Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Polenta Lasagna With Feta and Kale Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Polenta Lasagna With Feta and Kale

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on June 07, 2010

      This is a very intense, extremely salty dish. And I'm a saltaholic. I cut down the feta to 1 cup (would reduce even more next time), subbed chard for kale cuz that's what I have in my garden and parmesan for the romano. My biggest beef with this recipe other than the salt is the serving size. For me, one little "sandwich" of polenta is not enough for a main dish. This recipe didn't fill out even my small casserole. A lot of effort for such little output. Next time I would double or treble the recipe, reduce the feta. and freeze. DH loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      Great dish!!!! I made some substitutions because I wanted to use some ingredients that I had on hand. I made the polenta myself (with milk, not water); instead of marinara sauce I used a can of fire roasted chopped tomatoes; spinach in place of kale. Definitely a keeper. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2013

      I made this recipe but substituted eggplant instead of kale(breaded and fried.It was gone in a flash!Next time I'm going to try green squash.I also used parmesan instead of Feta.It was delicious and not at all too salty.The olives blended perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2012

      Being the first time I tried polenta, this dish was amazingly better than I thought it was going to be. It tasted just like it came from an authentic italian restaurant. I followed the recipe as is except I omitted the olives. I'm not too fond of olives. The only con to this dish is if you don't have the ingredients on hand, this isn't exactly the cheapest list of ingredients. Furthermore, since i still have my training wheels on in the kitchen It took me a lot longer than 20 minutes to prep for this meal. But, it was all worth it in the end. This recipe is a keeper! P.S. I was only able to squeeze 4 servings out of the 6-serving recipe. And make sure you cut your polenta very THIN! You'll need every last slice of polenta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      So delicious, all the meat eaters in my family love it and there is never enough without doubling the recipe...I've never found it salty but never add olives and use more marinara sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      Ooooh this is delicious! Was definitely salty, but not inedible :) Just happened to have fresh home grown kale on hand. I also made the polenta myself. I sprinkled Italian seasoning over the top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      I absolutely loved this dish! I doubled the recipe, added spinach with the kale, used one tube of plain polenta and one of sun-dried tomato polenta, used wayyyyy less olives than the recipe called for, and added a small can of tomato sauce on the top (when I ran out of marinara sauce...one jar was not enough when i doubled it). Also, I also sprinkled ground red pepper over the top of the dish before baking, followed by a little garlic powder then a little italian herb blend. I can't wait to have the leftovers again for lunch!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      YUM YUM YUM! Thank you for this fantastic recipe! Even people who didnt "like vegetarian dishes" loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      We loved it!! And I will be making it again. The romano cheese kind of all stuck together but it was very tasty. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      A very yummy recipe....although it does have some strong flavored ingredients, the overall effect was just perfect and not over-powering! I used spinach rather than kale and reduced the oil to 1 Tbls. Other than that, I followed directions and it got thumbs-up all around!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      I love this recipe! We have used it at least five times and it's always a hit. The flavors are so Mediterranean. It's great. We actually made a vegan version at Thanksgiving with soy feta and Parmesan substitute and it wasn't half bad. There were no left-overs. We also made it once with home-made polenta but the pre-made kind in the tube is just as good and much easier. It's definitely one of our favorite recipes. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      Great healthy dish. I used spinach instead of kale and used a little parm cheese and mozz. Next time I will make the polenta and try it. I thought it tasted just like lasagna but much easier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

    • on January 21, 2009

      Thank you for a great recipe! I followed the recipe to the letter. It was wonderful, the presentation was excellent, the flavors divine! I LOVE kale, and this will be a permanent part of my kale recipes. We devoured it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      This was very salty! I reduced the parmesan, feta and olives, but the salt was overwhelming. I'll try it again with another adjustment (reducing salty ingredients even more).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      Wow, this was amazing. It just one of those meals that you can't stop thinking about afterward. I made the polenta myself using half broth and half water, a few cloves of garlic and some cayenne pepper. I refridgerated it in 2 9x12 loaf pans, and kept the layers whole instead of cutting them into circles. The only other change I made was using slightly less cheese. It was fantastic, great way to use up kale.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      This was a party in my mouth!!! The flavors are a great combination, and even hubby (who *hates* kale) was raving about this. The salty olives and feta went perfectly with the savory onions and garlic in the kale mixture! I did make the polenta instead of buying a tube of it. Anyhow, awesome recipe...I think it'll be going into our monthly rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      This was sooo good! I used half a red onion and only 3 ounces of feta - it was perfect! The kale and kalamata olives add so much flavor, they are a must. Thanks for sharing this terrific polenta recipe; I'm always looking for new ways to use it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      Amazing. This deserves more than five stars. it was just so good. At the beginning I was wondering if I really needed to use both of the suggested cheeses, but yes, yes I did and I'm glad I didn't substitute! This actually is an "Outstanding" recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      Colorful, delightful and quite filling. This dish has a nice blend of textures and tangy flavor. Unlike spinach or other greens, the kale keeps some of its crispness even after it cooks (it was my first time using kale). This was also pretty easy to put together. I served it with some garlic bread on the side. Thanks for sharing a really interesting recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Polenta Lasagna With Feta and Kale

    Serving Size: 1 (138 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 193.7
     
    Calories from Fat 118
    61%
    Total Fat 13.1 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 28.6 mg
    9%
    Sodium 586.5 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    prepared polenta

    pecorino romano cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites