Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Pastitsio Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pastitsio

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 11, 2011

      LOVE IT! Made exactly by the directions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      This is a very good recipe. I forgot to put in the cottage cheese, only realised it when it was in the oven for a few seconds. Oops! I liked it a lot anyway. My husband said he would like it again but with less cinnamon. I didn't think the cinnamon was too much, but if you are someone not used to cinnamon/meat combination or have picky children, you might want to use a little less.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      I thought this was good and had good flavor, was easy to make, and well worth the effort. However, I think that 1/2 to 3/4 of the bechamel sauce would have been enough -- that part was a bit overwhelming, in my opinion. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      This was so very good. We love pasta dishes at Greek restaurants with the nutmeg, but this is the first time I've made something like this at home. The flavors were all great, and this is such a nice change to put on the table. Although we enjoy the flavor of the nutmeg, I think I will cut down on it a little the next time I make it. The nutmeg seemed a little overpowering on the first day. By the 2nd day the flovors had blending together nicely, and the nugmeg had mellowed out a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      This is a really tasty recipe - even though I forgot the beef (rummaging through grocery bags muttering "where's the beef?") and substituted 2 pounds of shredded mushrooms - sauteed in 2 T olive oil so as not to be wet when onion was added to be sauteed further. This is a dish that is even better the second day & the 3rd as well) and it doubled very well. Next time I make it will be for friends - with beef or not! I plan to freeze one for another time (we ate it all over three days this go 'round! Thank you for the yum recipe Sage!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      This is one of the family's favorites! I was quite skeptical when I saw the recipe but I'm so glad I took a chance! It smells great while cooking and even my picky 2 year old loves it. If I could remember to start it earlier and do it in stages I'm sure it would be a bit less messy, but that won't stop me from making it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      This is so good and different! I followed most things to a "t;" the only thing I changed was the sauce--I left out the butter and used wheat flour (also used wheat pasta). I added some cinnamon and garlic powder to the sauce, too, and it was great! Served it with Greek garlic bread and spinach with Greek dressing. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      This was really good!! I liked the cinnamon in nutmeg in this also. It was pretty easy to get together and my family enjoyed it!! Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      Really good! I was looking for something a little different for dinner, and this fit the bill! The cinnamon and nutmeg especially give this a refreshingly different taste and the thick, creamy sauce on top is quite tasty. I did have a little trouble serving this neatly, as you'll see in the photos, but it tasted good anyway!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pastitsio

    Serving Size: 1 (283 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 466.1
     
    Calories from Fat 245
    52%
    Total Fat 27.2 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 13.5 g
    67%
    Cholesterol 126.3 mg
    42%
    Sodium 1042.7 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 29.7 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes