354 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Kittencal, I absolutely appreciate your recipes. You definitely know what you're doing and have good taste and instincts when it comes to food. One thing I'd suggest for your Greek Salad is to let your chopped tomatoes, onions, cukes, and peppers, spend a few hours bathed in the dressing in the fridge, tossing periodically. Then introduce those much more flavourabe veggies to the lettuce, feta, and olives when serving. Thanks for being an ever trusted recipe resource. Cheers,

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DNRBlueliner May 18, 2010

The first time I made this recipe it was a 3 star recipe for me.
I just changed the directions it a bit and it was a five star recipe!! Here's what I did:
I mixed the basil, oregano, pepper, vinegar and oil and poured over the onions and let them sit for 1-2 hours. And sprinkled the sugar and salt on the tomatoes and let them sit for a few mins before tossing them into the salad. I mixed everything together (along with the onions, and their oil/vinegar). It was one of the best greek salad i ever had!!
Thank you kittencal for a fabulous recipe!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K's December 21, 2010

This is a nice salad and comes very close to the one I often order in a local restaurant. I added a bit of chicken to ours to make it more of a meal. Dh really liked the dressing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryExplorer February 03, 2011

Very nice, but the original recipe has no lettuce or lemon...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danae T. October 06, 2013

As the recipe states, this IS the best Greek Salad on the planet.............. I made this for a crowd and everybody loved it. I wish I could give it more then 5 stars. I did add parmesan and made it the night before. I also allowed it to sit at room temperature before serving. Thanks so much for sharing such a lovely recipe!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenbeatrice September 11, 2010

I made this today leaving out the Romaine and instead turned it into a pasta salad using tri-color Rotini. It was fabulous and the dressing was out of this world. A definite keeper! I love Greek food and worked in a Greek restaurant for years and the dressing was very authentic and tasted fresh and wonderful! I'm going to make it with the romaine next time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Bee October 27, 2003

I've tried many recipes for Greek salad & this is definitely THE BEST! The only thing that I did differently was to use a combo of romaine & head lettuce. Thanx for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady October 06, 2003

My family all loves this, and it's often requested at parties. Like others, I leave all the veggies in the dressing for a couple of hours. The leftovers are even better the next day.<br/>I realize 'original' Greek salad doesn't have lettuce, and it doesn't need to be included if it offends your sensibilities.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amethyst42 December 09, 2013

No no no! Greek Salad NEVER has lettuce in it (or parmesan for that matter). Just because you use oregano and feta doesn't mean you have to call it a "Greek" salad. Although I complement on your use of fine herbs, this is not a Greek salad by any means nor should you even use the term.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nigwisht February 15, 2013

Made this last night exactly as directed and today's leftovers were just as scrumptious!! I will make this again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CARML mama January 13, 2011
Kittencal's Famous Greek Salad