Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Kittencal's Greek Moussaka Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Greek Moussaka

    Average Rating:

    123 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 123

    Sort by:

    • on August 15, 2011

      I am making this again for the third time right at this very moment for my Greek boyfriend. He loves it! He raves about it! I do add the cinnamon I feel it gives a more authentic taste and I just peel strips off the eggplants(salt and sweat eggplant for one hour as well) and broil to slightly burnt on the edges - this intensifies the flavor and both my boyfriend and I like the slight char taste. I love the simplicity of this recipe because it can be even more complicated. Oh, I do boil potatoes and add a thin layer on top of the eggplant per boyfriend's request the second and third go round. I could take or leave the potato myself but it's not bad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2013

      This was great. I've never had moussaka before, but this dish was easy enough to try! I used beef and the cinnamon, and I didn't see the tip about doubling until well after, but I did double and used a 13x9 pan which turned out just fine. Even the picky eaters among my kids loved it. I did add a layer of shredded 3 cheese Italian blend on the top. 35 minutes in the convection oven at 350 was perfect. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      I had only made the Craig Claiborne version (from the New York Times cookbook)---rave reviews, but WOW was it complicated! This version tastes even better, and is far, far simpler to assemble. KC, another winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      This was great. However, "large" eggplant must mean different things to different people. I picked 2 of the biggest ones (total 4 pounds) and a 9X9 pan was way too small... next time I will use about 2.5 pounds. This time I used a 2.5 qt deep casserole dish and doubled the cheese sauce. It is WAY easier to grill the eggplant. I started off in the oven since I had just pulled out the pita but quickly abandoned that and moved to the BBQ, where the slices got brown and dry without sticking and it was much easier to watch and turn!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2013

      First, I must say right up front that my cooking ability is nothing to write home about. However, I was trying to find something different to fix for Thanksgiving dinner (we're a family of vegetarians). I found this recipe and read all of the reviews (yes, all 100 ), so, I thought I would give it a shot. I used Morning Star Farm crumblers instead of ground beef, doubled the recipe, added a bit of cinnamon between the eggplant layers, and 'sweated' the eggplant slices (as suggested by most reviewers). The preparation took much longer than described. However, it was totally worth every second!! I coupled the Moussaka with Kittencalskitchen's greek salad as well. That was the first time I had every made my own salad dressing. Well, I received so many compliments during dinner, after dinner, and even during the Dallas Cowboys vs Detroit Lions football game!! Thank you so much, Kittencalskitchen, for posting such a mouth-watering recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      Another great recipe by Kittencal. We had never had Moussaka before and are now Moussaka lovers. I did go the traditional route and added a light sprinkle of ground cinnamon over the top layer of eggplant. Could not find ground lamb so I bought some leg of lamb and ground my own. Can't get any fresher than that! It states 4 servings, but you can easily get 6 - 8. I cooked mine in a 13 X 9. Will make again. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2010

      What can I say that has not been said already......?I gave this recipe a try on Monday, I love eggplant so I was anxious to try this recipe. It was very easy to put together I made it with beef for it was what I had at the moment, but I'm going to give it a try also with the lamb, which I'm positive it will be wonderful. You can never go wrong with this fantastic lady's recipes, the one's Ive tryed so far are all absolutely wonderful!!!!!!!! Thank you Kittencal for another GREAT recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      This was absolutely fabulous! I sweated the eggplant for about 45 mins then grilled it on my george foreman grill for 6 mins. It took forever since the grill is small, but I didn't mind. I used a large glass casserole dish and 45 mins seemed to be the perfect amount of time. I added the teaspoon of cinnamon and I'm so glad I decided to add it. I'll definitely add the cinnamon every time I make this. I will be making this again soon! I also like that it is easy to freeze the leftovers. Thanks for sharing Kittencal. This was the most impressive recipe I have made in awhile.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      This came out great! I did make a couple changes- I added a little bit of cumin to the eggplant layer (but I put cumin in nearly everything haha), and I changed the cheese sauce into a parve white sauce (made of flour, margarine, plain soy milk and an egg whisked in). All in all, excellent, thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      This was excellent. I ate this for dinner Saturday and reheated the left overs for lunch today. What I really liked about this recipe is its flexibility. I added some mushrooms and red pepper and used a combination of beef and lamb. I did add cinnamon to mine. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2014

      This is really an amazing and versatile recipe. Instead of broiling the eggplant, I used a grill pan and brushed the slides with olive oil and grilled them. To cut down on the calories, I added a bit more flour to the roux, and used fat free milk. I added a bit more here as well. The result was really amazing. I used an oval baking dish for this recipe and it was enough for six adults with seconds for everyone. I will make this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2014

      This was amazing! I forgot to add the cinnamon but it didn't matter. I was blown away. I sweated the eggplant too after googling what it meant! So I cut it into rounds and salted the sides and left it in a bowl for half an hour. I was surprised to see all the water seeping ou. I usually make runny sauces so I was surprised how thick this one was but it all held together beautifully. I added sliced raw mushrooms into the layers too. I made half the mixture with only 1 eggplant and the mushies. Made 4 good sized portions but my boyfriend and I ate it all! Could not believe how good this was!! 10 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2014

      This is my favourite Moussaka recipe. Idiot proof and always comes out perfect. I use lamb mince and leave the eggplants with skin on. Only adjustment I make is to make the Cheese Sauce with 1 1/2 cups of milk to ensure I get good coverage. Can highly recommend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2014

      This turned out shockingly good! I was blown away by the rich, creamy taste. I changed only the white sauce a bit to eliminate flour, but in doing so I think I actually kicked up the flavor. I demonstrated making this recipe on YouTube. Click on the link and you can watch me making it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5hRjHdZJYN4&feature=share&list=UUA7yRQkC7Gh9iRJ3TOW5Pbg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2014

      This such an easy recipe to follow and it tastes sooooo good. I doubled the recipe and added 1 tsp cinnamon.. that was enough to give a very subtle background flavour which enhanced everything else in the dish.. adding spices to meat is something we aren't used to so I erred on the side of caution. I will be making this again and again but next time I will add more eggplant, I love how it goes all creamy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2014

      I'm making this for the 4th time - fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      This recipe is the best! I have made it at lest a dozen times over the last year (it helps that we raise and butcher our own sheep!) it freezes beautifully !<br/>I don't change a thing with Kittencal's recipe (unless I don't have something on hand when I start making it; you know how that goes, time to improvise : ) <br/>Many thanks for the delicious recipe Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      Can't praise this recipe enough! It's by far our favourite meal to cook at home. Lovely with a sliced potato base too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      This is a regular in my house. Its very tasty and easy to make however it does take a bit longer than stated. I soften the eggplant/aubergine under the grill in batches and this takes ages. Next time I might just put them in the oven to see if that speeds up the time. Its a great dish to make and then freeze in portions. Can't fault it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

      I prepared this Saturday night and it turned out excellent. I went exactly by the recipe, but emphasized by adding mushrooms and instead of using tomato sauce, put in a can of chopped tomatoes instead. I'm ready to make this again. It was a big hit around my house. Thanks KC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Greek Moussaka

    Serving Size: 1 (607 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 550.3
     
    Calories from Fat 292
    53%
    Total Fat 32.4 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 17.1 g
    85%
    Cholesterol 176.4 mg
    58%
    Sodium 1564.6 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 11.5 g
    46%
    Sugars 11.5 g
    46%
    Protein 35.8 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites