Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Moussaka Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moussaka

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2008

      This is no more work then making a lasagna! I did make a couple of changes. I added green peppers to the onions and left them in a larger chop then fine. Did add ground meat along with the mushrooms. Started this the day before browning stove top then finished in the crock pot. Made the Bechamel in the microwave. First melted in a large glass bowl added the flour stirred till smooth, added the milk and microwaved till thick. Mixed the eggs and ricotta together till smooth and then added to the sauce. I would next time use 1 cup less milk. I had a lot left over that would have overfilled the pan. Didn`t have parm so I use mozzarella cheese. I do think the parm would be the better choice. I also had to bake an additional 20 minutes. Rising the temperature to 350 should do the trick to bake for 45-60 minutes. Thanks for the good eats! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      Broke this down over several days - added lasagna noodles and made a gi-normous (15 x 18) pan - so doubled tomato sauce (opted for 1/2 beef and 1/2 pork) one evening, broiled the eggplant slices and assembled the net day & sauced it with double batch of Bechamel today. I used the ricotta as its own layer and folded in about a cup of crumbled Bulgarian feta and topped the pan with the Bechamel over a layer of shredded mozzarella. Not traditional but delicious and has enough structural integrity to handle freezing. Thanks for a keeper that we made into either Greek lasagna or Italian Moussaka. LOL! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      Great recipe!!! My husband and I enjoyed it very much and it made our romantic dinner very special!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

      I don't know when I have enjoyed my food more then when eating this delicious Greek dish. I didn't mind the work involved because the end result was well worth the effort. I have made it a few times for company and get rave reviews from all around the table!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

    • on April 09, 2010

      Love this recipe!!! I shortened the prep time by using a jar of tomato sauce and adding the mushrooms and onions to it. I also didn't flour the eggplant and baked it in the oven instead of individually in a frying pan. I kept everything else the same, and the result was delicious. My boyfriend went back for thirds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      Loved the recipe, but would cut the eggplant a little thicker. Also added 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes to the mushroom sauce for some zing. The moussaka seemed a little sweet the first day, but thought the sweetness lessened and flavor improved the second. I would consider making this a day ahead and reheating. The 3 inch deep dish is a must, as I had to use less of the bechamel sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      Simply perfection in a dish! I saw the many positive reviews for this recipe and decided to give it a try. Yes - it's alot of prep work but the results were worth every painstaking minute! I actually included thinly sliced & gently pan-fried potato slices at the bottom of the dish before adding the layers. A real hit all around! What a terrific way to get my two small boys to eat their veggies! Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      This dish is off the head, it tastes absolutely GORGEOUS... Pain in the backside to make but the results are very rewarding. 10/10

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      Made as is, this is one mighty fine Moussaka! The flavors were just right and pleased all at the table. A definate 5 stars for this one Barbara!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      Well now, this was certainly not something to just "whip together", just like you said. I am very adventurous, and love to take on a challenge. I also adore Greek food, and my dad orders this at a Greek diner he and my mom go to all the time, so I figured,"Why not?" It came out so good, that my neighbor and her husband,and some of her family, who are from Greece, gave me kudos for this effort! I am grateful to you for making me look so good! I cannot imagine making this all the time, but I know I don't have to go out to a restaurant and pay tons of money for something so awesome I can make at home! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      Wonderful! This is now my favorite moussaka recipe - delicious as is, and also a great base to add to and play with. The detailed instructions are very helpful. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      This was excellent. I used the full meat mix with half the bechamel and 2/3 of the topping. It all went into 2 large loaf tins. One fed our family and the other went into the freezer. We just polished off the frozen one and it was just as good as the first. For the eggplant, I just sliced them, brushed with olive oil and cooked until browned to reduce the richness of the meal. Even the eggplant hating kids ate it with gusto.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

    • on June 19, 2007

      I asked my boyfriend to make this recipe for a dinner party we were having. He complained because he hates eggplant. By the end of the dinner party, people were scrapeing the dish trying to get the last of it. We halved the recipe but now I wish we hadn't! Not only is this our favorite moussaka recipes, it's one of my all-time favorite dishes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      I make the meat (minced lamb) version of this recipe and everyone loves it. Don;t be put off by the author saying that it is involved....it's not the most time consuming thing I have cooked, and if you make enough you can have some the next day for lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

      Rather involved, but well-worth the effort. Excellent dish. Full flavored taste of the middle east.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2005

      This is the greatest recipe I have made on recipezaar!! Friends say it is better than our local Mediterranean Restaurant. I do alter it a bit though - I add about 1 lb of ground lamb and use only 1 cup of mushrooms. I also bake the eggplant with olive oil at 350 for 10-12 min (as per Mean Chef Moussaka). It is SO amazing even my super petite friend weighing in at only 100lbs gos back for seconds! Thanks Barbara!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2004

      Thank you so much for this recipe. I prepared it ahead of time for my husband's parents. They happen to be on a real Greek kick now and really appreciated this dish. I halved the recipe beautifully and served with crusty bread, and fruit salad. We had a teriffic just-adults meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2004

      Ver nice. Everyone loved it. Got comments like this: "I don't normally like eggplant, but this was really nice".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Vegetable Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moussaka

    Serving Size: 1 (369 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 367.1
     
    Calories from Fat 203
    55%
    Total Fat 22.6 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 12.3 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 119.7 mg
    39%
    Sodium 287.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    22%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 13.4 g
    26%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    kefalotyri

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites