10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was delicious! I also added 3 large potatoes to fill this out a bit more, chopped in a small dice and pre-cooked. Since I added the potatoes, I added some more salt and doubled the spices. This was really great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iamjessica99@hotmail.com November 25, 2014

Easy peasy delicious. And a definite hit. I'm non Turkish. My Turkish boyfriend was like, where have you been hiding my dinner all this time! Will throw it into my routine! Maybe a tiny bit more all spice and cinnamon next time just to see what it tastes like. Used 97 fat free meat with no complaints.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurencarollo September 12, 2013

I am the first to say I am NOT a fan of ground meat of any kind, so I was skeptical, but I wanted to use up the phyllo dough in the fridge and I knew my dh and ds would eat it...so I googled meat pie and phyllo and got a superb recipe!

http://www.food.com/recipe/meat-pie-with-phyllo-dough-9110

I subbed the ground beef for ground turkey, left out the cinnamon and used a mix of cheeses instead of feta. And I added crumbled bacon.

WOW - this stuff was good! And super easy - even for me.

I felt like a Martha Stewart/Betty Crocker/Paula Deen cook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mathornt April 11, 2011

I made this for dinner last week and I've been trying to figure out how to rate it. I loved the texture and the simplicity of the dish but I was slightly overwhelmed by the spices. I guess I'm not used to eating greek-style food. However, I did finish my plate and even enjoyed the left overs for lunch the next day. But the whole time I was eating I wasn't sure whether I loved it or hated it, lol. I will definitely try this again with a different mix of spices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah49036 March 14, 2009

very good had to sub the tomato paste with tomato sauce still 5 stars thank you bonnie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stovetop stephanie February 02, 2009

This worked out very well! I substituted the cheese part for some leftover potato salad (spread on top of the meat, like in the shepherd's pie), and that worked great, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
calisto September 04, 2007

Excellent recipe! I made this with ground turkey and used Italian spices (instead of greek) and mozzarella cheese. Used the same onion and garlic as recipe asked for. Came out really tasty, easy and hearty. The boys loved it! Will definitely make this again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Digigirl October 11, 2006

I love the idea of replacing the traditional melted butter with olive-oil flavored Pam. (I'm going to try using butter-flavored Pam in some of my dessert recipes that use phyllo and see if I can cut down on the calories a bit.) Like agnes m, I left out the salt. Tasted very good and very Greek!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo November 11, 2004

a great recipe the only addition I made was a 1/4 cuo chopped walnuts and I used a Pillsbury crust .Next time I would use Phyllo, I left out salt and it was salty enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
agnes m. February 14, 2003

Oh, what a great idea! phyllo dough and ground beef! I tried it with the cinnamon and stuff, and it tasted very Greek, like a pasticcio. I made another one without those 2 sweet spices, and it was more Italian. You can make a huge variation in the taste just by varying the spice mix a little bit. Yummy! I think I'm gonna gain weight, but oh well, food is love. Please, post more recipes!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Llarion October 09, 2001
Meat Pie with Phyllo Dough