Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Kale and White Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kale and White Beans

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 17, 2009

      This is great! I made the mistake of leaving some of the kale stems. Don't do that! It makes it tough and fibrous. OTherwise this was a 5 star for health and delicious flavor!!! Thanks so much Hinkle!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      Wow! This totally rocked my socks. I'm vegan, so i skipped the cheese part, but it was still phenomenal. The sweetness of the sauce paired with the mildly peppery taste of the kale was super nice. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      Delicious! My son doesn't like kale or beans and he loved this. I normally have a good sense of what a recipe is going to taste like by reading the ingredients, but this unique combination had me in anticipation. I used swiss cheese and added a little extra brown sugar. Enjoyed by all!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      We absolutely loved this! My husband says he could have finished off the pan by himself (and nearly did!). The bunch of kale I got from my CSA was smaller than I had anticipated, so I chopped up some broccoli and added it just before the kale. I think I steamed it a little to much, but the flavours were amazing nonetheless. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Excellent!! This is our favorite kale dish! We actually crave this dish!! Did not make any changes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      As a vegetarian I am always looking for complete dishes. To me this dish was not only complete, but absolutely delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      This is delicious! Had no Asiago cheese, so used Parmesean. Had a little piece of rare steak in the fridge. Sliced it thin, made a well in the center of the food and added the steak during the last minutes, just to heat it. Was a complete meal. Next time will decrease the amount of olive oil and add a couple of tablespoons of chicken broth in order to cut calories and fat content. My husband said it was "Okay," then proceeded to eat 3 helpings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2012

      You don't have to have tomatos, which I didn't, for this to be delicious!
      I used much less than recommended brown sugar too, I like my sugar in desert;) still was sweet enough--I eat kale often--sooo good for you(!)and with the beans, it's got everything for a full meal: greens and protein, I cooked in wok, delicious and healthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2011

      Actually, would go with 4 1/2 stars and to get it to 5, would cut back on the brown sugar a bit and bump up the balsamic a little. As for cooking times, under-done kale is not fun, so I would go longer in the phase before lid goes on, and even the 5 min. with lid isn't that crucial; can sit a bit longer as you finish making a salad, perhaps. Otherwise, a very tasty and different flavor profile to get those good greens into your diet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      I thought this was good, but not great. The kale was a little tough, and it was fresh from my neighbor's garden, so I just wonder if it needed to be cooked longer. But I was wondering if I was about to cook it TOO long, because the recipe states to not let it get soft. So not sure about that. The flavor was good, but again, just not so great that I'll want to make it again. I do not think I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Amazing recipe...just wanted to use up a little bit of kale...what a wonderful surprise...so much flavor for so little effort...this is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      I really dislike beans, this was a great way to disguise them. A sweet and very unuasual dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      Excellent and a total surpise. The kids even ate it and they are not big greens fans. It has a different, very good flavor; more "down home" than savory. I used small white beans and accidentally doubled them. I used 4 plum tomatoes. Thanks Hinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kale and White Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (127 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 287.9
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    43%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 302.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    23%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh kale

    asiago cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites