9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is absolutely INCREDIBLE!!! We just loved it. Pork loin was on sale for $1.99 lb, so I opted for that. Kitten is actually Greek, so she really knows her stuff. I'm on her Facebook fan base, and I found the recipe there. I wanted to review it at zaar, so you'd be sure to try it. The souvlaki is a hands-down winner. She could put a Greek restaurant out of business. Kitten rules!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MakeDollarHoller June 28, 2010

This is the best by a mile. We've tried it on pork, chicken, lamb and beef and it has been superb! We usually seem to accompany this with Kittencal's lemon rice and a salad with her greek dressing recipe. We call it our Kittencal night, and it's always a favourite! Guests have raved over this, friends have requested it. We've even had people come onto our campsite and ask what we're making because it smells so good! We use oregano from our garden that we dry in the dehydrator, and it makes a huge difference. Other than tending to go heavy on the garlic, we have never altered this recipe. Thanks so much, Kittencal. It's a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marieskey March 16, 2013

Super good! We even over cooked the meat and it was still good. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview August 23, 2011

I followed this recipe exactly, except used chicken as my protein. It was absolutely fantastic! I've made this about 5 times in the last 3 months or so. The girlfriend adores it, and my friends were appalled that something this flavorful could come from the average joe's kitchen. I gave this 5 stars because I have tried countless souvlaki recipes, and this one is easily the best... ZERO room for improvements. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WebSlinger July 13, 2011

This was very flavorful. The meat was tender and juicy. I used pork since some of my family doesn't like lamb. I followed the recipe as written except for grilling the vegatables separate from the meat. Thanks Kittencal. Bullwinkle

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle May 29, 2009

Great recipe once again, Kitten!!!! The only thing I changed was I used white wine instead of red since I was using a pork loin and added more garlic since we love garlic in this house. Yum-O!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks oodles!!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susy Q September 16, 2008

Forgot to review this the first time I made it. It's been made four times now and is now a fixed item on the menu. I've made it with pork & lamb and loved both. Served it mostly with Pita and tzatziki (with diced red onion & diced tomatoes) but also on rice. Great either way. Thanks for the great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned June 01, 2008

O-M-G!!!! this is way more than 5 stars, Kit you have out done yourself with this recipe, this is better than eating at any Greek restaurant, I could eat this everday, I tryed half with pork and chicken both are to die for, Kit open up a restaurant, your recipes rock, thank you over and over again for this wonderful souvlaki recipe the meat was fall-off-the-bone tender had the best flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kusinera May 26, 2008

FANTASTIC recipe. I subbed in chicken thighs and breasts for the lamb, cutting the marinade time to 6 hours. The meat as SO tender and flavorful. My guests devoured it! I didn't add veggies to the skewers, but put just meat on it and took the meat off skewers before serving. No Tsatsiki is really needed, as the meat is very moist. Bravo, Kitten, for a wonderful recipe! Thanks for helping make my dinner party a success! Thanks for all your help and quick responses to my zmails too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom April 08, 2007
Kittencal's Greek Souvlaki (Grilled Skewered Lamb or Pork)