126 Reviews

I am making this again for the third time right at this very moment for my Greek boyfriend. He loves it! He raves about it! I do add the cinnamon I feel it gives a more authentic taste and I just peel strips off the eggplants(salt and sweat eggplant for one hour as well) and broil to slightly burnt on the edges - this intensifies the flavor and both my boyfriend and I like the slight char taste. I love the simplicity of this recipe because it can be even more complicated. Oh, I do boil potatoes and add a thin layer on top of the eggplant per boyfriend's request the second and third go round. I could take or leave the potato myself but it's not bad.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valeri1274 August 15, 2011

This was great. I've never had moussaka before, but this dish was easy enough to try! I used beef and the cinnamon, and I didn't see the tip about doubling until well after, but I did double and used a 13x9 pan which turned out just fine. Even the picky eaters among my kids loved it. I did add a layer of shredded 3 cheese Italian blend on the top. 35 minutes in the convection oven at 350 was perfect. Thanks so much!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GuavaJelli May 23, 2013

I had only made the Craig Claiborne version (from the New York Times cookbook)---rave reviews, but WOW was it complicated! This version tastes even better, and is far, far simpler to assemble. KC, another winner!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Dilettante December 27, 2011

This was great. However, "large" eggplant must mean different things to different people. I picked 2 of the biggest ones (total 4 pounds) and a 9X9 pan was way too small... next time I will use about 2.5 pounds. This time I used a 2.5 qt deep casserole dish and doubled the cheese sauce. It is WAY easier to grill the eggplant. I started off in the oven since I had just pulled out the pita but quickly abandoned that and moved to the BBQ, where the slices got brown and dry without sticking and it was much easier to watch and turn!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarySC August 30, 2009

First, I must say right up front that my cooking ability is nothing to write home about. However, I was trying to find something different to fix for Thanksgiving dinner (we're a family of vegetarians). I found this recipe and read all of the reviews (yes, all 100 ), so, I thought I would give it a shot. I used Morning Star Farm crumblers instead of ground beef, doubled the recipe, added a bit of cinnamon between the eggplant layers, and 'sweated' the eggplant slices (as suggested by most reviewers). The preparation took much longer than described. However, it was totally worth every second!! I coupled the Moussaka with Kittencalskitchen's greek salad as well. That was the first time I had every made my own salad dressing. Well, I received so many compliments during dinner, after dinner, and even during the Dallas Cowboys vs Detroit Lions football game!! Thank you so much, Kittencalskitchen, for posting such a mouth-watering recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
strangeluck January 26, 2013

Another great Greek recipe from Kittencal! I impressed the in-laws with this dish. It was delicious as written, but I think I will try adding the tsp of cinnamon next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway May 10, 2011

Another great recipe by Kittencal. We had never had Moussaka before and are now Moussaka lovers. I did go the traditional route and added a light sprinkle of ground cinnamon over the top layer of eggplant. Could not find ground lamb so I bought some leg of lamb and ground my own. Can't get any fresher than that! It states 4 servings, but you can easily get 6 - 8. I cooked mine in a 13 X 9. Will make again. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wing-Man July 27, 2010

What can I say that has not been said already......?I gave this recipe a try on Monday, I love eggplant so I was anxious to try this recipe. It was very easy to put together I made it with beef for it was what I had at the moment, but I'm going to give it a try also with the lamb, which I'm positive it will be wonderful. You can never go wrong with this fantastic lady's recipes, the one's Ive tryed so far are all absolutely wonderful!!!!!!!! Thank you Kittencal for another GREAT recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia #3 July 15, 2010

This was absolutely fabulous! I sweated the eggplant for about 45 mins then grilled it on my george foreman grill for 6 mins. It took forever since the grill is small, but I didn't mind. I used a large glass casserole dish and 45 mins seemed to be the perfect amount of time. I added the teaspoon of cinnamon and I'm so glad I decided to add it. I'll definitely add the cinnamon every time I make this. I will be making this again soon! I also like that it is easy to freeze the leftovers. Thanks for sharing Kittencal. This was the most impressive recipe I have made in awhile.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG March 06, 2010

This came out great! I did make a couple changes- I added a little bit of cumin to the eggplant layer (but I put cumin in nearly everything haha), and I changed the cheese sauce into a parve white sauce (made of flour, margarine, plain soy milk and an egg whisked in). All in all, excellent, thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sephardi Kitchen September 16, 2009
Kittencal's Greek Moussaka