Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Keftedakia (Greek Meatballs) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Keftedakia (Greek Meatballs)

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on April 17, 2011

      These were awesome! We used all ground beef because we didn't have ground pork, but they were delicious. My husband grew up in Greece and said they taste just like his Grandmother's! Thank you for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      I mixed all of the ingredients together at the same time, subbed 1/2 lb of Andouille sausage for the pork, upped the garlic to 7 cloves, substituted sambuca for ouzo, and baked them in the oven @ 350 for 25 minutes. Delicious! I am serving them with a yogurt mint sauce. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      My Greek grandmother used to make these for me all the time when I was a child. I adored them. Given my grandmother's cooking style (no measuring tools needed), I never did get the recipe. This recipe is spot on just like she used to make, absolutely perfect. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! Now, if only I could persuade you to put up a paxamadia recipe, we'd be all set. Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      Oh my, I forgot to add the salt. That said, and salted after cooking, these came out really good. Ouzo is a must, I made half with and half without and you could tell something was missing. I used fresh herbs since I didn't have any dried. I made the tatziki but didn't feel they needed it. Served with a nice tomato and cuke salad with a side of greek rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2003

      With respect to the poster, this turned out beyond horrid. I followed the recipe to the letter. The meat mixture was too moist to hold together into meatballs, so I attempted to stirfry it loosely to serve over rice. The taste was terribly bland & the appearance was completely unappetizing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2014

      Made this to test it out but wasn't too impressed with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      These were very yummy and hit the spot..served with non fat cucumber garlic sause. Couple changes, Im on Dukan diet so I didnt add milk and bread. Used fresh mint as I couldnt find dry- I didnt change anything else. Baked at 400 for 30 min. A

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

      Really happy to find this recipe. I made this for Christmas eve buffet and served the at room temperature with yogurt mint sauce and Peloponnese brand Sweet Pepper Spread. I thought they were quite good and people seemed to like them but there was a LOT of food competing for attention. The next day, heated in some spinach and served over rice they were fantastic. Next time I will cook them a day earlier.
      I pretty much followed the recipe (using Eatwell Farm Thyme Salt instead of plain), refrigerated the mixture overnight and baked them at 350 degrees F. for about 15 minutes. Next time I'll try higher heat to see if it makes them browner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      Great meatballs. I serve with orzo salad and fresh corn on the cob.
      Have many left so froze and will have again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

    • on June 01, 2010

      I loved these, although I did omit the bread and milk, and instead of making meatballs I shaped them into little patties and threw them on the BBQ! Rolled them up in warmed pita bread with tzasiki, tomatoes, cucumbers and chevre! Absolutely delicious and a big thumbs up from hubby.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      I experimented making these to see if I should serve them at my party next week. Even though I sampled some of the ouzo while they were cooking, I do recall they were wonderful-- and a "must" for the party! (Later note: I have used suggestions made by Cheap Thrills. I also make small meatballs as an appetizer served with tzatziki sauce sauce.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      These are really good. Mint is not overpowering, like I thought, but is nice. Next time I would use more feta, as I could hardly taste it when cooked. I baked one batch, and figured out these are best baked at 400 deg for about 25-30 minutes. I fried the rest, which does lend more flavor (use only olive oil, though). Cool on a rack set over a baking sheet. These are especially good tucked into pita pockets, topped with tzatziki and tomatoes. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      These were very dry and something was mising, may be the ouzo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      Wonderful, flavorful meatballs. I didn't have any ouzo, but they were great nevertheless. Used them to make Ooey-Gooey Meatball Submarine Sandwich and they were perfect for the task! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      Thank you, Ev! Another BIG hit at the annual Greek dinner party! I will make this one regularly for us, too. The ability to freeze them is such a time saver! Really appreciate the tip in the recipe. I wish the description had mentioned the 1 hour refrigeration, though. That almost got me! You're the best, Ev! :-) DH says "Efharistoh!" ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      Love to have a bag of these frozen for a quick meal. Left out the ouzo and tried it with a mixture of ground turkey and veal and it came out great! Served it with tzatziki sauce and flatbread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      These were good, but we didn't care for the ouzo...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      I am so glad I chose to make these. They came out much better than I thought. I changed nothing. This is a must make again dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      Like any liquor you may not choose to drink but enjoy as an ingredient, ouzo really added a wonderful extra dimension to these meatballs - compared with other meatball recipes I’ve eaten. So, if you don’t have any ouzo, really consider buying some for recipes such as this one. The ouzo blended superbly with the herbs and other ingredients making these meatballs moist and certainly giving them that wonderful extra oomph that tells you after even after the tiniest bite ‘YES, I’ll be making these again!’ I made them with a pork/veal mix - one I generally use for meatloaves and meatballs – and we enjoyed them with evelyn/athens’ Greek Potatoes (Oven-Roasted and Delicious!) Greek Potatoes (Oven-Roasted and Delicious!); and from sampling an extra post-dinner meatball at room temperature, I know they are going to make tomorrow’s lunch - in a roll with salad – one to really look forward to! Thanks evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Keftedakia (Greek Meatballs)

    Serving Size: 1 (1014 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 78.8
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    59%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 27.7 mg
    9%
    Sodium 33.0 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes