Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Make Your Own Greek Yoghurt Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Make Your Own Greek Yoghurt

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2010

      I bought a small container of Greek yogurt at the store out of curiosity and was immediately addicted. But at a dollar per serving, I knew I had to find a way to make this at home. I've been making this recipe for about 6 months now, and it's awesome! I've tried it with both skim milk and whole milk, both with very good results. I've also upped the yield by heating up a gallon of milk and using an entire serving of cheap-o plain yogurt for the culture. Just really keep an eye on the temperature with this recipe, and all will turn out fine! I once took the milk off the heat before it was hot enough, and I ended up with runny, gross yogurt that came through the cheesecloth. What a waste! Also, something I just tried with today's batch which works wonders -- place the cheesecloth in an embroidery ring slightly bigger than the bowl that you're using to catch the drippings, making sure the cloth is very taut. Just place the ring over the bowl's mouth, pour the yogurt on the surface of the cheesecloth, and let it drain. This keeps your yogurt from sagging down into the drippings, allows you to not rig up some intricate yogurt-bag-hanging arrangement, and, best of all, cleanup is a BREEZE! Love this recipe! Thank you for posting this, Evelyn/Athens!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      This new year I resolved to follow a healthier diet. So to avoid any added sugar, processed table salt, preservatives and additives, I've been learning how to make some of the foods I normally eat, like yoghurt. The first time I tried this recipe, I made the mistake of heating the milk on high heat so it burned on the bottom of the saucepan. The second mistake that I made was that I didn't mix the room temperature plain yoghurt "starter"/added milk into the cooled milk. I just added it without mixing it. The third (!) mistake I made was that I didn't leave the light on in the oven (for low heat) so my first attempt at making Greek yoghurt was an utter failure! The second time I tried, I heated the milk in a double boiler. I also looked at the yoghurt recipe in Joy of Cooking and it said to heat the milk to 180 degrees F. I couldn't find my yoghurt thermometer so I used a candy thermometer. I waited a long time and the milk only heated up to about 170 degrees F. It wouldn't heat higher than that in the double boiler (according to the candy thermometer). I decided to go with this and proceeded to let the milk cool down. This time I also stirred in the yoghurt starter/milk mixture, then wrapped up the bowl in a large thick warm towel and left it in the oven with the light on. The recipe in the Joy of Cooking cookbook said that if yoghurt was used as a starter, it should only take 3 to 4 hours to solidify; and that if a starter was used, it would take 8 hours or more. I checked my yoghurt at 6 hours and it was done enough. Only a small amount of liquid was present. It is very creamy and tasty. I have some every morning with my breakfast. Thanks for the recipe!

      Further to the review I wrote on Jan 19, I am still making this yoghurt every few days. I drain it to the consistency of whipped cream. If you heat the milk in a double boiler with the lid on, it should take about 20 minutes to reach 180 degrees F. To cool it down to 110 degrees F it takes about 45 minutes (with the lid off) and on a trivet. I eat this yoghurt every morning sprinkled with Hemp Hearts (an excellent source of protein, fiber and healthy oils). When I crave something sweet, I eat some with a little bit of raw natural honey mixed in. I'm addicted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      That's exactly how I make Iranian yogurt, but I keep the container covered in blankets .I add the milk when I can keep my pinky in till I count to ten. Make sure to use full-fat milk as the results are not the same with the skim milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      I've been making yoghurt in a crock pot for over a year now. Put 1/2 gallon of milk into a Crockpot. Heat on high until it reaches 180 or so (note the time and you'll never need to check the temperature again). Let it cool down to 105 or so (again; note how long this takes; in my crockpot it takes about 2 hours 45 minutes to heat and almost 3 and a half hours to cool). Whisk in 1/2 cup of good yoghurt with live cultures and wrap your crockpot in blankets or towels; leave for 8-12 hours (I usually start this process around 2 pm and let it sit overnight). Perfect yoghurt every time! You can strain it to make greek yoghurt. I find that wide-mouth quart jars are perfect to store the yoghurt; I even found a funnel on line that makes it easier to fill the jars without making a mess. Active work time: about 5 minutes. And only one pot to clean!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      Oh, YUM! I ate it this morning with raw honey and oats sprinkled on top and LOVED it! I used 1/2 gallon of whole milk and probably about 3 tbsp Stoneyfield light organic yogurt (didn't mean to get light, but it worked fine). I don't have a thermometer, so I used some previous reviewer's tips and cooled the milk until I could leave my finger in till ten (without yelling). Wrapped in doubled towels in the oven (I had turned it on warm for about 10 minutes) and left for 11 hrs. Overnight in the fridge, and delicious this morning! It was incredibly easy and made a TON of yogurt. My yogurt turned out very thick and creamy, but I'm still going to try draining a portion of it through a coffee filter today and see what comes of it. :) I also froze some small portions in an ice cube tray so that I have a baggie of ready-made starter for next time (I read several places that this works... will update if it does not). Thank you SO much for sharing this awesome, easy recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      This is very similar to how I make my own natural/Greek yoghurt.

      I use an Easiyo yoghurt maker, which is really just a glorified Thermos, using the same ingredients.
      I heat the milk, cool to 30 degrees C, add some yoghurt leftover from the last batch, then add the container to the Easiyo maker along with some boiling water as per the manufacturer's instructions. The next morning, there is lots of creamy yoghurt with the whey on top, which I just drain off. Not bad for $1 for a litre of milk!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2011

      This was so easy, I will never buy yogurt again! I did not follow the direction to "not disturb the skin" as I read other recipes where this was not necessary, and I worried about not mixing the yogurt in. I took a couple tablespoons of the cooled milk and mixed it with about 2.5 tablespoons of store-bought organic Greek yogurt then mixed that into the rest. I wrapped the bowl with 2 towels and just left it on the counter as we had been having 90 degree days here and I figured it was hot enough. I left it about 11 hours (almost forgot about it) and it turned out delicious! I drained it through cheesecloth for a few hours, though next time I will mix some of the whey back in it because it is REALLY thick. I also froze the leftover whey in ice cube trays and am keeping the cubes in a container in my freezer. I pull some out and melt it to replace water in just about any recipe for added protein. Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      While on vacation, and after hearing many recommendations, I tasted Greek Yoghurt. I tried the Fage brand which was great. The yogurt taste was more pronounced that I am accustomed to with my cheap store brand but the texture is such that you want to TRY things with it. Anyhow there was simply NO Greek Yoghurt to be found in my neck of the woods in north central KS so of course I come to 'zaar and the indispensible recipes of evelyn/athens. I am dieting so I made it with skim milk. It is so easy it is embarassing. The directions are great. I let it set in the oven with the oven light on (as in the light that lets you see into the oven, not the pilot light since my oven is electric). And then I drained it. If you weren't planning to drain it, you might as well go get yourself some Dannon FF yogurt. The draining step is transformative to taste and texture. I see gyros in my future. Anyhow the future will tell on how often I do this but since it's not hard, I think I will be doing it occasionally. RECOMMENDED! Tonight, I had some with a little sweetener and vanilla and it was fantastic. THANKS, Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2006

      Wow, I can't wait to make this. it sounds great. I had a holiday in Greece this summer and we had greek yoghurt every day. We have bought greek style yoghurt since getting home but it just doesn't taste the same. I am keeping my fingers crossed that this can re-create our holiday mood!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      This was the first time attempting yogurt. I was surprised at how easy it was and the quality. I did strain it and it turned out wonderful and thick. I used it Tzatziki, my tzatziki has never been this good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2006

      Loved the result of this yogurt! I now see why my tzatziki never tastes like the tzatziki I had in Greece! This yogurt is so thick and so creamy! I had never made yogurt before and was so glad your instructions were easy to follow. This is also wonderful mixed with granola and fruit! Excellent Recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      You came to my rescue with this recipe! I've looked everywhere near me for Greek yoghurt to no avail. My search is over now! I used this recipe to prepare another of yours, Greek Yoghurt and Fruit Salad Greek Yoghurt and Fruit Salad. Even though I cut it short on time (6 hours) it was still wonderful. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      This was my first time making yogurt. It was quite easy, but you need to make sure the milk is cooled enough. My first batch I threw out because the milk was too hot and I think it killed the culture. Second time I used a thermometer and it worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      This was my first time making yogurt of any kind and I didn't know what to expect. But the recipe instructions were very easy to follow, walking me step-by-step through the process. I placed the yogurt/milk mixture in the same cozy warm spot where I allow all my breads to rise. After 7-8 hours my very own first batch of authentic delicious Greek yoghurt was complete. I chose not to strain the yoghurt because I was happy with the rich and creamy texture it had already achieved. I enjoyed learning how to make Greek yoghurt ~ Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2006

      I have been making my own yogurt for years. This method is slightly different from what I normally do. The end result is a wonderfully thick, rich yogurt with a nice twang. I prepared the milk, added the culture and placed in it my oven with the light on overnight. Then I drained it for a couple of hours in my yogurt strainers. Delicious, easy and economical.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      There is nothing like this for tsatziki, nothing! I just use it as it is when finished. It's thinner than commercial but tastes so much better. Thanks, Ev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Make Your Own Greek Yoghurt

    Serving Size: 1 (171 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 156.6
     
    Calories from Fat 75
    47%
    Total Fat 8.3 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 25.9 mg
    8%
    Sodium 110.6 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 12.9 g
    51%
    Protein 8.1 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites