Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Greek / Pork Souvlaki Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Souvlaki

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2003

      This is how Souvlaki should taste and how I remember eating it in Greece, we only didn't have the sunshine to go with it! Made Souflaki before but used too many other herbs I think. In this recipe the oregano is prominent and we found that gave it a very authentic flavor. Cooked them in the grill pan on the stove top and served them with a Greek salad, pita and Tzatziki Thanks Derf, another good recipe to go on the barbeque this coming summer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2003

      Souvlaki is something I miss since I have returned from my studies in Melbourne. it can't be found in stingapore, and boy am I glad I can make my own now. This was just wonderful. I did substitute the pork with lamb and it turned out just fantastic. Exactly what a Souvlaki is meant to taste like. Thank you so much for bringing back a bit of greek living to a singaporean family!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2003

      Just like Mister Greek's! I marinated overnight & cooked on the BBQ. Since I was serving this with Greek Potatoes & Greek Salad, I omitted the pita. Thanx Derf!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2003

      I agree with PetsRus. This is exactly how souvlaki should taste. My dinner guests were duly impressed. We cooked the skewers on the grill instead of broiling. This made an easy, delicious summer dinner. Thank-you for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2003

      I really enjoyed this recipe, I have tried other recipes and this one is far better than the rest. I have printed this one and it is staying in the book.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      Yummy souvlaki! Marinated overnight in lots of fresh garlic, lemon juice, and good olive oil, so it had to be good. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2012

      Fabulous! I marinated these for 36 hours and cooked them on stove top on my very hot grill; just a few minutes. Served it with Rice pilaf and my Greek Village Salad. Next time I will make it outside on the grill. Best ever Souvlaki!
      Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

      Delicious!!! I marinated for about 10 hours and used boneless pork ribs. Loved it. We'll be making this again. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      These were super good! I thought I was in Greek Town. I did add about 1/4 cup red wine (saw in a different recipe) and grilled instead of broiled. Made this (#80959) tzatsiki sauce added some chopped roma tomatoes. This dinner really hit the spot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      This was a great recipe to use up a pork tenderloin my sister accidentally froze whole. It will definitely get eaten faster cooked this way! We only had one skewer left after sending one of the 5 home with my mom, who said it was really tender (she came by for Greek takeout, lol). I served this with The Ultimate Greek Salad and Greek Potatoes (Oven-Roasted and Delicious!). YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      I was hoping a long marinade time and the quick broiling would make this ok, and it did taste good, but I was still disapointed that the pork wasn't as tender as I'd like. Perhaps I'm spoiled by braising. Tasted good though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      I had a pork loin and didn't feel like having roast, so I made this with Tzatziki and it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      Delicious! I served it over Kittencal's Famous Greek Salad for dinner tonight. My husband loved but said it could use a bit more lemon flavor, so I'll probably up the lemon juice next time or add some zest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      Great flavor on the pork. I served it with Macrina's Orzo Salad With Cucumber, Bell Pepper, Basil and Feta for a very good meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      This was fabulous, but I did things a bit different. Instead of tenderloin or pork loin, I used pork butt that I cut into chunks. I pretty much doubled the marinade, but I also used more meat. I measured the olive oil, oregano, salt and pepper although I ended up adding a bit more olive oil (probably wasn't necessary). I didn't measure the lemon juice. I just squeezed an entire lemon into the marinade. As for the garlic, I used a jar of crushed garlic cloves from Trader Joe's and just put a ton in (didn't measure since I adore garlic). I stuck a teaspoon from the table into the jar and put in about 4 or 5 partial spoonfuls. I whisked it all together and put everything into a large ziploc type bag then shoved that into the refrigerator for about an hour and a half (all the time I had). I then threaded all of the meat onto wooden skewers, six pieces of meat onto each skewer. I let them sit a bit then I grilled them on the gas grill. I served them with pita bread and tzatziki sauce. Wow, were they good! I had company last night, and we all loved it. I just had the leftovers cold for lunch, and it was sensational! This recipe is totally a keeper. I plan on making it for my son's family birthday dinner this summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      This is excellent. I will use it alot especially since pork loin goes on sale often. The only change I made was to add some worcester sauce. A keeper! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Awesome! Followed the recipe almost exactly (I accidentally added too much salt & pepper, so I just increased the oil and lemon juice). I didn't have skewers, so I just used a broiler pan, baked for a bit and then broiled until nice and browned on top. Served with roasted potatoes and greek salad. Can't wait to have this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      This made such a delicious entree. I marinated the pork overnight and it turned out so delicious and flavorful! I topped the pitas with a little red onion and tomato as the reviewer "petie" suggested, and topped it with my Greek Tzatziki Sauce. This is a great marinade that is really versatile -- it will be great to marinate chops, etc., in it and just come home from work and toss them on the grill. Thanks for posting this, Derf!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Fantastic! Marinated the pork for a full 24 hours. Served it for dinner with tzatziki, a traditional Greek salad, and rice pilaf. There were no left overs. Derf, thanks again for a real winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      Great recipe! I loved the marinade and the ease of sticking under the broiler. We served it with rice and nan bread. I think I cut my pork a little too small and overcooked it a bit but the flavor was great. Thanks for an easy but delicious meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Souvlaki

    Serving Size: 1 (195 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 475.8
     
    Calories from Fat 216
    45%
    Total Fat 24.0 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 71.4 mg
    23%
    Sodium 475.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 28.0 g
    56%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tzatziki

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes