Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Lemon Roasted Potatoes, Greek Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Roasted Potatoes, Greek Style

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on February 05, 2002

      The taste of these potatoes was milder than I expected. It took a lot longer to cook than the amount indicated. After 1 1/2 hours in the oven, I popped the dish in the microwave for a few minutes to get the potatoes soft enough for our liking. My husband did not care for these at all, but my daughter enjoyed them. I would add lemon zest to punch up the lemon flavor a bit and perhaps some lemon pepper seasoning. These needed quite a bit of seasoning. A good recipe, but not for all tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2002

      This was a good recipe,the only problem,was that it needed a little more lemon.I also adjusted the cooking time to 1hour 15 min.The children enjoyed them too. Annette

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      Excellent! This was so easy Mirj and really good. :) I used an 8 inch square baking pan and 3 medium-small Russet potatoes. I cut one lengthwise in half then in thirds, then thought the pieces might be too small, so cut the other two lengthwise in half and then in half the other way to make quarters. I used the full amt of lemon juice and water. I used bottled instead of fresh (3 Tbsp). After I drizzed just under 2 Tbsp of olive oil over the potatoes, I sprinkled a bit of salt and black pepper over all. I cooked the full 45 mins and thought the potatoes needed a little longer. The cooking liquid was gone so I added another 1/4 cup of water to the bottom of the pan and added another 10 mins to the time. The potatoes had a pretty golden crust and were tender and mildly flavored with the lemon. Bf enjoyed them, also. Thanks Mirj, for a recipe I'll make again. :) I served this with Garlic Chicken and green beans. UPDATE: I was craving these so made them for breakfast and it was just me, but I peeled/quartered 2 small-medium Russets, halved the lemon juice/water, used approx the same amt of oil. Also added a bit of black pepper before roasting as above. I was craving potatoes and onions and I thought onions might be interesting. I quartered then sliced thickly and laid them in a single layer w/the potatoes, then poured the lemonwater over all. I forgot the olive oil and didn't realize this until 38 mins were left, however the potatoes were browning. I decided to add it anyway and finished them w/another 12 mins of time so they were very tender and crispy-btown on top. Also halfway through cooking, I added another 1/4 cup of water as the original liquid was absorbed. There was a Tbsp of cooking liquid left in the bottom of the pan, which I decided to just drizzle over the potatoes as it was infused with lemon, onion, black pepper, and olive oil. I can't say how authentically greek-style adding onions is, but I thought it was a nice addition. The onions got cooked tenderly, but also browned a tiny bit. They will shrink too as they cook. Yummy breakfast, Mirj. Yeah, I'm silly, I eat side dishes for breakfast. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2003

      I thought this was delicious! I added 1 minced garlic clove and a little salt before baking in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2011

      This is a very forgiving recipe, and tasty. I made them as an afterthought and didn't bother checking my pantry I ALWAYS have potatoes, lemons and olive oil right? Mu russet potatoes were rotten and rank (honestly I don't live in a pigstye they were on sale for a reason apparently) I used some Yukon gold instead. I ended up only having half of an old lemon in the fridge....I actually don't remember using the other half*blush* but used it anyway. I went on and made as directed they turned out great and will definitely make them when better
      Repaired. I thing they would be even better with the russets texture wise. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      We really liked these. Since we were grilling dinner, I put the potatoes in a foil pan and put it on the grill. I'd tell you how long it was out there, but I didn't pay attention. I figured they were done when they were brown. :-) I did sprinkle them with some lemon pepper before grilling. I served this with Wanna Be Greek Grilled Chicken Breasts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      This is a great recipe! I just realized that I had not given a review! Easy and it is a great main dish for someone who cannot eat meat(renal friendly)These potatoes have a rich satisfying taste. Everyone sprinkles the pepper on after serving.Lemon pepper can be used in cooking also.Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Excellent. Very easy recipe with great results. We added a lot of pepper which is terific with the lemony flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      Wonderful potatoes - Just the right amount of lemon flavor and crispy brown on top, mellow inside. I used small new peeled potatoes and had them in the oven for exactly 45 minutes. Thanks Mirj for another lovely recipe 23 Nov 08 Made them again and ehjoyed them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      So good! Had with Lemon Chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      A delicious and simple way to prepare potatoes. The potatoes were nicely flavored and the lemon juice/water helped them to stay moist. Something I will repeat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Roasted Potatoes, Greek Style

    Serving Size: 1 (103 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 120.4
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    34%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes