it again soon! thanks for sharing, Kittencal:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz November 07, 2005

Fabulous eleventh hour find for the Zaar World Tour! I followed PanNan’s suggestion and added lemon juice and fresh ground pepper (thank you, PanNan), and I used red peppers instead of green – simply because I find them more flavoursome. I love it that this is a salad I can make and take to work for lunches for a few days, that it’s not a “serve immediately” salad! I love all the ingredients in this salad, but particularly those kalamata olives. I’ll be making this often, Little Italy! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder November 06, 2005

Made this salad for dinner, but did not have the red onion....had to use a Vadilia...did not matter, it was still a fantastic salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen November 05, 2005

Paula G's photo convinced me to try this salad and I am so glad I did! I also added the lemon juice and some fresh pepper!!! Oh my! thanks Megan!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper November 04, 2005

Very good! After reading the reviews, I follwed PanNan and added lemon juice and fresh ground pepper. Also, I was able to reduce the olive oil by half. This is something I will be making again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG November 02, 2005

I used lemon juice also, it made an awesome salad! Thank you Little Italy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP November 02, 2005

Oh how I loved this. I think I found a new salad. This is so good. I did leave out the green pepper as I do not care for it but I don't think that makes a big difference. It has everything in it I love and with the olives, they give a very deep flavor you do not get from regular olives

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Auntie Jan November 01, 2005
Horiatiki (Greek Villagers Salad)