Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Kourambiedes (A Greek Christmas Cookie) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kourambiedes (A Greek Christmas Cookie)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2010

      By far a great recipe. Don't tell my mother that I'm using this one instead of hers. They are light, and short. They really melt in your mouth. I like them with cloves, which adds some dimension, but it's a pain to remember to tell people to take it out before they eat it, so I wonder if adding a touch of ground clove to the batter would do the trick?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2005

      Evelyn, I am sorry I forgot to review these. I made them for Christmas and they were delightful. I loved the fact that they melted in your mouth. I did make them ahead of time and froze them formed on a lined baking tray. Then I put them in plastic bag in the freezer. I baked from frozen, adding maybe 5 minutes cooking time and they were outstanding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Thank you so much for this recipe ! My giagia is sick and had to undergo surgery and she makes them every year and I didn't want them to not be made so I found this recipe and did it today to see if I'd make them for Christmas ... They're amazing ! Just like ones from Greek bakeries. I was looking for other ones online before I found this one, but since none of the bakers were Greek the other recipes weren't at all authentic and were more like Americanized interpretations of the kourambiedes. THESE are the best ! I didn't have brandy on hand and used mastic ouzo from Xios and they still came out really good. Thanks for this recipe <3

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      Wonderful melt-in-your-mouth crumbly texture! I made 1/2 the recipe. Didn't have brandy or rose water- still a great cookie. We love 'em. My Greek neighbor said next time I should make them bigger and thicker... She also said that while it's good for the dough to rest for that hour, it's not absolutely necessary. Thanks for a delicious recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      Wow what a great recipe! I've made them twice so far and no complaints. My mom who has her own recipe (which my family thinks is the best) thought my were better then hers! Thanks! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2005

      EXCELLENT! These kourambiedes were outstanding! I made just as stated and tasted phenomenal! I used Ouzo (instead of RoseWater)~just prefer it that way. I also got creative and made them in crescent shapes (vs. round). They will compliment my Christmas table! Thanks, Ev!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2004

      Thank you so much for sharing Evelyn. These are one of my very favourite cookies. I have always been a little afraid to try and make them...but even though they were time consuming, these easy to make cookies were certainly worth the time and extra effort. I didn't have any brandy so I substituted golden cream sherry and I drizzeled rose water over the tops of the cookies. They were so delicious I couldn't believe that I had made them...Kudos

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      I grew up making this recipe with my YaiYai. This recipe is spot on. For those of you that have never made it, it is important to get your mixer going for the full allotted time - don't skimp. Let your butter sit out over night before using. Also, be sure to let the dough stand at least 1 hour. I find I use the full 4 cups of flour to get the proper consistency.<br/><br/>I use a sifter to coat the bottom of the plate and the top of the cookies after they have cooled. That way you won't crush them by rolling them.<br/><br/>Thanks so much for this great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      First time baking Kourambiedes. Turned out GREAT. Yia yia gave them 10/10!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      I followed these directions carefully and there is definitely a ratio problem. These cookies were very wet, so I added significantly more flour. When they were finally a good not-too-wet-not-too-dry consistency, I let them sit for an hour in a cold oven (perhaps next time they would benefit from sitting for an hour in a much colder fridge). Their major failing was that they did not hold their shape when baked. Traditionally kourambiedes are supposed to be small crescent shaped or perky oval shaped cookies. Mine spread and flattened and then rose, so didn't maintain their shape or their edges.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      Delicious! My Yiayia always made these at the holidays and they are definitely the best. I like making them all the time because they are great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      This is actually the best recipe ever. Just replaced brandy with ouzo and added 1/4 tsp of ground cloves for the taste and smell that way you don't need to put the clove on top. Thank you for this great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      Excellent Recipe! The most authentic one I have have online. Just like Yaya made! So good and so easy! Efforisto! (Thanks!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kourambiedes (A Greek Christmas Cookie)

    Serving Size: 1 (1261 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 201.6
     
    Calories from Fat 135
    67%
    Total Fat 15.0 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 43.6 mg
    14%
    Sodium 157.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites