Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Pastitsio Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pastitsio

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on July 19, 2013

      I halved the recipe, but kept the same amount of bechamel, I do love a creamy sauce! I adore nutmeg and cinnamon, the flavour and the delicate aroma, love the use of those spices in pastitsio. This was very easy to prepare, I made the meat sauce in advance and finsihed the actual dish quite quickly, making for a superb dinner. DH loved it and I note I was NOT given the leftovers for lunch, ha ha!!! Lovely recipe, made for ZWT9, Pink Panthers On The Prowl, thank you teammate!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2013

      We liked this! It couldn't have been simpler to make and I loved the cinnamon and nutmeg, although in my opinion the cinnamon flavor was a bit overpowering. I'd cut it by half. Made for ZWT9

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2013

      Very, very nice! This is almost exactly like my old family recipe, with a perfect blend of spices. I really love that it includes what in our estimation is a requirement - freshly grated nutmeg. I didn't find it needed additional béchamel sauce, as it's not supposed to be runny. It was perfect as written. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      This was ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS. I didn't follow the recipe exactly, so I hope that I can recreate it! I had some ground lamb flavored with cumin and other spices from a local butcher that I needed to use. I took other reviewer's suggestion in doubling the bechamel, since I usually think pastitsio served in restaurants is too dry. I also usually think there is too much nutmeg for my tastes, so I adjusted accordingly.

      I pretty much just halved the pasta, and kept the other ingredients as stated. I had between 1/2 and a full pound of lamb, and I wanted it moist so I stayed with the measurements of the other ingredients, using pumpkin pie spice in place of the nutmeg since I was out of the latter. I kept the nutmeg/cinnamon/pumpkin pie spice and salt & pepper to a minimun because my lamb was already flavored.

      It was delicious. I think I ate half the pan in one sitting, and I usually don't like pastitsio or any lamb dish. I can't wait to get more ground lamb from my butcher's "surprise" box so that I can make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      Absolutely excellent! Much better than any pastitsio I've tasted in restaurants. I doubled the bechamel as suggested. I only had 1/2 lb. burger, so I used 1/2 lb. veggie crumbles too. I used a 13x9-pan because I don't think it would have fit in the 8x8 with doubled bechamel. ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      Sure did enjoy this dish! I reduced mine by 1/3, to make 4 servings. The ratios on Zaar aren't quite right, but close enough! I used 1 beaten egg, between the noodles and the sauce and everything worked out just fine! I cooked it in a 9 inch glass pie dish and we were rewarded with a wonderful dish, very reminiscent of one I enjoy locally! Great News - This can be done on a weeknight! Thanks so much for sharing, Michelle Berteig. Made for ZWT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      This is an excellent, easy recipe for one of my favorite dishes. My husband enjoyed the leftovers for lunch today as much as we enjoyed the original last night. Next time I'll do as the intro suggests and double the amount of bechamel. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Superb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      This wasn't bad, but it wasn't what I hoped it would be. Based on all the great reviews, I was really hoping for something that my family would gobble up, as they usually like pasta and ground meat dishes. It didn't go over well with my family, so it's not one I'd make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      OUTSTANDING! Michelle, I have a rule that I never give out 5 stars the first time I make a recipe, but I let myself break the rule once a month for recipes that are over-the-top incredible. This is it hands down! Pastitsio is my favorite dish at our local Greek place, but your recipe is even better. I cut the recipe in half and cooked it in a 8" round high-sided pyrex dish. Edited to say that OF THE 350 RECIPES I REVIEWED IN 2008, THIS HAS GONE INTO MY TOP 20 FAVORITES COOKBOOK.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      We loved this dish. My daughter said to give it a thousand stars. She'll be happily taking the leftovers in a thermos for her school lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      I had made something similar to this years ago and had misplaced my recipe. Once I saw this recipe, it basically came back to me. As I am only feeding 3 these days, I make up the whole recipe and placing it in two 8" containers...one to eat now and one to put in the freezer. It heats up nicely for lunch the next day. Perfect for OMAC. Thanks for reminding me about an old favorite

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      Delicious! I've never heard of "Pastitsio", so when I found this I had to give it a try. Kept with the recipe instructions; easy, and the family enjoyed something different. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Scaled this down to 1/2 and made today for the kids, who loved it - but the love pastitsio. Can't fault this recipe - it's got the great Greek taste! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      First time family has ever had pastitsio so I don't have the best frame of reference for it. We really enjoyed it, probably the kids slightly more than the adults. Directions were great, made with items I always have around. Nice to have it in the oven and then have some time to clean up the dishes and set the table. I am always looking for recipes that use ground beef so this will make it into rotation. (although I did make it with the lamb this go round) Thanks for posting. Made for my Babes for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      Fabulous! Was all we hoped for and we devoured every bite! What more can or needs to be said? Prepared and photographed for ZWT4 Greece Challenge- Romantic Greece. Thanks- ~Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      This was pretty good. It reminded me of Impossible Cheeseburger Pie, but tasted better. Made for ZWT4: Greece.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      Lovely! I made this as is and I love the way it cooks on top..it's like having baked macaroni but instead the meat and pasta are in layers and that it uses white sauce for the pasta but the meat is mixed with tomato sauce. Great combination and very impressive! Thank you, Michelle! Made for WZT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      Made for Feb., 2008 Aussie/New Zealand Swap. I use to help some friends out that owned a Greek restaurant and Pastitsio was my favorite dish. I have never made it myself before, and now I don't know what took me so long. This dish is so creamy and yummy. The hint of cinnamon and nutmeg really add to the flavor of this recipe. Thanks for another wonderful recipe, Julie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      Thanks for posting this "blast from the past", Michelle! I remember making this years ago out of my BH&G cookbook (with the red and white checked cover). It was one of the first "real" recipes I ever made. At the time, I really liked it. But I made it again and my taste must have changed. It is pretty good, but not so good that it is worth the fat and calories it contains. I would suggest maybe doubling the spices, adding a few cloves of garlic, and perhaps more tomato sauce as well, as it is a little bland. Personally, I would NOT double the bechamel ... the recipe makes lots and it is quite fluffy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Greek Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pastitsio

    Serving Size: 1 (266 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 517.3
     
    Calories from Fat 279
    54%
    Total Fat 31.0 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 15.3 g
    76%
    Cholesterol 151.0 mg
    50%
    Sodium 504.5 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 25.7 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites