Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Maroulosalata (Classic Greek Lettuce Salad) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Maroulosalata (Classic Greek Lettuce Salad)

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on April 30, 2006

      We love this simple salad. It is very popular here in Greece, especially in winter, and often accompanies a rich, roast meat and is eaten to 'clean the mouth'. Lemon juice is also good in the vinaigrette instead of vinegar. This recipe is 100% authentic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2011

      Wow, this was really good! I wasn't expecting much because the recipe almost looked too simple. But it is so light and fresh tasting, and the fresh dill really takes it to a whole new level. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      loved this wouldn't change a thing, light and delicious and makes a great side salad to any meal, thanks bluemoon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      Great salad

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      LOVED IT! I've made it three days in a row now...can't get enough of this light tasting, refreshing salad. I'm including a shake of garlic salt and some shredded parmesan too. Thank you Bluemoon Downunder, this is a keeper for sure! Made for Potluck Tag, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      This is a classic green salad. My family liked it and asked for seconds of the salad. DS still wanted to add the "white" dressing......oh my.....lol. Oh well. We will make this again, I really liked the addition of the dill. You could really taste a hint of it with each bite, yummy. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      Wonderful flavor! This salad was very easy to make and a hit at our family dinner. I modified the recipe a bit by adding thinly sliced english cucumbers. In addition, I used fresh Meyer lemon juice instead of vinegar. Thank you bluemoon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      Great Greek Salad, very simple and quick to get together with a nice vinaigrette. I didn't have any romaine lettuce so just used regular and the only other changes were that I added some garlic salt to the dressing and some shredded parmesan cheese. Thanks for sharing Bluemoon!! Made for Stars Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      This is a very basic, simple salad. The taste are crisp and clear, and it is delicious. The only change I would make is not to shred the lettuce. I did, although not finely, and had a hard time keeping the onions on the lettuce! I think bigger lettuce would help with that. I used freshly ground black and red pepper, and couldn't resist adding a little minced garlic...just a little bit! Made for Every Day is a Holiday Tag!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      Totally, totally enjoyable, I love, love this salad. Just so simple~and so pleasurable on a hot summer day when the breeze is few and the heat is hot. Perfection, just so nice to have the olive oil drizzle over the fresh greens, and the rest is so crunchy and delicious in every single bite. My lettuce was crispy from the garden and the onion added just the right amount of crunch too. I totally wouldn't change a thing~this is great just the way it is. Thank you bluemoon! Just wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      Ooooo! I can't tell you how fantastic this recipe is without drooling at the same time! So very yummy and an excellent way to use up some extra dill. It was like summer in my mouth with every bite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

    • on September 24, 2007

      Very good salad! I used lemon juice instead of the white wine vinegar, and fresh chives instead of the spring onions, as it was all I had on hand. It turned out great; however, I do think I might reduce the amount of EVOO next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      A simply delicious salad. I served it with 4 Minute Spicy Garlic Shrimp (4 Minute Spicy Garlic Shrimp)and steamed broccoli. I will be making this shrimp again and again. It would have also been excellent in a flour tortilla with cabbage, salsa and cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      Very good. I added an additional tbsp of white wine vinegar. Suggestions for the next round, use lemon juice or white balsamic vinegar. Thank you for the posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2006

    • on June 16, 2006

      This came together so quickly I could scarcely believe it. It's a nice change when you feel tethered to your kitchen for dinner. This salad/dressing combo is light and perfect for a summer evening. Hot-weather fare for certain. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      EASY perfect salad for a hectic week night. Only change was I used lemon juice instead of vinegar as suggested by evelyn/athens. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      I bought the prepackaged romaine lettuce, mixed together the dressing, and enjoyed! This is a very nice fresh tasting salad and perfect when I want a salad without all the extra's added in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2006

      I made this for ZWT2. This is so easy and simple that it is wonderful! Use a good olive oil! Yummy. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Maroulosalata (Classic Greek Lettuce Salad)

    Serving Size: 1 (326 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 336.5
     
    Calories from Fat 299
    89%
    Total Fat 33.2 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 24.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 6.1 g
    24%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    spring onions

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites