Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Jim's Spaghetti House Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jim's Spaghetti House Sauce

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 26, 2012

      My family loves Jim's Spaghetti, it's a classic and always amazing. We live about an hour away from Jim's and crave it frequently. I made this one Sunday when the craving couldn't be quenched as they are closed on Sundays and Mondays. I was so pleased at finding this recipe. I had to downsize the amount since I only had about 1.5 pounds of ground beef. I also had to substitue some italian seasoning for the oregeno and bay leaf. I used a little taco seasoning for chili powder and dried minced onion was the only thing I had to use. I turned out delish and all of our tummys were happy. Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2012

      I live near Jim's but have never eaten there. I have made this sauce and it is delicious. It is my favorite pasketti sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      YUMMY! Since I don't live near Huntington, WV anymore, I was so pleased to find this recipe. And even more pleased to find that it tasted VERY close to Jim's. I've made it 5-6 times since I discovered this recipe just a couple of months ago. Great to feed a crowd and so easy, you'll swear it shouldn't be that good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      I was very undecided between rating this a 4 or a 5. This sauce is very good, the long slow cooking makes for a full-bodied flavor, and the the sauce is very meaty and thick. However, I prefer less of a chili flavor and more of a Italian herb flavor to my spaghetti sauce. This makes a lot of sauce, which is challenging to mix together and equally challenging to brown the mixture unless you have extremely large bowls and skillets. That said, it was quite good and I am looking forward to using the remainder whcih is currently in my freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      I made this last night My husband thought it was really great! I liked it, but it was to sweet for me. I am giving it 5 stars because it is so different it should be tried, very soft meat good flavor, will make again with less sugar thank you for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      Jim's has been my favorite since I was a little girl. But I don't live in Huntington anymore, and since my grandma died last year, I don't visit that much. So, all I can say is THANK YOU!!! This sauce is just like Jim's. Now, if only I had the recipe for Tudor's biscuits!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      I cut the recipe in half, but we loved this sauce - it has great flavor and texture. I can see why Jim's has stayed in business for over 60 years.. Will definitely make again, thanks for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      Has been a favorite of mine for years.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      Excellent sauce recipe. Tastes just like Jim's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2006

      I've made this twice now and it is definitely a keeper. My grown son loves it. I only use 3 lbs. of ground chuck and I use red wine vinegar. Everything else I used as written. I love the texture of the finished product. Not a traditional Italian sauce, but very very good, and a nice change.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jim's Spaghetti House Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (390 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 547.9
     
    Calories from Fat 285
    52%
    Total Fat 31.7 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 12.5 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 125.1 mg
    41%
    Sodium 1970.2 mg
    82%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 23.2 g
    93%
    Protein 36.1 g
    72%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes