17 Reviews

This corn salad was heavenly! The only thing I added was pitted kalamata olives. I also decided to throw in the feta just before serving rather than letting it marinate with everything overnight. Such a great side dish (but I can easily see myself eating a whole bowl of this as a meal, lol)! I featured this recipe in my blog - http://danasfoodblog.com/?p=970.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DanaPNY June 14, 2013

Fabulous salad and a great way to use up leftover corn. I cut the kernels off three large cobs that I boiled yesterday. That gave me more than a pound of corn, so I used 2 tablespoons of oil and 3 of red wine vinegar. Also used a little extra feta and about 2/3 of a large red onion, finely chopped. Added lots of basil (don't forget the basil)! Thanks very much for posting. This is going straight in my 100-star cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy April 16, 2013

This salad is so good and the basil really adds ton of flavor. The corn and chickpeas are great together. That's a great filling lunch. I used fresh red bell pepper. Thanks JanuaryBride :) Made for ZWT8 for Diners, Winers and Chives

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette July 28, 2012

This was a nice and fresh salad. I opted for fresh orange and green bell peppers, and added chives and parsley for the herb part. I also doubled the vinegar as other reviewers have suggested but I felt that something was missing, or that perhaps the chick peas were a bit out of place in the salad. Perhaps some lemon or lime juice would pick up the flavours as well. Made by Bistro Babes, for ZWT 8

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini July 23, 2012

I used the basic recipe as a springboard, and made these changes:
1. Cooked corn from 3 cobs instead of using frozen
2. Included roasted red pepper, marinated artichoke hearts, and sun dried tomatoes
3. Instead of red wine vinegar, I used Pesto sauce.

The salad was a little green due to the Pesto, but the taste was awesome. Will definitely make this repeatedly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valentine0202 July 06, 2012

Served this to 50 hungry sailors (x2 recipe as side to Greek themed dinner). Got rave reviews. I like flavorful salads and took the advice of other reviewers; doubled the red wine vinegar plus I couldn't get the tomato feta, so I added sundried tomatoes and also marinated artichoke hearts. I mixed it earlier in the day (without the feta and basil) and it traveled well. Fresh basil made all the difference. This will become a staple for my Greek menus. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cweckesser August 16, 2010

We enjoyed this though I think next time I will either double the red wine vinegar or add another seasoning. The combination of ingredients was excellent it just needs a little more flavor to the dressing. Thanks for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
padreaming June 21, 2010

DH loves chickpeas so I am always looking for new ways to make them. I used diced red peppers in place of the roasted ones. (He doesn't like them.) Made for ZWT6 - No-Nonsense Nibblers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh June 17, 2010

This was delicious and so easy to prepare. The roasted red peppers set against the green onion and red wine vinegar really seemed to make all the flavors come alive. Thanks for sharing your recipe, JanuaryBride. Made for Zaar World Tour #6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal June 13, 2010

Really refreshing salad, especially if you're not interested in cooking over the stove. I greatly enjoyed the combination of corn and chickpeas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef June 10, 2010
Mediterranean Corn Salad