Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Mediterranean Style Orange Roughy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mediterranean Style Orange Roughy

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2013

      Bravo!! Two thumbs up!! The thing that makes this recipe great is it is perfect as written, and if you don't have an item or two in stock, you can substitute and it is still delicious. I've substituted calamato olives for the capers (though I LOVE capers...but didn't have them) It came out great, valdalia onion instead of red? I prefer red, but still came out great! No sour cream? Can use yogurt...still wonderful. I'm curious to try a variation with artichoke hearts. THANK YOU for such a tasty dish, one I will be making again and again....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2013

      This was wonderful! I cut the recipe in half used tomato/basil feta and used a few more capers and onions...delicious! Thank you for sharing. Made for Diabetic Summer Trip in the Diabetic Forum 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      I made this for my boyfriend last night. He LOVED it. I would probably add a little more onion or garlic and you can sub Greek Yourget (which I do, my sweetie isn't a fan of sour cream). This looks and smells amazing! ENJOY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      I was so excited to make this dish, and it did not disappoint. It was AMAZING. I followed the recipe to a T (included the white wine), and it was delicious. TONS of flavor, great texture, and sooooo easy to make (the hardest part was the rice pilaf I made as a side dish). My husband loved it as well. I cannot wait to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      Wow, this was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      Loved it! The fish was seasoned with salt and pepper on one side which was fine for us. The feta was regular feta and I added in freshly minced basil to the mixture along with fresh Greek oregano. For the white wine, I used a touch of lemon juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      Tasted great and was not fishy. Liked it a lot. I used regular sour cream instead of low-fat or light because that stuff is like glue and tastes like plastic- can't be good for you, but Yum to the Orange Roughy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      This was very good and easy to make. I love the flavor of the feta topping. Very unique and flavorful. I made the recipe exactly as is, including the wine. I will definitely make again. Even hubby raved about it. I wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      This is a great recipe, but I have to suggest substituting either US farmed catfish or tilapia since orange roughy is on the brink of commercial extinction. Both catfish and tilapia offer the same mild flavor and light, white flesh as the orange roughy, but are very environmentally friendly when farmed in the US. Besides that, we both loved this recipe, and my bf asks me to make it a lot. The appearance and flavor are really stunning and it would surely impress any crowd. For some reason it takes a lot longer to cook in my oven, but I am starting to think that the problem is with the oven not the recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      I've NEVER given 5 stars on 'zaar before, but this one deserves it! I followed the recipe exactly (in order to give it a fair shake) and would not change a thing. However, I did not have red onion (only yellow) and did not have plum tomato (January version of vine ripe tomato) and it was just fine to me. Glad this one was posted and that I found it. It's a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      really good - I used tilapia instead of orange roughy, but this was a different and tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      I'm not a fish lover but this was amazing. Have recommended the recipe to many friends since it's such a yummy way to get fish into your diet!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2006

      My husband isn't a fan of any kind of cheese, but the indredients in this dish blend so well, even he was impressed. Thanks for a great recipe, shimmerchk!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      Awesome recipe.. I have made it three times since I first found the recipe on this website.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      This was a big hit with my family. The meal was just bursting with flavour. We will enjoy this many more times. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2005

      Fantastic and Delicious! It wasn't hard, just a little teadeous, but WELL WORTH IT. We could not find Orange Roughy, so we did it with Red Snapper. If Orange Roughy is better than Red Snapper, you have to make it. Yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2004

      A delicious way to use orange roughy. The flavors married well and I as well used fat free versions with success. Additionally, I omitted the additional salt and the fish was moist and flavorful. Thank you for sharing this simple recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2004

      Excellent. Easy and very flavorful! Great idea! I never thought about Feta cheese with Orange Roughy! Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2004

      Packed with interesting flavors and absolutely delicious. Definitely worth the slight bit of effort needed to put together. I used fat free versions of everything and the dish was still rich tasting and satisfying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2004

      OH MY GOODNESS! Terrific recipe and SBD friendly to boot!! We loved this--I adore Mediterranean flavors and have ALWAYS loved orange roughy. I was liberal with the capers and the onion, as well as with the sour cream. Beautiful on the plate, as well--there would be a pic if my digital camera weren\'t out of batteries!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mediterranean Style Orange Roughy

    Serving Size: 1 (244 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 169.8
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    17%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 113.0 mg
    37%
    Sodium 546.0 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 30.3 g
    60%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    feta cheese with dried basil and tomato

    lemons, rind of

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes