24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is no more work then making a lasagna! I did make a couple of changes. I added green peppers to the onions and left them in a larger chop then fine. Did add ground meat along with the mushrooms. Started this the day before browning stove top then finished in the crock pot. Made the Bechamel in the microwave. First melted in a large glass bowl added the flour stirred till smooth, added the milk and microwaved till thick. Mixed the eggs and ricotta together till smooth and then added to the sauce. I would next time use 1 cup less milk. I had a lot left over that would have overfilled the pan. Didn`t have parm so I use mozzarella cheese. I do think the parm would be the better choice. I also had to bake an additional 20 minutes. Rising the temperature to 350 should do the trick to bake for 45-60 minutes. Thanks for the good eats! ;)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ October 01, 2008

Broke this down over several days - added lasagna noodles and made a gi-normous (15 x 18) pan - so doubled tomato sauce (opted for 1/2 beef and 1/2 pork) one evening, broiled the eggplant slices and assembled the net day & sauced it with double batch of Bechamel today. I used the ricotta as its own layer and folded in about a cup of crumbled Bulgarian feta and topped the pan with the Bechamel over a layer of shredded mozzarella. Not traditional but delicious and has enough structural integrity to handle freezing. Thanks for a keeper that we made into either Greek lasagna or Italian Moussaka. LOL! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend January 27, 2014

Great recipe!!! My husband and I enjoyed it very much and it made our romantic dinner very special!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mothergoose August 11, 2013

I don't know when I have enjoyed my food more then when eating this delicious Greek dish. I didn't mind the work involved because the end result was well worth the effort. I have made it a few times for company and get rave reviews from all around the table!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheffette Teresa September 22, 2011

Love this recipe!!! I shortened the prep time by using a jar of tomato sauce and adding the mushrooms and onions to it. I also didn't flour the eggplant and baked it in the oven instead of individually in a frying pan. I kept everything else the same, and the result was delicious. My boyfriend went back for thirds!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KT9791 April 09, 2010

Loved the recipe, but would cut the eggplant a little thicker. Also added 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes to the mushroom sauce for some zing. The moussaka seemed a little sweet the first day, but thought the sweetness lessened and flavor improved the second. I would consider making this a day ahead and reheating. The 3 inch deep dish is a must, as I had to use less of the bechamel sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NanaKay March 11, 2010

Simply perfection in a dish! I saw the many positive reviews for this recipe and decided to give it a try. Yes - it's alot of prep work but the results were worth every painstaking minute! I actually included thinly sliced & gently pan-fried potato slices at the bottom of the dish before adding the layers. A real hit all around! What a terrific way to get my two small boys to eat their veggies! Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annelam November 14, 2009

This dish is off the head, it tastes absolutely GORGEOUS... Pain in the backside to make but the results are very rewarding. 10/10

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tintinn August 12, 2009

Made as is, this is one mighty fine Moussaka! The flavors were just right and pleased all at the table. A definate 5 stars for this one Barbara!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Smurff July 24, 2009
Moussaka