Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Moussaka Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moussaka

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2003

      Yay! Yummy moussaka! I tried this recipe because it sounded the most like I'd want my moussaka to turn out of all the recipes on this site and also, I figured you can't go wrong with a recipe by the Mean Chef. I was right! It's very good. We used 2 large eggplants rather than 3 medium and still had lots left over. We also sliced them thinner, closer to 1/4 of an inch, rather than 1/2 inch, due to personal tastes. Also used 100% pomegranate juice, as we have no access to wine, though I'm sure wine would have been pretty much better. We made our own breadcrumbs just by toasting some bread- but definitely used much more than 1 cup bread and 1 cup parmesean cheese. We also had to about double the wine/pomegranate sauce the lamb simmers in because after we put in the initial ammount the lamb was too dry to really simmer and there wasn't even enough sauce overall. Let everyone be forewarned, though, this make A LOT. You are probably not going to want to divide what you make into 8 and just eat that big old chunk- it's super filling too. My 200+lb Italian boyfriend who loves to eat and who loves mediterranean food and eggplant gets full with a pretty small piece. But it's great. We made this pretty late at night, so we just froze it (we made 1 8"x8" dish and filled 2 more disposable aluminum loaf pans with the moussaka) and baked it for just over an hour at 375°F and it came out great. It was kind of hard through the eggplant to cut, but got easier once we refigerated it and the leftovers microwave well. Overall, this has really good flavor, although I think I might like even more. The custard on top is wonderful and this is, overall, a GREAT moussaka. Thanks Mean Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Skunky ground lamb can ruin this recipe so beware of where you buy! I bought 2 one pound packages of ground lamb. Both were fresh but I gather that one stank when my daughter was browning them. That package of lamb was probably ground while the silver membrane over the meat was still attached to some of it which will make lamb taste bitter or skunky. Since I didn't discover this until I was much deeper into the recipe I added more cinnamon and some sugar to the meat mixture to mask the strong smell coming from the browned lamb (even after added to the onions, wine, etc). The extra cinnamon made the meat mixture usable and saved the dinner but normally you'd want to stop when you catch that stink. If fresh ground lamb is very stinky (not gamey) the butcher has not prepped the meat properly and while it is safe to eat it will smell and taste terrible. If you need a save try adding more cinnamon and a teaspoon of sugar. Simmer, taste, and keep adding more sugar 1/4 tsp at a time until the skunky taste is reduced to something you can stand.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      The best Moussaka ever! Better than we ever got in Greece, where it originates from. The cheesy fluffy top is wonderful. I increased spices, using 4 cloves garlic, 1 ts cinnamon, 1 ts allspice and some red pepper flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      This was my first attempt at a moussaka and we were very happy at the way it turned out. I used ground beef instead of lamb, and about 3 spoonfulls of canned crushed tomatoes as well as the paste and wine. I also made my own breadcrumbs as I couldnt get hold of any. Oh and 3 small cloves of garlic as well. This also took me 3 hours from start to serving. An excellent recipe, thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING!! Very authentic flavor...my mom gets a Greek platter every time she goes to a diner, and she said this rivaled even the best moussaka she's had. I was amazed -I had never made it before and although it took quite a few pans and bowls, it was pretty easy and straightforward. My changes: I used very lean ground beef (there wasn't even any oil to drain). I cut the recipe in half but still used 2 cloves of garlic (we like garlic). Make sure you use a good red wine, it gives so much to the flavor of the meat. I split up the cooking in two days (made the meat combination and refrigerated until the next day, and I could've eaten the meat straight as it was!) Baked the slices of eggplant...oh, and I was lazy so I just made one layer of eggplant, topped with meat and poured topping over it. I sprinkled some grated cheese and breadcrumbs at the bottom and over the eggplant, but I would skip the breadcrumbs next time, just a personal preference for unbreaded eggplant. VERY DELISH - I will DEFINITELY make again!! I tried it out on quite a few fussy people and they all loved it! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      Since I am on Weight Watches core program, I made some changes that were conducive to the diet However, I used the basic recipe for the eggplant, ground beef, etc. However, I pealed and sliced some potatoes which I baked in microwave for a few minutes to get them soft and placed them on top of the eggplant and meat mix. Sprinkled some ff feta cheese and oh mommy-it was delicious. Great recipe. Didn't take me long either

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      TERRIFIC! Really tasty and easy to follow recipe. I used ground veal and beef in place of the lamb (personal preference), I baked mine at 400 degrees for 60 minutes (gas oven) and it turned out beautifully. This recipe does make quite a bit but that makes for leftovers that we certainly don't mind eating again and again! Thank you for sharing this yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2005

      Even though I've never taken a liking to eggplant, I became a believer after tasting this recipe. Following Cheryl's advice, I used 2 Roma tomatoes. Per someone else's tip, I used 1 lb veal & 1 lb lamb and it was heavenly! I forgot to brown the sliced eggplant but no matter, it was tender and practically melted in my mouth. My hubby has had this dish before and suggested using chunks of potatoes on the bottom of pan over the breadcrumb layer. He says this will make it a heartier meal. It only took 2 medium eggplants and that was plenty! I will definately be making this dish for my new mother-in-law!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2005

      I've never had Moussaka before, and your recipe looked like a good one to try. This is just delicious. I made this in stages throughout the day to accommodate my busy schedule. It turned out perfectly. I took note from the other reviews that it made a lot - so I made it in two smaller casseroles...even more convenient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2004

      Absolutely the most outstanding Moussaka I've had the pleasure of experiencing. The dinner party sounded like an orgasmic symphony. Truly excellent. HOWEVER... prep time was 90 minutes, as opposed to the 45 stated in the recipe. I'm not a slug, so maybe that was because I had no help? Start to serve, the dish took 3 hours... but it was well worth every second. I used half ground lamb and half ground veal, and 2 cloves of garlic instead of the recommended one. The recipe served 8 with leftovers. I could probably have cut it in half and been fine... but then I wouldn't have these wonderful leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2004

      Yum! I used ground beef also. Reduced the wine and added 2 chopped garden tomatoes. Used a little 5-spice powder in place of the cinnamon. Was afraid the topping would overflow the dish, so I halved the custard recipe. It still had a good thick layer of topping. Lots of leftovers...would easily feed a dozen hungry people and a beagle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2004

      Fabulous Moussaka! Incredibly filling, and everyone who had this raved about it. Definitely the best Moussaka recipe that I've come across.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2004

      Totally unlike the Diner Moussaka that I'm used to... that's a compliment. Fabulously rich, sweet, spicy, and enormously filling! The recipe said it made 8 servings, which I cut in half... and got 8 servings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2003

      Fantastic......I did put in a little more cinnamon and used ground beef but wouldn't change anything else.....the taste was superb.....every recipe from Mean Chef has been really great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moussaka

    Serving Size: 1 (653 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 977.8
     
    Calories from Fat 642
    65%
    Total Fat 71.3 g
    109%
    Saturated Fat 31.8 g
    159%
    Cholesterol 278.5 mg
    92%
    Sodium 641.1 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    35%
    Sugars 8.8 g
    35%
    Protein 43.0 g
    86%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites