Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Meat Pie with Phyllo Dough Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Meat Pie with Phyllo Dough

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on November 25, 2014

      This was delicious! I also added 3 large potatoes to fill this out a bit more, chopped in a small dice and pre-cooked. Since I added the potatoes, I added some more salt and doubled the spices. This was really great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2013

      Easy peasy delicious. And a definite hit. I'm non Turkish. My Turkish boyfriend was like, where have you been hiding my dinner all this time! Will throw it into my routine! Maybe a tiny bit more all spice and cinnamon next time just to see what it tastes like. Used 97 fat free meat with no complaints.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      I am the first to say I am NOT a fan of ground meat of any kind, so I was skeptical, but I wanted to use up the phyllo dough in the fridge and I knew my dh and ds would eat it...so I googled meat pie and phyllo and got a superb recipe!

      http://www.food.com/recipe/meat-pie-with-phyllo-dough-9110

      I subbed the ground beef for ground turkey, left out the cinnamon and used a mix of cheeses instead of feta. And I added crumbled bacon.

      WOW - this stuff was good! And super easy - even for me.

      I felt like a Martha Stewart/Betty Crocker/Paula Deen cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      I made this for dinner last week and I've been trying to figure out how to rate it. I loved the texture and the simplicity of the dish but I was slightly overwhelmed by the spices. I guess I'm not used to eating greek-style food. However, I did finish my plate and even enjoyed the left overs for lunch the next day. But the whole time I was eating I wasn't sure whether I loved it or hated it, lol. I will definitely try this again with a different mix of spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      very good had to sub the tomato paste with tomato sauce still 5 stars thank you bonnie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      This worked out very well! I substituted the cheese part for some leftover potato salad (spread on top of the meat, like in the shepherd's pie), and that worked great, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      Excellent recipe! I made this with ground turkey and used Italian spices (instead of greek) and mozzarella cheese. Used the same onion and garlic as recipe asked for. Came out really tasty, easy and hearty. The boys loved it! Will definitely make this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2004

      I love the idea of replacing the traditional melted butter with olive-oil flavored Pam. (I'm going to try using butter-flavored Pam in some of my dessert recipes that use phyllo and see if I can cut down on the calories a bit.) Like agnes m, I left out the salt. Tasted very good and very Greek!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2003

      a great recipe the only addition I made was a 1/4 cuo chopped walnuts and I used a Pillsbury crust .Next time I would use Phyllo, I left out salt and it was salty enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2001

      Oh, what a great idea! phyllo dough and ground beef! I tried it with the cinnamon and stuff, and it tasted very Greek, like a pasticcio. I made another one without those 2 sweet spices, and it was more Italian. You can make a huge variation in the taste just by varying the spice mix a little bit. Yummy! I think I'm gonna gain weight, but oh well, food is love. Please, post more recipes!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Meat Pie with Phyllo Dough

    Serving Size: 1 (183 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 396.2
     
    Calories from Fat 203
    51%
    Total Fat 22.6 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 10.1 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 84.8 mg
    28%
    Sodium 778.7 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 24.0 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes