Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Mediterranean Quinoa Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2012

      What a superb tasty salad! I found the marinade to be particularly flavourful.
      I believe my only modification was to use fresh oranges for the orange juice, as well as toasting the quinoa prior to any boiling (see recipe here for toasting quinoa- really does improve the flavour!).
      The salad lasted for about three days in our fridge, and the flavours became more intense over time.
      Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      What a keeper of a salad! It got rave reviews from my guests. And considering how easy it was to make I'm going to do lots of repeats. I used a mixture of mostly red quinoa and it was so pretty with the cherry tomatoes mixture. I highly recommend that just for the striking visual it makes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      Very nice salad. I didn't use any sugar, and the dressing was still wonderful! I only had 1/4 of a large red onion on hand, and that was plenty - and I really love onions - but this red one was a strong one... Definitely a keeper and I will be making it again and again. Healthy and delicious, what could be a better combination?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      This is a very nice recipe. I made it using what I had in the house, so made a few substitutions, but kept the spirit of the dish the same. I used red quinoa, 1/2 a sweet onion, diced very fine, 2 Roma tomatoes (instead of the sun-dried), kalamata olives, lime juice (instead of orange) and added a bit of feta cheese at the end. I will have to try it 'as written' sometime, as it sounds wonderful, too, but it's always nice to know that you can switch things up a bit and still come out with something special!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2011

      Delicious!! This is a keeper for sure. I subbed in toasted walnuts since I had them and pine nuts are so pricey. I used all green onions, cut back on the cherry tomatoes, and added a can of chickpeas. It was almost impossible to stop eating! I think this would be a great way to serve quinoa to someone for the first time. Up until now my Fiance has been rather weary of the grain, but he really enjoyed this. We both brought leftovers for lunch the next day and it was just as good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      Amazing! I have eaten it for the past three days along with falafel, cashew tzaziki and roasted red pepper hummus, a real feast! My parents enjoyed it very much too! I used plum tomatoes instead of cherry tomatoes, and used only one tablespoon of olive oil. Had to omit the sundried tomatoes because I didn't have it at home. The orange juice in the dressing was an interesting addition, and it blended very well with the rest of the ingredients. Thank you for this recipe, I will make it many more times in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      I made this for a Labor Day BBQ and loved it when it was first made. I think my mistake was making it the day before. It was pretty dried out by the time I served it. Would try this again and serve fresh after making it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      This salad is DEEEEEEEEEELISH! I made it for my very carnivorous brother and he enjoyed it as well! This is the probably the best salad you can serve someone to show them how interesting vegetarian food can be... plus it's SO good for you too! I made my version with the Quinoa and green onion options, and absolutely loved it! Thanks for an awesome recipe... this one's gonna be a regular at the Sankar household :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      This is very delicious! I love tomatoes and balsamic vinegar and the nuttiness of the quinoa just brings it all together. The only thing that I will change next time I make it is to use less of each onion, or just use one or the other. The amount/type of onions in this salad is a little overpowering. But, all in all, a great dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      We really enjoyed this recipe. Great texture and blend of flavors. Thank you Veganized for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      We are new to Quinoa, and I thought this would be better with something like orzo or barley. The flavors were great! Thanks so much for sharing!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      Reading Prose's review, I just realized that I forgot the pine nuts! I'll have to try it with them too! This salad was very good! I had it with the Vegan Tzatziki and my husband added grilled chicken to his plate. He said they went well together. I was planning to put in only 1 onion, but after I'd cut up half of it, I thought that looked like enough; and I think it was great that way. I will probably put in more sun-dried tomatoes next time. They were really nice in it. Thanks! Reviewed for Healthy Choices ABC Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      wonderful!! my husband wanted to know why i didnt make more!! and he doesnt like quinoa that much.. says he is sick of it.. except for this!! yey!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      This is fantastic. I served it as a meal with grilled tofu cubes. It was easy to put together because I cooked the quinoa the day before. This recipe is really easy to adjust according to your own taste. I used lime juice instead of orange juice and a little homemade pesto instead of the basil. I omitted the cherry tomatoes because I thought the sun-dried tomatoes would be enough tomato flavor. I found that 1/2 of a red onion was more than enough. 2 red onions would be over-powering in my opinion (but maybe they are unusually large where I live). I also left out the pine nuts. Even with all these omissions, it was very flavorful. I served it with a dollop of your Vegan Tzatziki, which my husband described as "genius," so thanks for suggesting it. The leftovers were great for lunch the next day on a bed of romaine lettuce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      My husband and I enjoyed this salad. It was refreshing. I used the balsamic vinegar and brown sugar options. It was easy to make too. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (223 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 508.9
     
    Calories from Fat 285
    56%
    Total Fat 31.6 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 422.9 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.8 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 8.3 g
    33%
    Sugars 11.1 g
    44%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites