Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Kittencal's Greek Souvlaki (Grilled Skewered Lamb or Pork) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Greek Souvlaki (Grilled Skewered Lamb or Pork)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2013

      This is the best by a mile. We've tried it on pork, chicken, lamb and beef and it has been superb! We usually seem to accompany this with Kittencal's lemon rice and a salad with her greek dressing recipe. We call it our Kittencal night, and it's always a favourite! Guests have raved over this, friends have requested it. We've even had people come onto our campsite and ask what we're making because it smells so good! We use oregano from our garden that we dry in the dehydrator, and it makes a huge difference. Other than tending to go heavy on the garlic, we have never altered this recipe. Thanks so much, Kittencal. It's a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      Super good! We even over cooked the meat and it was still good. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      I followed this recipe exactly, except used chicken as my protein. It was absolutely fantastic! I've made this about 5 times in the last 3 months or so. The girlfriend adores it, and my friends were appalled that something this flavorful could come from the average joe's kitchen. I gave this 5 stars because I have tried countless souvlaki recipes, and this one is easily the best... ZERO room for improvements. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      This recipe is absolutely INCREDIBLE!!! We just loved it. Pork loin was on sale for $1.99 lb, so I opted for that. Kitten is actually Greek, so she really knows her stuff. I'm on her Facebook fan base, and I found the recipe there. I wanted to review it at zaar, so you'd be sure to try it. The souvlaki is a hands-down winner. She could put a Greek restaurant out of business. Kitten rules!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      This was very flavorful. The meat was tender and juicy. I used pork since some of my family doesn't like lamb. I followed the recipe as written except for grilling the vegatables separate from the meat. Thanks Kittencal. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      Great recipe once again, Kitten!!!! The only thing I changed was I used white wine instead of red since I was using a pork loin and added more garlic since we love garlic in this house. Yum-O!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks oodles!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Forgot to review this the first time I made it. It's been made four times now and is now a fixed item on the menu. I've made it with pork & lamb and loved both. Served it mostly with Pita and tzatziki (with diced red onion & diced tomatoes) but also on rice. Great either way. Thanks for the great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      O-M-G!!!! this is way more than 5 stars, Kit you have out done yourself with this recipe, this is better than eating at any Greek restaurant, I could eat this everday, I tryed half with pork and chicken both are to die for, Kit open up a restaurant, your recipes rock, thank you over and over again for this wonderful souvlaki recipe the meat was fall-off-the-bone tender had the best flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      FANTASTIC recipe. I subbed in chicken thighs and breasts for the lamb, cutting the marinade time to 6 hours. The meat as SO tender and flavorful. My guests devoured it! I didn't add veggies to the skewers, but put just meat on it and took the meat off skewers before serving. No Tsatsiki is really needed, as the meat is very moist. Bravo, Kitten, for a wonderful recipe! Thanks for helping make my dinner party a success! Thanks for all your help and quick responses to my zmails too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Greek Souvlaki (Grilled Skewered Lamb or Pork)

    Serving Size: 1 (420 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 772.3
     
    Calories from Fat 517
    67%
    Total Fat 57.5 g
    88%
    Saturated Fat 15.1 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 121.5 mg
    40%
    Sodium 117.6 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 10.2 g
    41%
    Protein 38.2 g
    76%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites