16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I bought a small container of Greek yogurt at the store out of curiosity and was immediately addicted. But at a dollar per serving, I knew I had to find a way to make this at home. I've been making this recipe for about 6 months now, and it's awesome! I've tried it with both skim milk and whole milk, both with very good results. I've also upped the yield by heating up a gallon of milk and using an entire serving of cheap-o plain yogurt for the culture. Just really keep an eye on the temperature with this recipe, and all will turn out fine! I once took the milk off the heat before it was hot enough, and I ended up with runny, gross yogurt that came through the cheesecloth. What a waste! Also, something I just tried with today's batch which works wonders -- place the cheesecloth in an embroidery ring slightly bigger than the bowl that you're using to catch the drippings, making sure the cloth is very taut. Just place the ring over the bowl's mouth, pour the yogurt on the surface of the cheesecloth, and let it drain. This keeps your yogurt from sagging down into the drippings, allows you to not rig up some intricate yogurt-bag-hanging arrangement, and, best of all, cleanup is a BREEZE! Love this recipe! Thank you for posting this, Evelyn/Athens!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dial_m888 June 13, 2010

This new year I resolved to follow a healthier diet. So to avoid any added sugar, processed table salt, preservatives and additives, I've been learning how to make some of the foods I normally eat, like yoghurt. The first time I tried this recipe, I made the mistake of heating the milk on high heat so it burned on the bottom of the saucepan. The second mistake that I made was that I didn't mix the room temperature plain yoghurt "starter"/added milk into the cooled milk. I just added it without mixing it. The third (!) mistake I made was that I didn't leave the light on in the oven (for low heat) so my first attempt at making Greek yoghurt was an utter failure! The second time I tried, I heated the milk in a double boiler. I also looked at the yoghurt recipe in Joy of Cooking and it said to heat the milk to 180 degrees F. I couldn't find my yoghurt thermometer so I used a candy thermometer. I waited a long time and the milk only heated up to about 170 degrees F. It wouldn't heat higher than that in the double boiler (according to the candy thermometer). I decided to go with this and proceeded to let the milk cool down. This time I also stirred in the yoghurt starter/milk mixture, then wrapped up the bowl in a large thick warm towel and left it in the oven with the light on. The recipe in the Joy of Cooking cookbook said that if yoghurt was used as a starter, it should only take 3 to 4 hours to solidify; and that if a starter was used, it would take 8 hours or more. I checked my yoghurt at 6 hours and it was done enough. Only a small amount of liquid was present. It is very creamy and tasty. I have some every morning with my breakfast. Thanks for the recipe!

Further to the review I wrote on Jan 19, I am still making this yoghurt every few days. I drain it to the consistency of whipped cream. If you heat the milk in a double boiler with the lid on, it should take about 20 minutes to reach 180 degrees F. To cool it down to 110 degrees F it takes about 45 minutes (with the lid off) and on a trivet. I eat this yoghurt every morning sprinkled with Hemp Hearts (an excellent source of protein, fiber and healthy oils). When I crave something sweet, I eat some with a little bit of raw natural honey mixed in. I'm addicted!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
44helen44 February 09, 2011

That's exactly how I make Iranian yogurt, but I keep the container covered in blankets .I add the milk when I can keep my pinky in till I count to ten. Make sure to use full-fat milk as the results are not the same with the skim milk.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia January 24, 2009

I've been making yoghurt in a crock pot for over a year now. Put 1/2 gallon of milk into a Crockpot. Heat on high until it reaches 180 or so (note the time and you'll never need to check the temperature again). Let it cool down to 105 or so (again; note how long this takes; in my crockpot it takes about 2 hours 45 minutes to heat and almost 3 and a half hours to cool). Whisk in 1/2 cup of good yoghurt with live cultures and wrap your crockpot in blankets or towels; leave for 8-12 hours (I usually start this process around 2 pm and let it sit overnight). Perfect yoghurt every time! You can strain it to make greek yoghurt. I find that wide-mouth quart jars are perfect to store the yoghurt; I even found a funnel on line that makes it easier to fill the jars without making a mess. Active work time: about 5 minutes. And only one pot to clean!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susanne777 March 25, 2012

Oh, YUM! I ate it this morning with raw honey and oats sprinkled on top and LOVED it! I used 1/2 gallon of whole milk and probably about 3 tbsp Stoneyfield light organic yogurt (didn't mean to get light, but it worked fine). I don't have a thermometer, so I used some previous reviewer's tips and cooled the milk until I could leave my finger in till ten (without yelling). Wrapped in doubled towels in the oven (I had turned it on warm for about 10 minutes) and left for 11 hrs. Overnight in the fridge, and delicious this morning! It was incredibly easy and made a TON of yogurt. My yogurt turned out very thick and creamy, but I'm still going to try draining a portion of it through a coffee filter today and see what comes of it. :) I also froze some small portions in an ice cube tray so that I have a baggie of ready-made starter for next time (I read several places that this works... will update if it does not). Thank you SO much for sharing this awesome, easy recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princessbride029 May 13, 2009

This is very similar to how I make my own natural/Greek yoghurt.

I use an Easiyo yoghurt maker, which is really just a glorified Thermos, using the same ingredients.
I heat the milk, cool to 30 degrees C, add some yoghurt leftover from the last batch, then add the container to the Easiyo maker along with some boiling water as per the manufacturer's instructions. The next morning, there is lots of creamy yoghurt with the whey on top, which I just drain off. Not bad for $1 for a litre of milk!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaitie10 December 15, 2011

This was so easy, I will never buy yogurt again! I did not follow the direction to "not disturb the skin" as I read other recipes where this was not necessary, and I worried about not mixing the yogurt in. I took a couple tablespoons of the cooled milk and mixed it with about 2.5 tablespoons of store-bought organic Greek yogurt then mixed that into the rest. I wrapped the bowl with 2 towels and just left it on the counter as we had been having 90 degree days here and I figured it was hot enough. I left it about 11 hours (almost forgot about it) and it turned out delicious! I drained it through cheesecloth for a few hours, though next time I will mix some of the whey back in it because it is REALLY thick. I also froze the leftover whey in ice cube trays and am keeping the cubes in a container in my freezer. I pull some out and melt it to replace water in just about any recipe for added protein. Awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiffany27 June 15, 2011

While on vacation, and after hearing many recommendations, I tasted Greek Yoghurt. I tried the Fage brand which was great. The yogurt taste was more pronounced that I am accustomed to with my cheap store brand but the texture is such that you want to TRY things with it. Anyhow there was simply NO Greek Yoghurt to be found in my neck of the woods in north central KS so of course I come to 'zaar and the indispensible recipes of evelyn/athens. I am dieting so I made it with skim milk. It is so easy it is embarassing. The directions are great. I let it set in the oven with the oven light on (as in the light that lets you see into the oven, not the pilot light since my oven is electric). And then I drained it. If you weren't planning to drain it, you might as well go get yourself some Dannon FF yogurt. The draining step is transformative to taste and texture. I see gyros in my future. Anyhow the future will tell on how often I do this but since it's not hard, I think I will be doing it occasionally. RECOMMENDED! Tonight, I had some with a little sweetener and vanilla and it was fantastic. THANKS, Evelyn!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ August 09, 2009

Wow, I can't wait to make this. it sounds great. I had a holiday in Greece this summer and we had greek yoghurt every day. We have bought greek style yoghurt since getting home but it just doesn't taste the same. I am keeping my fingers crossed that this can re-create our holiday mood!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janet #6 September 14, 2006

This was the first time attempting yogurt. I was surprised at how easy it was and the quality. I did strain it and it turned out wonderful and thick. I used it Tzatziki, my tzatziki has never been this good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrattiPattiB July 29, 2006
Make Your Own Greek Yoghurt