Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Oh My, Chicken Pie! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oh My, Chicken Pie!

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2013

      Oh My Yummy Pie! This was fabulous. It took me way longer than 40 minutes to prep it, but it was well worth it. It probably took me that long to layer the phyllo. I prepared as written other than leaving out the portabella mushrooms due to personal preference. I opted for gouda cheese. I made two smaller pans. The smaller pan was definitely done in 45 - 50 minutes. Thanks so much for sharing your creation!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      I thoroughly enjoyed this dish although it was a bit "gourmet" for the kids so I settled on 4 stars. Would definitely make again for "grown up" company!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2013

      So good!! Quite a bit of work the way it is written. I used pre-cooked bacon (I cook off a package at a time to use in recipes) & frozen spinach I drained really well. I did poach the chicken, but would use leftover if I had it, as it was I poached 2+ pounds, so I have it to use in recipes. With short cuts &/or using mass prep techniques assembling the filling was easy. I made 2 s,maller casseroles, & still only used 1/2 pound of phyllo. I did about 6 sheets on the bottom & 8 sheets on the top. More than enough phyllo. Next time I will make in actual pie plates & use the phyllo method I learned for "Italian meat pie" that mom makes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      This was a wonderful base! I changed so many things I don't feel right rating it, although otherwise it would score a 4-5 star review :) I can't have gluten so i made an almond meal crust and no top crust. I added peas and cranberries and had a very fun time picking out cheeses for this at the store. I also didn't have any white wine, so i poached the chicken in a balsamic pomegranate vinegar. Very delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      It was a good starting base recipe. I didn't have most of the ingredients so I simplified and used what I had in the kitchen. I used 2 bags of spinach, 1/4 cup of feta, 1 egg, 1 Leek, 1/2 of marble cheese for the 'stuffing'. As for the Chicken, I like my chicken with a bit of flavor. So I pan fried my chicken with a tbsp of soy sauce, Garlic Salt, dash of sea salt, a dash of cumin, Fresh ground black pepper and Chicken Seasoning. Turned out great. Thanks for the info!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      Loved it and will try it again. I will probably try to simplify and combine some of the steps, though. Great for company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2006

      Best of show!!!! I made this dish for my bunko group and they are all picky women. It was a hit! Not a quick dish but, worth every loving step you put into it! This dish should win! Thank you for submiting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      Upps, sorry. I forgot to rate this recipe in my previous review. I think it deserves five stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2005

      The taste is great but the prep time was over 3 hours for me maybe I'm bad at chopping. This just took to long to make but it did taste wonderful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2005

      It was ok, but I'm not sure it was worth all the trouble. Seemed a little bland, and a lot more quiche-like than I expected. Flavor did seem better second day, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2005

      This was pretty good. My parents who were over for dinner enjoyed it too. I halfed the recipe as it was far to much for our family and I still had 2 pieces leftover. I used gouda cheese. This had a great presentation with its golden phyllo crust but the flavour was a bit lacking and I would add some additional spices the next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2005

      This recipe is one of the first I printed off from the finalists' list and read carefully and frequently, before deciding whether or not to prepare it; I think because of detailed instructions imbedded within the 7 steps. On the surface it would appear that only 7 steps are required to prepare a fine, fine, final product. Chef, you have gone into precise detail to ensure your cooking lesson is absorbed by us. These 7 steps are logically separated to include all detail required to prepare and combine the "sets of ingredients". I am impressed; you have left nothing to chance. Assuming we are noviciates, this approach to presenting a new recipe is much like attending a cooking class. You want us to succeed, chef, and I am grateful. Ingredients: When ever possible, I try to avoid adding salt to meal preparation. Because of the cheeses and bacon, I did not add salt; the combined flavours of all the ingredients was pleasing to the palate and does not require additional sodium. Chicken: My preference in this instance was for white meat; so I used the breasts where there is less fat. In Summary: I did use two 8 x 8 pans; an 8 x 8 pan will provide 6 goodly portions... Served with a green salad and simple dressing, this meal was well received and enjoyed by all... Following the recipe exactly, with final attention to scoring the phyllo to ease cutting and removal of portions, produced a tasty Chicken Pie that would cause dinner guests to exclaim OH MY. Once again, chef, I was unable to slip the pan directly onto the floor of the oven, because of the configuration of the heat element in my electric stove. I did work around that step by moving the rack down to the lowest position on the oven rails, and that seemed to work OK. Thank you chef, for providing clear detail as well as excellent flavour. One is tempted to lick the plate to enjoy the last bit of sauce. I shall include the recipe in my cookbook, complete with all reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2005

      This recipe caught my eye when I was scrolling through the contest list of recipes. I just now got around to preparing it as I had a hard time getting the feta cheese. After reading the title I was expecting a varation on a pot pie. This is far from that! It actually is more of a quiche, but not eggy. The flavors all blend well....the carmelized onions, mushrooms, & bacon add to the terrific flavor. The spinach adds a nice color contrast and the mixture of cheeses makes this a wonderful choice. I did reduce the amount in half and it still filled a large corning wear baking dish. So be aware of the serving size. This makes alot & is very filling. Both DH & I gave this one 5 stars. Great job chef!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2005

      I really don't know what to say...this was really special...I think I would be most likely serve it at a special dinner or - cut into little squares as an appetizer, no matter how served it would be special. A rich and floavourful meal that I enjoyed making almost as much as eating (though I must admit to tasting the mix before the eggs and cream were added - chefs priviledge you know...lol.Made this exactly to the recipe and was so thrilled with the outcome....I made one huge pie and am going to try freezing the (minimal) leftovers. Thank's for a very tasty recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2005

      I did originally start by taking 1 star off because I had to retype the instructions and break them down to individual steps .. 25 of them. It was too difficult to follow in paragraph form... Then I took another star off because it did take a long time to prepare... over an hour... But then I added two stars back for taste and presentation... It was waaaayyyyy yummmy... and I would make it again for a special occasion. Good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2005

    • on March 13, 2005

      I have rated this and I love it, I just wanted to say once again how delicous this is, I wish I had the creativity to make up something like this. Good luck to whoever you are!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2005

      This was a nice recipe. Very tasty too! I used the swiss cheese instead of the Gouda cheese. I thought it was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2005

      Let me start out by saying, "I hate Parmesan cheese." With that said, I went back for thirds and the rest of my family loved it. The dish has a strong Parmesan flavor in my opinion. I used a smoked gouda cheese and Riesling wine for the dish. I loved the texture the phyllo gave to the dish. Buttering the phyllo was a little labor intense, but the end results were well worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oh My, Chicken Pie!

    Serving Size: 1 (287 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 554.3
     
    Calories from Fat 338
    61%
    Total Fat 37.6 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 18.2 g
    91%
    Cholesterol 198.4 mg
    66%
    Sodium 832.9 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 23.0 g
    46%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gouda cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes