20 Reviews

Very, very nice! This is almost exactly like my old family recipe, with a perfect blend of spices. I really love that it includes what in our estimation is a requirement - freshly grated nutmeg. I didn't find it needed additional béchamel sauce, as it's not supposed to be runny. It was perfect as written. Thanks so much for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori July 16, 2013

I halved the recipe, but kept the same amount of bechamel, I do love a creamy sauce! I adore nutmeg and cinnamon, the flavour and the delicate aroma, love the use of those spices in pastitsio. This was very easy to prepare, I made the meat sauce in advance and finsihed the actual dish quite quickly, making for a superb dinner. DH loved it and I note I was NOT given the leftovers for lunch, ha ha!!! Lovely recipe, made for ZWT9, Pink Panthers On The Prowl, thank you teammate!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth July 19, 2013

We liked this! It couldn't have been simpler to make and I loved the cinnamon and nutmeg, although in my opinion the cinnamon flavor was a bit overpowering. I'd cut it by half. Made for ZWT9

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pammyowl July 16, 2013

This was ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS. I didn't follow the recipe exactly, so I hope that I can recreate it! I had some ground lamb flavored with cumin and other spices from a local butcher that I needed to use. I took other reviewer's suggestion in doubling the bechamel, since I usually think pastitsio served in restaurants is too dry. I also usually think there is too much nutmeg for my tastes, so I adjusted accordingly.

I pretty much just halved the pasta, and kept the other ingredients as stated. I had between 1/2 and a full pound of lamb, and I wanted it moist so I stayed with the measurements of the other ingredients, using pumpkin pie spice in place of the nutmeg since I was out of the latter. I kept the nutmeg/cinnamon/pumpkin pie spice and salt & pepper to a minimun because my lamb was already flavored.

It was delicious. I think I ate half the pan in one sitting, and I usually don't like pastitsio or any lamb dish. I can't wait to get more ground lamb from my butcher's "surprise" box so that I can make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slicey October 08, 2012

Absolutely excellent! Much better than any pastitsio I've tasted in restaurants. I doubled the bechamel as suggested. I only had 1/2 lb. burger, so I used 1/2 lb. veggie crumbles too. I used a 13x9-pan because I don't think it would have fit in the 8x8 with doubled bechamel. ZWT6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie R. June 13, 2010

Sure did enjoy this dish! I reduced mine by 1/3, to make 4 servings. The ratios on Zaar aren't quite right, but close enough! I used 1 beaten egg, between the noodles and the sauce and everything worked out just fine! I cooked it in a 9 inch glass pie dish and we were rewarded with a wonderful dish, very reminiscent of one I enjoy locally! Great News - This can be done on a weeknight! Thanks so much for sharing, Michelle Berteig. Made for ZWT.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl June 09, 2010

This is an excellent, easy recipe for one of my favorite dishes. My husband enjoyed the leftovers for lunch today as much as we enjoyed the original last night. Next time I'll do as the intro suggests and double the amount of bechamel. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl June 08, 2010

Superb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbera August 24, 2009

This wasn't bad, but it wasn't what I hoped it would be. Based on all the great reviews, I was really hoping for something that my family would gobble up, as they usually like pasta and ground meat dishes. It didn't go over well with my family, so it's not one I'd make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen June 02, 2009

OUTSTANDING! Michelle, I have a rule that I never give out 5 stars the first time I make a recipe, but I let myself break the rule once a month for recipes that are over-the-top incredible. This is it hands down! Pastitsio is my favorite dish at our local Greek place, but your recipe is even better. I cut the recipe in half and cooked it in a 8" round high-sided pyrex dish. Edited to say that OF THE 350 RECIPES I REVIEWED IN 2008, THIS HAS GONE INTO MY TOP 20 FAVORITES COOKBOOK.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup January 06, 2009
Pastitsio