Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Kreatopita (Greek Meat Pie Using Phyllo Pastry) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kreatopita (Greek Meat Pie Using Phyllo Pastry)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 24, 2009

      What an injustice...you have this for street food and we have sausages on a bun :( This was just great! I scaled it back by half and added a couple of handfuls of chopped fresh spinach with the parsley otherwise made as directed. Using an 8" x 8" pan I found it was done to perfection after 45 minutes in the oven. I'll be making this one again and again. Thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      I was looking for a recipe for the delicious Greek meat casserole I had at a favorite restaurant and found this one. It is delicious! I am single so I halved the recipe and used feta cheese instead of Parmesan. I've made it twice and the mushrooms didn't seem to add a whole lot of flavor so I used carrots a second time. The carrots didn't add much flavor either but the texture was nice. I also played with the oregano and cinnamon amounts but I think the suggested amount is perfect. This will be a new weekly meal for me for sure"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Oh, soooo good! A bit of work, but well worth it. This was my first time using phyllo dough, so that was a bit of challenge at first, but I soon got the hang of it. I did follow another reviewer's suggestions and used feta cheese in place of the parmesan. I also used only 1/2 cup of the parsely and added a package of (thawed and VERY well-squeezed) spinach, as my fiance and I love spinach and thought that it would be a wonderful touch -- which it definitely did! I also used the cinnamon, which I may or may not use next time, depending on my guest list. Everyone loved it... everyone, that is, except for one profoundly picky eater amongst our friends, who complained that the pie was "all cinnamon!" and couldn't make herself finish it. My fiance and our roomie, however, declared the pie to be among the best they'd ever had, and went back for thirds! I will be making this again, and one of these times I'll try it using ground lamb. Oh yes, I also served this with Kittencal's Famous Greek Salad ... the PERFECT complement to this terrific dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      I was a little nervous about working with phyllo because I never have, but know that it is paper thin. However, this pie turned out fantastic!! I cut everything in half and made it in an 8 X 8 pan (I cut the phyllo sheets in half before layering) because it is only me, my fiance and my 2 year old. We all loved it!! Thanks for the submission!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      The flavors in this are wonderful. I don't have a 15 x 10 pan, so I used the change button to multiply the ingredients by .75 to use with a 13 x 9 pan and it came out perfect. I accompanied this with KITTENCAL's Kittencal's Mediterranean-Style Taverna Chopped Greek Salad. Thanks for a great new way to use filo, Ev@ (I admit I'm a bit puzzled why filo is spelled two different ways in this recipe, though--I've seen both transliterations before but not in the same recipe :) .)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      Thanks a million for posting this AWESOME recipe, Evelyn! I made it for the first time for 18 guests, and it was out of this world. Served with a tomato salad vinaigrette, we had no leftovers. It was wonderfully light and our guests commented on the herby flavour. The tip of sprinkling the finished dish with cool water before baking ensured the Filo turned out beautifully. We enjoyed!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      This turned out so fabulous I couldn't believe how delicious it was, and easy to make. I did not add any mushrooms, I had mince meat already cooked with onions so just used that and added a little rose pasta sauce to replace the tomato paste (which I was quite scared would ruin the dish) but I didn't add that much and the results were spectacular. <br/>My only complaint is that since this was the first time I was working with phyllo pastry I think I did something wrong. I used 5 sheets of phyllo at the bottom, and 5 on the top and brushed each sheet with olive oil but didn't get a crispy pie, can anyone give me tips on how to improve my phyllo results? I had made 2/3 of the recipe (didn't have a big enough pan) and so baked it at 350F instead of 375F. Would that have made a difference?<br/><br/>Thanks again for the fabulous recipe, planning on assembling this pie and freezing it pre baking for a rainy day when I need a fabulous meal but can't cook! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      This was my first crack at Greek food. It was easy and DELICIOUS! Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      I make this recipe with 1lb ground beef and 1 lb ground lamb. I omit the mushroom. It is to die for. I am Greek and love my mother's greek cooking. I can't wait to make this for her. It is delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      This was an interesting dish, and we kind of enjoyed it. The filling we found kind of dry, even though I added a tomato to the filling to moisten it up. The cinnamon was a nice twist, very interesting. I prepared it in miniature springform pans, serving a pie per person. We may try this again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      This is fabulous! I made it in little springform pans with phyllo on the bottom and shredded phyllo on the top. Chopping the mushroom for duxelles resulted in the mushroom and ground beef 'bits' being the same size--a great texture and look. No kefalotiri so I used reggiano and I also used flat leaf parsley. The cinnamon is a terrific touch. All round great dish! Thanks, Ev.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      I omitted the 'shrooms and substituted crumbled feta for the parmesan. The cinnamon provided a wonderful depth of flavor. Next time I want to add some chopped spinach to up the nutritional value. I think this would also be excellent in pita bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kreatopita (Greek Meat Pie Using Phyllo Pastry)

    Serving Size: 1 (122 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.3
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    45%
    Total Fat 11.4 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 75.6 mg
    25%
    Sodium 259.4 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 14.6 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes