28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We love this simple salad. It is very popular here in Greece, especially in winter, and often accompanies a rich, roast meat and is eaten to 'clean the mouth'. Lemon juice is also good in the vinaigrette instead of vinegar. This recipe is 100% authentic.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens April 30, 2006

Wow, this was really good! I wasn't expecting much because the recipe almost looked too simple. But it is so light and fresh tasting, and the fresh dill really takes it to a whole new level. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debarra June 01, 2011

loved this wouldn't change a thing, light and delicious and makes a great side salad to any meal, thanks bluemoon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz July 17, 2008

LOVED IT! I've made it three days in a row now...can't get enough of this light tasting, refreshing salad. I'm including a shake of garlic salt and some shredded parmesan too. Thank you Bluemoon Downunder, this is a keeper for sure! Made for Potluck Tag, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup January 02, 2011

This is a classic green salad. My family liked it and asked for seconds of the salad. DS still wanted to add the "white" dressing......oh my.....lol. Oh well. We will make this again, I really liked the addition of the dill. You could really taste a hint of it with each bite, yummy. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour June 25, 2009

Wonderful flavor! This salad was very easy to make and a hit at our family dinner. I modified the recipe a bit by adding thinly sliced english cucumbers. In addition, I used fresh Meyer lemon juice instead of vinegar. Thank you bluemoon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Weretokie April 05, 2009

Great Greek Salad, very simple and quick to get together with a nice vinaigrette. I didn't have any romaine lettuce so just used regular and the only other changes were that I added some garlic salt to the dressing and some shredded parmesan cheese. Thanks for sharing Bluemoon!! Made for Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 February 04, 2009

This is a very basic, simple salad. The taste are crisp and clear, and it is delicious. The only change I would make is not to shred the lettuce. I did, although not finely, and had a hard time keeping the onions on the lettuce! I think bigger lettuce would help with that. I used freshly ground black and red pepper, and couldn't resist adding a little minced garlic...just a little bit! Made for Every Day is a Holiday Tag!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 02, 2008

Totally, totally enjoyable, I love, love this salad. Just so simple~and so pleasurable on a hot summer day when the breeze is few and the heat is hot. Perfection, just so nice to have the olive oil drizzle over the fresh greens, and the rest is so crunchy and delicious in every single bite. My lettuce was crispy from the garden and the onion added just the right amount of crunch too. I totally wouldn't change a thing~this is great just the way it is. Thank you bluemoon! Just wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm July 11, 2008
Maroulosalata (Classic Greek Lettuce Salad)