21 Reviews

Such "Excellent" recipe. Love it!!!.. I always use this one. Along with the Paprika to serve, I add some shelled Pine Nuts to garnish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
renrcan May 17, 2015

exactly the recipe i've been looking for. thinned it out a little more with a little more oil, water, and some yoghurt. perfect

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IAteMyGluestick May 23, 2013

Lovely, versatile dip and so authentic. Made this a couple of times, but kept forgetting to review it. I always follow the recipe to a T because the one time I didn't (used less tahini), it felt heavy and too garlicky.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HungryMeriQuiteContrary March 30, 2012

I've made this recipe several times and it is consistantly excellent....just the way we like humus. The last time addes about 1 Tbsp of Franks Hot Sauce and served with the New Black Bean & Garlic Corn Chips...awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Schinker August 03, 2011

I just got done making this and yum yum. I only had about 6 tbsp of the sesame seeds to puree and used a little more than half a can of chickpeas. I also added red pepper. So good. I don't think I'm going to tell my husband I made some and keep it all for myself!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bettysue82 March 19, 2009

Great Recipe! I love hummus and hate paying so much for it in the grocery store. This is the firs time that I have made it at home and this was a home run!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charli B February 07, 2009

SO Good! II LOVE food from the Middle East I use to travel to Israel a LOT and that's what this reminds me of - not the american version of Humus! I used White beans -because it's what I had on hand! I LOVE this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FeingoldMom September 14, 2008

Delicious and easy. I've made this 3 times so far and love that I can just throw it all in the blender and have it come out perfectly. My only recommendations are to scale back a bit on the lemon juice -- maybe 7 tbsp instead of 10 -- and to increase the garlic from 2 cloves to 3-4 cloves if you're planning on eating it right after making it rather than letting it sit in the fridge to let the flavor permeate the mix for the next day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Never trust a skinny cook April 10, 2008

Really good and easy to make. When I made this today I cut back on the tahini and added a bit of cumin based on other reviews. In addition to serving with bread, it's a great alternative to cream based dips and goes well with corn chips (lime flavored are my favorites with this).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimi Rockefeller March 16, 2008
Hummus, Hommos, Humus