19 Reviews

Oh My Yummy Pie! This was fabulous. It took me way longer than 40 minutes to prep it, but it was well worth it. It probably took me that long to layer the phyllo. I prepared as written other than leaving out the portabella mushrooms due to personal preference. I opted for gouda cheese. I made two smaller pans. The smaller pan was definitely done in 45 - 50 minutes. Thanks so much for sharing your creation!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GibbyLou December 31, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this dish although it was a bit "gourmet" for the kids so I settled on 4 stars. Would definitely make again for "grown up" company!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShelliCanCook October 06, 2010

So good!! Quite a bit of work the way it is written. I used pre-cooked bacon (I cook off a package at a time to use in recipes) & frozen spinach I drained really well. I did poach the chicken, but would use leftover if I had it, as it was I poached 2+ pounds, so I have it to use in recipes. With short cuts &/or using mass prep techniques assembling the filling was easy. I made 2 s,maller casseroles, & still only used 1/2 pound of phyllo. I did about 6 sheets on the bottom & 8 sheets on the top. More than enough phyllo. Next time I will make in actual pie plates & use the phyllo method I learned for "Italian meat pie" that mom makes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaraKN August 26, 2013

This was a wonderful base! I changed so many things I don't feel right rating it, although otherwise it would score a 4-5 star review :) I can't have gluten so i made an almond meal crust and no top crust. I added peas and cranberries and had a very fun time picking out cheeses for this at the store. I also didn't have any white wine, so i poached the chicken in a balsamic pomegranate vinegar. Very delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abi Fae October 09, 2009

It was a good starting base recipe. I didn't have most of the ingredients so I simplified and used what I had in the kitchen. I used 2 bags of spinach, 1/4 cup of feta, 1 egg, 1 Leek, 1/2 of marble cheese for the 'stuffing'. As for the Chicken, I like my chicken with a bit of flavor. So I pan fried my chicken with a tbsp of soy sauce, Garlic Salt, dash of sea salt, a dash of cumin, Fresh ground black pepper and Chicken Seasoning. Turned out great. Thanks for the info!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissNadine April 06, 2009

Loved it and will try it again. I will probably try to simplify and combine some of the steps, though. Great for company.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
encoreartist September 12, 2007

Best of show!!!! I made this dish for my bunko group and they are all picky women. It was a hit! Not a quick dish but, worth every loving step you put into it! This dish should win! Thank you for submiting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yaya78006 August 18, 2006

Upps, sorry. I forgot to rate this recipe in my previous review. I think it deserves five stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morning Biscotti June 13, 2006

The taste is great but the prep time was over 3 hours for me maybe I'm bad at chopping. This just took to long to make but it did taste wonderful

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
micregpri October 19, 2005

It was ok, but I'm not sure it was worth all the trouble. Seemed a little bland, and a lot more quiche-like than I expected. Flavor did seem better second day, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
novembrrr May 23, 2005
Oh My, Chicken Pie!