Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Kittencal's Famous Greek Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Famous Greek Salad

    Average Rating:

    350 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 350

    Sort by:

    • on May 18, 2010

      Kittencal, I absolutely appreciate your recipes. You definitely know what you're doing and have good taste and instincts when it comes to food. One thing I'd suggest for your Greek Salad is to let your chopped tomatoes, onions, cukes, and peppers, spend a few hours bathed in the dressing in the fridge, tossing periodically. Then introduce those much more flavourabe veggies to the lettuce, feta, and olives when serving. Thanks for being an ever trusted recipe resource. Cheers,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      The first time I made this recipe it was a 3 star recipe for me.
      I just changed the directions it a bit and it was a five star recipe!! Here's what I did:
      I mixed the basil, oregano, pepper, vinegar and oil and poured over the onions and let them sit for 1-2 hours. And sprinkled the sugar and salt on the tomatoes and let them sit for a few mins before tossing them into the salad. I mixed everything together (along with the onions, and their oil/vinegar). It was one of the best greek salad i ever had!!
      Thank you kittencal for a fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      This is a nice salad and comes very close to the one I often order in a local restaurant. I added a bit of chicken to ours to make it more of a meal. Dh really liked the dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

      Very nice, but the original recipe has no lettuce or lemon...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      As the recipe states, this IS the best Greek Salad on the planet.............. I made this for a crowd and everybody loved it. I wish I could give it more then 5 stars. I did add parmesan and made it the night before. I also allowed it to sit at room temperature before serving. Thanks so much for sharing such a lovely recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2003

      I've tried many recipes for Greek salad & this is definitely THE BEST! The only thing that I did differently was to use a combo of romaine & head lettuce. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      No no no! Greek Salad NEVER has lettuce in it (or parmesan for that matter). Just because you use oregano and feta doesn't mean you have to call it a "Greek" salad. Although I complement on your use of fine herbs, this is not a Greek salad by any means nor should you even use the term.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      Made this last night exactly as directed and today's leftovers were just as scrumptious!! I will make this again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2003

      I made this today leaving out the Romaine and instead turned it into a pasta salad using tri-color Rotini. It was fabulous and the dressing was out of this world. A definite keeper! I love Greek food and worked in a Greek restaurant for years and the dressing was very authentic and tasted fresh and wonderful! I'm going to make it with the romaine next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2003

      I had tried my first Greek Salad in a Pizza Restaurant this year, and was instantly hooked. First thing I did was come look in Zaar for a recipe. Tried this one and it's SUPER!! Thanks for an awesome recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2014

      This is a very good Greek salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2014

      OUTSTANDING! This salad was absolutely delish! I added an extra teaspoon of sugar because I like it a little on the sweet side. I took Scotch Bob's advice and marinated the veggies in a little of the dressing for a few hours before serving, it was perfect! Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2014

      By far the best greek salad I've ever had. However, I could not imagine using an entire cup of oil. I did not use 3/4 cup, or even 1/4 cup. I only used 1 tablespoon. Also, since I wanted to keep the calories down, I added fewer olives and less cheese. This reduced the fat even further. I added maybe half a carrot for extra vitamin A and some quartered artichoke hearts because I like them. No changes at all, otherwise. Also, I was unclear whether I was supposed to add all of the dressing to the salad. I did, but it seemed excessive so I poured off most of it. As per Scotch Bob, I did marinate most of the veggies in the fridge with the dressing before putting everything over the lettuce and adding olives and cheese. I did include some parmesan cheese. I was not concerned about it's being authentic Greek or not. I would definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2013

      My family all loves this, and it's often requested at parties. Like others, I leave all the veggies in the dressing for a couple of hours. The leftovers are even better the next day.<br/>I realize 'original' Greek salad doesn't have lettuce, and it doesn't need to be included if it offends your sensibilities.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

      Now that was amazing! thank you for sharing that one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2013

      Perfect Greek salad but it was too much dressing for the amount of ingredients and there was a pool of dressing in the bottom of the serving dish and I did follow the directions to add before serving. I have now made this a number of times, once even adding gluten free pasta to make it more of a meal! I used a good flavour organic olive oil, fresh organic lemon, organic mountain oregano from Greece, organic fresh garlic clove, organic apple cider vinegar in place of red wine vinegar for religious reasons, sea salt, to taste, a little more organic cane sugar because if my change of vinegar, romaine lettuce hearts, I left out the onion, no bell pepper, plus the rest of the ingredients. I will make this dressing and salad or modified as I try to avoid cheese again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      I used this as a marinade for grilled chicken...it was AMAZING. LOVE it. Making it again for company this weekend! Thank you for this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      My friend and I loved making this. It was absolutely delicious! Thanks Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2013

      Delicious, and a hit at our supper club recently. Only changes: I subbed a yellow bell pepper, both for extra color, and because I'm not a big fan of the green kind. Also threw in some chopped marinated artichoke hearts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2012

      This was rated by my family as a keeper, I made it this week and it was requested two more times! I made it with iceberg lettuce combination with carrots and red cabbage (what was on special) left out the green peppers, and it was every bit as good or better than our local greek restaurant's. Next time, which will be tomorrow! I'm going to take K's suggestion an marinate the onions in the dressing for 1-2 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 18

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Famous Greek Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (244 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 489.7
     
    Calories from Fat 422
    86%
    Total Fat 46.9 g
    72%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 33.8 mg
    11%
    Sodium 795.1 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites