Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Orange Cookies (Koulourakia) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Orange Cookies (Koulourakia)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2008

      5 stars all the way. I'm crazy about these. Very unique, fantastic flavor. Not to sweet - the kind of cookie you could eat for breakfast, or with tea. I think they're perfect! I did sub orange extract for the orange zest because I was to lazy to run to the store for one thing, but it worked out fine! I also forgot about the powdered sugar but I don't think they need it. Thanks a lot Toni! Keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      These are wonderful cookies! The subtlety of the orange and clove flavors are magic. I did resist Toni's efforts to make us healthy and use all butter, but otherwise did as told. Mine were shaped as capital G's -- a birthday initial. I agree that these might be good with a glaze but they are quite wonderful as they are. A winner, Toni!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      Loved the light orange flavor of these cookies, made them in S's and O's, these would go very nicely with some Sambucca. Thank You for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2006

      These are excellent tasting cookies. I made various shapes from O to S and horseshoes also. Fairly easy to work with if you work fast. Love the texture and flavor. Thanks Toni

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      Delicious cookies! The walnut puree adds interesting texture and flavor. These would be great with tea. I twisted mine into figure 8's; they were so pretty! I will definitely be using these for my Christmas cookie tray. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2005

      Great Flavors! I made these to bring to a party and I nibbled on them the whole way there! I made pretzel knots and dusted them with powdered sugar! Everyone loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      Great cookies. I followed directions exactly. toni, you must have GIANT walnuts in NYC, because when I pinched my dough into shelled walnut size pieces, I got 60 cookies, not 30! The good news is that I can have 2 cookies for a serving! I dipped the ends in chocolate, but actually like them better without. I made mine all in little circle shapes. I tried a horseshoe shape, but the ends got a little too crisp. The circles made for more even baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      The citrus and walnut flavours flavours are great together. The ground up walnuts give an interesting texture to these light biscuits. Don't be tempted to dredge the dough with flour if they get difficult to handle, i did this for my first one and it ended up looking wrinkled. A tiny bit of flour can be useful sometimes, but the oil in the recipe seems to stop them actually sticking to the surface you roll out on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Orange Cookies (Koulourakia)

    Serving Size: 1 (644 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 90.3
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    42%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 18.4 mg
    6%
    Sodium 53.2 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, zest of

    oranges, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites