10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My family loves Jim's Spaghetti, it's a classic and always amazing. We live about an hour away from Jim's and crave it frequently. I made this one Sunday when the craving couldn't be quenched as they are closed on Sundays and Mondays. I was so pleased at finding this recipe. I had to downsize the amount since I only had about 1.5 pounds of ground beef. I also had to substitue some italian seasoning for the oregeno and bay leaf. I used a little taco seasoning for chili powder and dried minced onion was the only thing I had to use. I turned out delish and all of our tummys were happy. Thanks for the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Big Ole BLT February 26, 2012

I live near Jim's but have never eaten there. I have made this sauce and it is delicious. It is my favorite pasketti sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Richard Noggin February 10, 2012

YUMMY! Since I don't live near Huntington, WV anymore, I was so pleased to find this recipe. And even more pleased to find that it tasted VERY close to Jim's. I've made it 5-6 times since I discovered this recipe just a couple of months ago. Great to feed a crowd and so easy, you'll swear it shouldn't be that good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannahlab December 21, 2009

I was very undecided between rating this a 4 or a 5. This sauce is very good, the long slow cooking makes for a full-bodied flavor, and the the sauce is very meaty and thick. However, I prefer less of a chili flavor and more of a Italian herb flavor to my spaghetti sauce. This makes a lot of sauce, which is challenging to mix together and equally challenging to brown the mixture unless you have extremely large bowls and skillets. That said, it was quite good and I am looking forward to using the remainder whcih is currently in my freezer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue August 22, 2009

I made this last night My husband thought it was really great! I liked it, but it was to sweet for me. I am giving it 5 stars because it is so different it should be tried, very soft meat good flavor, will make again with less sugar thank you for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef susan from Sandpoint,Idaho February 24, 2009

Jim's has been my favorite since I was a little girl. But I don't live in Huntington anymore, and since my grandma died last year, I don't visit that much. So, all I can say is THANK YOU!!! This sauce is just like Jim's. Now, if only I had the recipe for Tudor's biscuits!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
messystation December 02, 2008

I cut the recipe in half, but we loved this sauce - it has great flavor and texture. I can see why Jim's has stayed in business for over 60 years.. Will definitely make again, thanks for the post!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steve in FL January 15, 2008

Has been a favorite of mine for years.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wb8gdy October 24, 2007

Excellent sauce recipe. Tastes just like Jim's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbolyard October 13, 2007

I've made this twice now and it is definitely a keeper. My grown son loves it. I only use 3 lbs. of ground chuck and I use red wine vinegar. Everything else I used as written. I love the texture of the finished product. Not a traditional Italian sauce, but very very good, and a nice change.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anni September 03, 2006
Jim's Spaghetti House Sauce